We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good ol Southern Food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Buddy Freddys

Buddy Freddys
1101 Goldfinch Dr, Plant City, FL 33563-1082
(813) 754-5120
Improve this listing
Ranked #27 of 105 Restaurants in Plant City
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Oldsmar
Top Contributor
662 reviews 662 reviews
322 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 199 cities Reviews in 199 cities
284 helpful votes 284 helpful votes
“Good ol Southern Food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013 via mobile

The great thing here is variety on the buffet. Large salad bar, plenty of good old vegetables , meats and of course desserts. I stick with the vegetables always enjoy collard greens, sweet potato casserole, etc. the cherry cobbler and bread pudding are scrumptious.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

102 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    24
    36
    15
    9
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
florida
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“More vegetables than you can shake a stick at”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Something for everyone. Great southern food. Easy access to the interstate. Ample seating Neat gift shop on the way in an out. Good parking. Great food for breakfast, lunch, an dinner.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Not like it used to be...”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

This is a buffet of southern food. It was sold many years ago to a franchise and has not been the same since. The atmosphere is good, but the food is just okay. There are other restaurants in town much better. For a Sunday afternoon brunch, enjoy!

  • Visited June 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Top Contributor
140 reviews 140 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
“Come Hungry!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

This place has been around forever and I've always wanted to visit. It is buffet style and there is good country/soul food in abundance! It was St. Patrick's Day and one item we tried was the corned beef and cabbage--I never thought I liked it until I had it here. Now, I'm a believer! The fried chicken was also delicious as was the green beans and okra. The fried shrimp tasted like it was from a box but the catfish fingers were yummy (just couldn't find tartar sauce). We both had good strawberry shortcake and some nice sweet tea. What more could you ask? Great value for all you can eat at $11.99 each. And I didn't even touch the salad bar or other desserts which all looked great. Stay away from the mac and cheese as I think it's fake cheese. My husband liked the ribs, but I wasn't keen on the sauce used. I wish it were closer to home because we'd be there more often.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradenton, Florida
Top Contributor
304 reviews 304 reviews
228 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 75 cities Reviews in 75 cities
96 helpful votes 96 helpful votes
“Southern vegetables galore, catfish, superb buffet.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013 via mobile

We usualy do not do buffets but glad we did. Huge assortment of food. All fresh and from scratch. Every vegetable you can think of displayed. Charming southern service.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Buddy Freddys? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Buddy Freddys, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.