We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Kayak Launch!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Grande Tours Kayak & Paddleboard Center

Grande Tours Kayak & Paddleboard Center
12575 Placida Road, Placida, FL 33946
(941) 697-8825
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 5 attractions in Placida
Type: Tours
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: Coast silently through a canopy of mangrove tunnels, "The Woolverton Trails", around islands teeming with birds, or paddle up to a sandy beach with gently breaking waves and fantastic shelling. If you're lucky, a dolphin or manatee will drift by with a silent greeting.Take a guided tour or by using one of our maps of Charlotte Harbor Aquatic Preserve you can create your own adventure. We use certified Florida Master Naturalist Guides, ACA certified kayak instructors and certified SUP (Stand Up Paddleboards) instructors. Safety and having fun has always been our policy!!Since 1989 Grande Tours Kayak Center has offered exciting, fun and educational adventures for all ages.Grande Tours Kayak Center has partnered with the area's finest providers to offer you some very unique experiences and adventures. We will help you make memories!There is something for the kids, the fishermen/women, the photographer, the eco-minded and those that just want to sit back and take a relaxed tour. Boca Grande is the tarpon capital of the world.Grande Tours Kayak Center is in Placida, Florida at the entrance to Boca Grande/Gasparilla Island, The "Tarpon Capitol of the World". Our waterside facility is located between Sarasota and Ft. Myers, Florida.We offer convenient day trips for all of southwest Florida, including Port Charlotte, Englewood, Cape Coral, Naples, Sarasota, Bradenton. We are only 2 hours from the Tampa Bay, St. Petersburg, Clearwater, Florida area.
Tarpon Springs, Florida
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Great Kayak Launch!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

WE have our own kayak and they treated us like we were paying for a full guided tour by allowing us to launch, use facilities etc. We felt like family!!! We will go back for sure!

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

17 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15
    2
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
“Wonderful experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013 via mobile

One of the best all around kayaking experiences I've had. Knowledgeable staff and helpful, as we'll. put it on your list to "to do ."

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Castle, PA
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“The kind of kayak you paddle can make a huge difference!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

We rented two Wilderness kayaks today from Grande Tours Kayak & Paddleboard Center in Placida, FL. Unlike many kayak tour and rental places that I have found, they offered a variety of higher end comfortable kayaks and could give advice on which would be best for your level of experience. Attendants Terry and Ashley were so helpful and pleasant. Their enthusiasm added to the whole experience. Since we did not go with a guide, they provided a map and told us where to go to see the mangrove tunnel, Brown Pelican Island, and where to look for dolphins. I would highly recommend this vendor for your next kayaking trip.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Green Bay, WI
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Great location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012 via mobile

We have rented SUP's, kayaks and bikes. They have a really great location near the Pioneer Trail for biking and on the Coral Creek for kayaking. They supply detailed maps so you can make your way around the mangroves which all look alike. We have seen many dolphins and manatees. If you are staying on Boca Grande it might be worth checking here 'off island' for rentals. Their prices seem high but our home is near here and location takes precedence for us. Customer service has depended on who is working. Some have been accommodating, some have been grouchy and it seemed like we were imposing. Overall, it's been a great experience.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Family Fun!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

Right from the front door to the water and kayaks was a pleasurable experience !
The trip was informative and very interesting, it was a real education from tropical vegetation to the well balanced eco system and old pirates that used to travel the area.
Well worth doing!

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Grande Tours Kayak & Paddleboard Center also viewed

Englewood, Southwest Gulf Coast
Englewood, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Englewood, Southwest Gulf Coast
Boca Grande, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to Grande Tours Kayak & Paddleboard Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grande Tours Kayak & Paddleboard Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Grande Tours Kayak & Paddleboard Center to your Saves list