We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Can't wait to go back!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Palm Island Resort

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Placida
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Palm Island Resort
Save
You added Palm Island Resort to your Saves list
7092 Placida Road, Cape Haze, Placida, FL 33946   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Free room upgrade
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Placida
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Clearwater, FL
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Can't wait to go back!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2012

Spent a long weekend at one of the Villas at the Palm Island Resort. First time there and it definitely won't be my last. LOTS of shells, beautiful beaches and quiet - can't get any better than that. Really enjoyed walking/running on the beach. Highly recommend you bring food and drink because you won't want to leave the beach or villa. We ate once at the restaurant - good ribs. I really loved this place - you hate to tell people about it so it won't lose it's charm, but it is fantastic!!

Room Tip: Superior villa is on the end and has upgraded features.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

103 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    64
    24
    5
    4
    6
See reviews for
46
34
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boca Raton, Florida
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2012

Recently stayed at Palm Island Resort for the first time. The unit was nicely decorated and well maintained and had a perfect view of the gulf. It was so much fun riding around in the golf cart, relaxing, looking at sea shells, watching the sun set, etc. Overall, a wonderful weekend getaway. I hated to leave paradise.

Room Tip: There are marina units and units that overlook the gulf. I would suggest the gulf view units.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2011

Recently spent 3 nights at Palm Island Resort. We used a Groupon deal from Orlando and had great rates. Folks in reservations and check-in could not have been nicer. Accommodations were top rate and the island provides great Gulf exposure. The resort provides a golf cart to get around and the local restaurant/bar was perfect. All-in-all, a great getaway spot. The only caution is the ferry to/from the island. It takes some planning if you want to go back and forth. For us, the island nature was just what we wanted to get away from it all.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Venice FL
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2011

While we only stayed one night, this was a great getaway for us. We only live 35 minutes away, but it's hard to relax and connect at home where there is always something that needs to be done yesterday and the office phone rings even on weekends. The gulf views from the well decorated villa and the breeze rustling the nearby palms was were calming and romantic. The beach was pristine and different from ours -lots more shore birds and different shells. I found dozens of fossil shark's teeth to replenish my giveaway jar for visitors. Even my "been there and done that already" husband enjoyed two long beach walks. I brought a cooler and had steaks marinating, some butter and sea salt wrapped potatoes and onions and fresh corn to throw on the property's very nice propane grills for dinner and blended up some pina coladas to sip while the food cooked. I've been to the restaurant on the island before. It's OK, but everything prepared outside tastes better. There are lights on timers over the grill area and places to sit and eat but it was a bit cool so we ate back at the villa. The hot tub and pool were a relaxing way to end the evening ( we remembered to bring our own beach towels). There were games and books in the unit for longer stay visitors and families, activities, kayaking, and you can bring your fishing gear or rent some. The staff were all very pleasant and welcoming.

The carpet in our unit was on it's last legs but clean. There was a bit of mold in the caulking of the tub, but it's Florida. I have the same problem at home despite almost nuclear efforts to prevent and remove it. The TV and electronics were outdated and the four different controllers had a learning curve I didn't care to explore, but watching the DVD we brought wasn't that important to us. What a great place this would be to vacation with children who enjoy the beach or for someone who needs to get off the grid.

Our island villa units were on stilts. If you have an orthopedic or cardiac problem, children or are out of shape or get dizzy, you might want to specify a first floor unit. We had a third floor unit, but didn't mind the climb and the bellman helped with the bags. We were in a "B" class villa. The clerk explained the "a" class has more amenities like granite tops and flat screen TVs (maybe jacuzzis?). The rates were surprisingly reasonable and we are going to recommend this place to visitors and come back again. We likely would not rent a golf cart--everything is close and if you want a ride, you can tip one of the staff to ferry you and spend less than the golf cart rental ( $ 55 a day). There were only 2 single and one double kayak available for renting and those were spoken for in two hour intervals, so we didn't get to give that a try. We missed Redbeard the Pirate's gig on Friday night for families but the staff said children and adults enjoy that.

If you like partying and nightlife, this is not the place to go. You could ferry back and enjoy live music at the restaurants/bars in Placida or Englewood close by or even head up to Venice as there is always live music at Sharky's in season or at Pineapple's or T J Carney's.There's ballroom dancing Wed. Thurs. and Sat at Gotta Dance in Nokomis for $10, including a group lesson. But, you'd be waaay out of line bringing a boom box and raising a ruckus at night here and disturbing everyone's peace. And during Turtle nesting and hatching season, be sure to follow the guidelines about beach lighting and take beach chairs back to their corral so T- Moms don't get their flippers caught in chair legs. They don't pay attention to what's in their path once their nesting instinct is activated.

If you are driving , I would suggest bringing a gallon or so of bottled/filtered water. The tap water isn't great for drinking. I forgot to let the tap water for coffee sit overnight for the gases to dissipate. The coffee was rank even though I brought my beloved Community Coffee, New Orleans Blend. There is Super Wal-Mart at Jacaranda and 41 in Venice on the way to 776 and Palm Island where you could pick up a disposable cooler, water, and food at reasonable prices if you are going to be staying and cooking. In fact, it's close enough that if you don't have a cooler and are heading straight down, you probably don't need a cooler. Your room rate includes the ferry and the Palm Island staff take you from your car to your room in carts once you're checked in. Have fun!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Charles, Missouri
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2011

We were at Palm Island Resort for 4 days. The rates for "low" season are really good. Since it was low season there was almost no one else there. I counted 15 cars in the parking lot and some of those belong to the people that live there. So if you wanted quiet seclusion this is the place. Made us feel like we had our own private beach. The beach is beautiful, full of shells/sharks teeth. Plenty of chairs but also quite a hike from the room and you cant drive the golf cart to the beach. Renting a golf cart to get around the resort and island is a must. The staff are very friendly and attentive. The trip only includes one round trip ferry ride and additional rides are over $50, we ask for additional trips and they were given, so if you are going back and forth to the mainland, ask for extra ferry trips when you check in. The kitchen is very well equipped, stop at the grocery before you go there as the room only includes one packet of coffee. Also, take your own beach towels. The food, service and drinks at Rum Bay are good and reasonably priced. The only coffee house and shop close early, so make sure you have everything you need. If you need internet, take your own computer, they will print boarding passes for you, but other than that there is no computer to use. The bed in our unit was not very comfortable, but I guess I only like my own bed. I had ask for a lower level unit which is why we were on the top floor. So don't waste time trying to ask when you make your reservations. We took the water taxi to Leverocks one day. The driver was great, the ride was great, the food was less than I expected. Go for the ride, but eat someplace else. These are the only negative things I can think of, I love this resort, would go again.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota, FL
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2011

We were there last weekend. Check-in was uneventful, but the check-in staff was pretty uncaring and not forthcoming with information. You can tell they are just 'making 8' to get through the day. The Villa was clean, but dated. The bathroom fixtures were surely the originals from the 80's when it was built (picture attached of one of the cabinets). The caulk was peeling away around the bathtub. The sheets were pretty much threadbare. On the positive side, they are really reasonable rates for gulf-front accommodations. The Rum Bay restaurant is nothing incredible, but has decent food for a decent price. They have very limited options for breakfast. If you go off the island and eat at Leverocks, the ferry ride back is included. Leverocks menu is very similar to Rum Bay. The gulf front view of the villa was fabulous and the beach is nice with lots of good shelling and you may see some dolphin traversing the shore.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Bragg, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2011

I bought the travel Groupon deal for a one-night stay at Palm Island Resort. The deal included the car ferry and the golf cart. My only regret is that the Groupon was for one night...

We arrived on a Saturday afternoon and quickly boarded the car ferry. No issues there. Quick trip across to the island. The check-in was super easy and the bell hop drove us straight to our room, then on to check out our own golf cart. I really wasn't sure the golf cart was even necessary but the kids really enjoyed it and it was nice to tool around the island with it.

We settled in our villa, commented on the gorgeous view, and headed to the heated pool. There was only one other family in the pool that our villa was assigned to, so we definitely felt we had some privacy. The jacuzzi was a hit with the kids also. My husband and I sat and read and watched the kids....totally relaxed. Headed to Rum Bay for dinner. Really good Grouper sandwiches, but typical as far as "beach fare" goes. Nothing special but nothing to complain about either.

The beach is very quiet. Neat little "walk over the dunes" to get there, so it is sort of set apart from the villas. TONS of shells (but also a few dead fish here and there...par for the course...but my daughter was totally grossed out...). The kids splashed around in the gulf while we sat on the beach chairs and again, relaxed. Maybe it was due to the time of year we were visiting, but we really felt like the beach was "ours."

Check out the following day was easy-breezy also. Had I known it was going to be this wonderful, I would have booked for several nights. My kids are already asking when we get to go back...

(My ONLY gripe would be that there were no towels at the pool....we had to take bath towels to the pool and the beach. Would have been nice to have specific towels out at the pool for that purpose....just a thought...)

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Palm Island Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palm Island Resort

Address: 7092 Placida Road, Cape Haze, Placida, FL 33946
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Placida
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Placida
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Palm Island Resort, located on Florida’s Southwest Gulf Coast, is the state’s only true-out island resort. There are no bridges or causeways to the island, which ensures a relaxed, tropical vacation setting.The island resort encompasses a two-mile portion of private, pristine beaches on the northern end of Palm Island. Guests travel to the island via car ferry and park their car in our island parking area. Cars are not allowed in the resort. Transportation is provided by our bell staff and golf carts are also available for rent for registered guests. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Palm Island Hotel Placida
Palm Island Resort Florida/Placida

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Palm Island Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.