We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Getaway for Locals or Visitors” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Palm Island Resort

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Placida
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Palm Island Resort
7092 Placida Road, Cape Haze, Placida, FL 33946   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Sun. to Thurs. BOGO!
Ranked #1 of 2 hotels in Placida
Venice FL
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“Great Getaway for Locals or Visitors”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2011

While we only stayed one night, this was a great getaway for us. We only live 35 minutes away, but it's hard to relax and connect at home where there is always something that needs to be done yesterday and the office phone rings even on weekends. The gulf views from the well decorated villa and the breeze rustling the nearby palms was were calming and romantic. The beach was pristine and different from ours -lots more shore birds and different shells. I found dozens of fossil shark's teeth to replenish my giveaway jar for visitors. Even my "been there and done that already" husband enjoyed two long beach walks. I brought a cooler and had steaks marinating, some butter and sea salt wrapped potatoes and onions and fresh corn to throw on the property's very nice propane grills for dinner and blended up some pina coladas to sip while the food cooked. I've been to the restaurant on the island before. It's OK, but everything prepared outside tastes better. There are lights on timers over the grill area and places to sit and eat but it was a bit cool so we ate back at the villa. The hot tub and pool were a relaxing way to end the evening ( we remembered to bring our own beach towels). There were games and books in the unit for longer stay visitors and families, activities, kayaking, and you can bring your fishing gear or rent some. The staff were all very pleasant and welcoming.

The carpet in our unit was on it's last legs but clean. There was a bit of mold in the caulking of the tub, but it's Florida. I have the same problem at home despite almost nuclear efforts to prevent and remove it. The TV and electronics were outdated and the four different controllers had a learning curve I didn't care to explore, but watching the DVD we brought wasn't that important to us. What a great place this would be to vacation with children who enjoy the beach or for someone who needs to get off the grid.

Our island villa units were on stilts. If you have an orthopedic or cardiac problem, children or are out of shape or get dizzy, you might want to specify a first floor unit. We had a third floor unit, but didn't mind the climb and the bellman helped with the bags. We were in a "B" class villa. The clerk explained the "a" class has more amenities like granite tops and flat screen TVs (maybe jacuzzis?). The rates were surprisingly reasonable and we are going to recommend this place to visitors and come back again. We likely would not rent a golf cart--everything is close and if you want a ride, you can tip one of the staff to ferry you and spend less than the golf cart rental ( $ 55 a day). There were only 2 single and one double kayak available for renting and those were spoken for in two hour intervals, so we didn't get to give that a try. We missed Redbeard the Pirate's gig on Friday night for families but the staff said children and adults enjoy that.

If you like partying and nightlife, this is not the place to go. You could ferry back and enjoy live music at the restaurants/bars in Placida or Englewood close by or even head up to Venice as there is always live music at Sharky's in season or at Pineapple's or T J Carney's.There's ballroom dancing Wed. Thurs. and Sat at Gotta Dance in Nokomis for $10, including a group lesson. But, you'd be waaay out of line bringing a boom box and raising a ruckus at night here and disturbing everyone's peace. And during Turtle nesting and hatching season, be sure to follow the guidelines about beach lighting and take beach chairs back to their corral so T- Moms don't get their flippers caught in chair legs. They don't pay attention to what's in their path once their nesting instinct is activated.

If you are driving , I would suggest bringing a gallon or so of bottled/filtered water. The tap water isn't great for drinking. I forgot to let the tap water for coffee sit overnight for the gases to dissipate. The coffee was rank even though I brought my beloved Community Coffee, New Orleans Blend. There is Super Wal-Mart at Jacaranda and 41 in Venice on the way to 776 and Palm Island where you could pick up a disposable cooler, water, and food at reasonable prices if you are going to be staying and cooking. In fact, it's close enough that if you don't have a cooler and are heading straight down, you probably don't need a cooler. Your room rate includes the ferry and the Palm Island staff take you from your car to your room in carts once you're checked in. Have fun!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

78 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    43
    21
    5
    4
    5
See reviews for
33
26
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Saint Charles, Missouri
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2011

We were at Palm Island Resort for 4 days. The rates for "low" season are really good. Since it was low season there was almost no one else there. I counted 15 cars in the parking lot and some of those belong to the people that live there. So if you wanted quiet seclusion this is the place. Made us feel like we had our own private beach. The beach is beautiful, full of shells/sharks teeth. Plenty of chairs but also quite a hike from the room and you cant drive the golf cart to the beach. Renting a golf cart to get around the resort and island is a must. The staff are very friendly and attentive. The trip only includes one round trip ferry ride and additional rides are over $50, we ask for additional trips and they were given, so if you are going back and forth to the mainland, ask for extra ferry trips when you check in. The kitchen is very well equipped, stop at the grocery before you go there as the room only includes one packet of coffee. Also, take your own beach towels. The food, service and drinks at Rum Bay are good and reasonably priced. The only coffee house and shop close early, so make sure you have everything you need. If you need internet, take your own computer, they will print boarding passes for you, but other than that there is no computer to use. The bed in our unit was not very comfortable, but I guess I only like my own bed. I had ask for a lower level unit which is why we were on the top floor. So don't waste time trying to ask when you make your reservations. We took the water taxi to Leverocks one day. The driver was great, the ride was great, the food was less than I expected. Go for the ride, but eat someplace else. These are the only negative things I can think of, I love this resort, would go again.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota, FL
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2011

We were there last weekend. Check-in was uneventful, but the check-in staff was pretty uncaring and not forthcoming with information. You can tell they are just 'making 8' to get through the day. The Villa was clean, but dated. The bathroom fixtures were surely the originals from the 80's when it was built (picture attached of one of the cabinets). The caulk was peeling away around the bathtub. The sheets were pretty much threadbare. On the positive side, they are really reasonable rates for gulf-front accommodations. The Rum Bay restaurant is nothing incredible, but has decent food for a decent price. They have very limited options for breakfast. If you go off the island and eat at Leverocks, the ferry ride back is included. Leverocks menu is very similar to Rum Bay. The gulf front view of the villa was fabulous and the beach is nice with lots of good shelling and you may see some dolphin traversing the shore.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Bragg, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2011

I bought the travel Groupon deal for a one-night stay at Palm Island Resort. The deal included the car ferry and the golf cart. My only regret is that the Groupon was for one night...

We arrived on a Saturday afternoon and quickly boarded the car ferry. No issues there. Quick trip across to the island. The check-in was super easy and the bell hop drove us straight to our room, then on to check out our own golf cart. I really wasn't sure the golf cart was even necessary but the kids really enjoyed it and it was nice to tool around the island with it.

We settled in our villa, commented on the gorgeous view, and headed to the heated pool. There was only one other family in the pool that our villa was assigned to, so we definitely felt we had some privacy. The jacuzzi was a hit with the kids also. My husband and I sat and read and watched the kids....totally relaxed. Headed to Rum Bay for dinner. Really good Grouper sandwiches, but typical as far as "beach fare" goes. Nothing special but nothing to complain about either.

The beach is very quiet. Neat little "walk over the dunes" to get there, so it is sort of set apart from the villas. TONS of shells (but also a few dead fish here and there...par for the course...but my daughter was totally grossed out...). The kids splashed around in the gulf while we sat on the beach chairs and again, relaxed. Maybe it was due to the time of year we were visiting, but we really felt like the beach was "ours."

Check out the following day was easy-breezy also. Had I known it was going to be this wonderful, I would have booked for several nights. My kids are already asking when we get to go back...

(My ONLY gripe would be that there were no towels at the pool....we had to take bath towels to the pool and the beach. Would have been nice to have specific towels out at the pool for that purpose....just a thought...)

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Worth, Florida
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2011

My husband and I rented a 1 BR Gulf Front over Labor Day Weekend and really enjoyed the quiet and solitude of the resort. To get to the resort, you have to take a car ferry - which is a fun little 5 minute trip - something different. Once at the resort, you leave your car in the parking lot and get around the resort on foot, by bicycle, or by golf cart. Our condo was in a very nice location with an amazing view but had outdated furnishings and decor. The bed was as hard as a rock!
We rented bikes one day and rode all over the resort and the rest of the island. Ate lunch at Rum Bay -the restaurant at the resort - and then had carry out pizza from Rum Bay that night.
A couple of drawbacks are that there was no restaurant for breakfast and no real shop for snacks either. There is a small shop but very limited food offerings. We fortunately did bring some bagels and coffee with us and now know for the future to bring our supplies! Everyone at the resort was friendly and helpful - especially Dustin who helped us with our bikes.
Again, the view was amazing and the 1 BR Gulf Front had a huge screened in balcony (we were on the 2nd floor). The beach was so nice and not crowded. Such a wonderful place. We can't wait to return.

Room Tip: I don't think there is a bad room in the place - gulf view and pool view are right on the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami Beach, Florida
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2011

We stayed in Palm Island resort July 21, 2011 for 2 nights. The condo we stayed was rather dated but the location and view allowed us to over look this. We loved the privacy and quiet. We attempted to use some of the amenties like the kayaks and bicycles in both cases the equipment was unusable. They only had 3 kayaks two of which had broken seat backs, the bicycles were similarly unusable. Being as quiet and private once you've had enough of the pool and beach you look forward to a kayak yet they're unusable,

The staff were all helpful and kind. We would return however we'll ask if the equipment has been repaired before booking in the future.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2011

The resort itself is nice and offers several amenities. On the positive side, the rooms were clean, nice with a great view of the water and the beds were comfortable. They offer gas grills, plenty of beach space, and several swimming pools. The staff was overall very pleasant and helpful, other than as noted below.

On the downside, the front desk was very disorganized and management/maintenance was unresponsive. In trying to find the resort, which of course does not appear on most GPS and has no signs even when you get to the island, we received very vague directions.

Once we arrived, even though 4 adults appeared at the front desk to check-in having booked a two-bedroom villa, we learned only after trekking out to the room in 90-degree heat and lugging our bags up a flight of stairs that we were given a 1-bedroom. Unbelievably, once we advised of their error and rather than someone bringing us the keys to the correct room, we had to go back to the front desk, pick up the new keys and return to the exact same building we had just been to.

The rooms were advertised as having a full kitchen so we decided to buy food and drinks, including perishable items for the grill. We noticed immediately that neither the fridge nor the freezer were cold and turned them down to the coldest setting. We noticed that of course there was no ice and called the front desk to locate the nearest icemaker in the resort. Apparently we are the first to make such a request as we were advised they would have to check only to inform we had to purchase it at $3 per small bag. After several hours, we noticed neither the fridge nor freezer was getting cold and called the maintenance line provided, which unbelivably was an invalid number. We then tried the front desk which was already closed for the night. Instead, we tried the "after-hours" manager which went to voicemail. After not receiving a return call for hours, we called again and got voicemail. To add insult to injury since the fridge never worked, we also never even received a call back. Moral of the story is don't count on management or maintenance addressing any issues unless it is before 5 pm.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Palm Island Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palm Island Resort

Address: 7092 Placida Road, Cape Haze, Placida, FL 33946
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Placida
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 hotels in Placida
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Palm Island Resort, located on Florida’s Southwest Gulf Coast, is the state’s only true-out island resort. There are no bridges or causeways to the island, which ensures a relaxed, tropical vacation setting.The island resort encompasses a two-mile portion of private, pristine beaches on the northern end of Palm Island. Guests travel to the island via car ferry and park their car in our island parking area. Cars are not allowed in the resort. Transportation is provided by our bell staff and golf carts are also available for rent for registered guests. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Palm Island Hotel Placida
Palm Island Resort Florida/Placida

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Palm Island Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Palm Island Resort to your Saves list