We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant waterside bar and grill” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Waterside Grill

Waterside Grill
15001 Gasparilla Road, Placida, FL 33946
+1 941-697-0724
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 10 Restaurants in Placida
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $5 - $16
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: situated at Gasparila marina
Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada
Top Contributor
189 reviews 189 reviews
152 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
108 helpful votes 108 helpful votes
“Pleasant waterside bar and grill”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013 via mobile

Busy bar and grill adjacent to Gasparilla Marina. There is indoor seating for anyone that wants to not be outside near the water and the blackbirds! The birds were a bit pesky and very brave. Outside, there are tables under a roof with lots of fans blowing to keep it cool, or you can opt to be at a high bar or picnic tables in the sun right at the waters edge. Service was very pleasant and extremely fast. The tuna salad wrap was bland. In my opinion, it needed something to jazz it up. The turkey club was good. The onion straws were tasty but certainly not good for your heart or your waistline! The chipotle ranch dipping sauce was just what they needed. Kids' menu available. They are open early morning until late night with live music some evenings.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    24
    52
    11
    4
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Saint John
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Good meal,nice marina location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

Basic food but good. Nice atmosphere. Friendly staff. Have had meals here a couple of times. A very relaxing spot where you can sit outside and look out on the marina.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Savannah, Georgia, United States
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Best Breakfasts!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

This is the place for a great breakfast by the water. Priced right, friendly staff and crispy hash browns!

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Good food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

I've ate at the Waterside Grill 3 times and have enjoyed each visit. It is located on the water, although not a clear ocean view, it is still worth a visit. They have good food and descent service at an average price. Try the grouper! I've enjoyed my visits and will be back if ever in the area.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoney Creek NC
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Not going back”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

We went for a causal dinner knowing there was outside seating and some music. What we didn't expect was poor food. The service was fine but the food was only passable.The soup and fries were cool and the sandwiches not very tasty. Great view and an excellent place to have a drink and enjoy the outside.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John F, General Manager at Waterside Grill, responded to this review, March 7, 2013
I would like to apologize to you for the meal.I was the manager here that day and was not informed of your dissatisfaction by the server. I try to get around to make sure problems are taken care of ASAP but , no excuse, I dropped the ball. I understand your displeasure, with prices these days, and quality of free time, everything should be as close to perfect as possible, but, in this industry mistakes are made and we pay dearly for them. If you happen to be in the area,since you mentioned "Drinks and Outside"were OK, please, drop in and ask for John the manager and, at least let me see if I can make that enjoyable.Thanks.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Waterside Grill also viewed

Placida, Southwest Gulf Coast
Placida, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Placida, Southwest Gulf Coast
Placida, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to Waterside Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Waterside Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.