We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Crab Soup and Quesadillas - this is not a place for a "water" view” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Waterside Grill

Waterside Grill
15001 Gasparilla Road, Placida, FL 33946
941-697-0724
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 10 Restaurants in Placida
Price range: $5 - $16
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Outdoor seating
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Description: situated at Gasparila marina
Cape Haze, Florida
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Crab Soup and Quesadillas - this is not a place for a "water" view”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

Local People come here for the food - and I will say that the Crab Soup was excellent -
Steak Quesadillas - were served on a wheat or grain tortilla - filled with lots of steak, chedder cheese, jalapeno, onion, pepper, tomatoe and includes sides of sour cream, salsa, and guacamole - Black beans and rice in a small bowl - I would go back again - really loved the steak combination of flavors - I am not a black beans and rice person - so would have preferred to have been offered something different instead.
We were invited back for breakfast - they are famos for their Egg's Gasparilla - 2 poached eggs on top top of an English muffin - and ham topped with hollandaise sauce served with potatoes
OR
Egg's Placida 2 poached eggs on top of crab cakes and hollandaise sauce served with potatoes
OR
Blueberry Crunch Pancakes
Breakfast starts at 6:30am

  • Visited December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    22
    47
    10
    2
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“read this review it gives accruate picture of the place”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

Cold beer, good selection. Good drink menu. No view. food is average, but others things make up for some of that deficiency. Oysters are wonderful. Order them Loren style (with a shot of pepper vodka) it cleans them a little and gives it a little kick. Wings are below average. Salads are really good. Shrimp wrap is good but needs more shrimp (imagine that). They serve breakfast but havn't tried yet. Nice atmosphere. Wait staff is good. Bartenders have always been social and they are nice on the eyes along with the wait staff. Have live entertainment, always a plus for any place. Grouper sandwich would have been good but they burnt it (fried). Prices are a little stiff for the quality of the food. This is a bar and needs to be considered that way. Will continue to visit due to the other pluses this place has to offer.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Top Contributor
128 reviews 128 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
“Take your own catch and they cook it!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012 via mobile

Waterside Grill is a great little place to kick back, relax and enjoy a great meal. We usually stay near here when fishing in Boca Grande and we always take fish we catch here for them to cook. It's easy, quick, and great. Usually loud at the bar and on the patio but it makes it fun! Great little restaurant, worth it to eat here.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brantford, Ontario, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Nice casual place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2012

Three visits to the Waterside Grill, April, July and August. In April and July sat outside on the patio and it was lovely.....in August it was far too hot to sit outside and the patio was not open as an option and rightly so. I had the redfish sandwich once, the redfish platter once and the grouper sandwich the third time. Theory were all grilled and all prepared very well. My husband had a burger each time I think, but a different one, and they were excellent. Sometimes there is live music on theatric and that added some nice atmosphere. It is on our list of favorites, whenever we are in the area. The only thing I would stay away from is their black bean and rice side dish whic tasted like bleac beans from a can that had not been rinsed, that were thrown on top of some yellow rice...bland.... Everything else was terrific..maybe Im not a connoisseur of black beans though, so you can decide for yourself on that one.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Food was delicious!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2012 via mobile

We were there off season, but there was a good crowd of locals. We tried several frozen cocktails which were quite good. Blackened grouper and grouper fingers were delicious! You have to try the nachos with pulled pork appetizer! We could have happily made our meal from these nachos.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Waterside Grill also viewed

Placida, Southwest Gulf Coast
Placida, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Placida, Southwest Gulf Coast
Cape Haze, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to Waterside Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Waterside Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.