We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A truly remarkable and fascinating place.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tampa Bay Automobile Museum

Tampa Bay Automobile Museum
3301 Gateway Centre Boulevard, Pinellas Park, FL 33782
(727) 579-8226
Website
Improve this listing
Attraction details
Hedgesville, West Virginia
1 review
“A truly remarkable and fascinating place.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013 via mobile

If you love and appreciate antique and classic cars, or just like looking, this is a must see. All the automobiles share a first in auto manufacturing or are one of a kind. Most of european design, surprising to me was learnng what great engineers the Czechs were.
Thank you so much Mr. Cerf for collecting, sharing and educating about these wonderful automobiles.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

28 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    23
    3
    1
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Acworth, Ga
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Fascinating trip back in time!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

If you don't include this Auto Museum in your visit to the Tampa/St. Pete area then you are missing out on period in time when cars were truly special! My family and I thoroughly enjoyed our visit and the kind gentleman that answered all of my questions made the visit even more memorable. All I can say is the pictures on the site come no where near what you will see Upclose. This place is a gem!

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Altamonte Springs, Florida
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Impressive Collection”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

The museum houses something like 60 vehicles, all foreign except for 3. It includes unique models, such as one that was powered only by what seemed to be regular automobile batteries, and one vehicle with wheels up front and tracks in the rear. It is off the beaten path, but worth a visit.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Worth the time!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

Interesting and informative collection of rare automobiles, some I never heard of before and I am a life long European car guy. I have been a fan of Tatras and this museum has a very fine collection. My teenage nephew found the Cugnot especially interesting, the first "pickup" truck. Highly recommended... a bargain, very nice staff, accessible cars and comfortable location.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
26 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
102 helpful votes 102 helpful votes
“Really neat”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

This is one man's personal collection of mostly European autos. Really cool, and very unique compared to other auto museums I've visited.

I didn't know what to expect, because this place isn't really advertised like the other area attractions are. I'm glad I took a chance on it, because it was well worth it. The cars are amazing, the staff is friendly and knowledgeable, signage for the cars is plentiful and informative, and you can take pictures to your heart's content. Also, unlike some other auto museums I've visited, the place is fully air-conditioned.

Plan on an hour or more if you read the signs and take time to admire each car.

As a little bonus, if you enjoy metal sculptures, ask the staff to let you step outside to see the amazing lizard/dragon sculptures. These are not visible from the museum entrance or from anywhere inside the museum. They are really awesome. Same artist as the giant lizard that you can see while traveling northbound on I-275 through St. Petersburg (after you pass the Tropicana Field exit and the road dips down, immediately after you go under the overpass look over your right shoulder to see the giant fly-eating lizard atop the industrial building).

Didn't try the cafe, so can't comment on that, but I very much enjoyed the museum and would recommend it even if you're not crazy about cars. You'll still find something of interest here.

Side note: The owner is working on opening a Jacques Cousteau museum, too!

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tampa Bay Automobile Museum also viewed

 

Been to Tampa Bay Automobile Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tampa Bay Automobile Museum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.