We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No better place on the planet to relax!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tarpon Lodge & Restaurant

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Pineland
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Tarpon Lodge & Restaurant
Save
You added Tarpon Lodge & Restaurant to your Saves list
13771 Waterfront Drive, Pineland, FL 33922   |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cape Coral, Florida
1 review
“No better place on the planet to relax!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2011

Our company hosted a fishing tournament and family fun day at Tarpon Lodge on June 17th & 18th. Our event turned out just over 300 people of whom the TL staff feed and papered too!

We also, booked out the entire lodging facilities for our guests! All visitors were more than pleased with their rooms and their overall experience.

Their management and staff were very attentive to all of our needs. The service they provided was first class and we can't wait to team up with them again to host our PR events!

Sincerely,

Dusty Gardner
Schooner Bay Realty, Inc.

Room Tip: Be sure to get a room with a waterfront view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TarponLodge, Guest Relations Manager at Tarpon Lodge & Restaurant, responded to this review, June 27, 2011
Thank you for your recent post on Trip Advisor. Tarpon Lodge loves to host fishing tournaments and our staff enjoyed working with the organizers and participants of The Schooner Bay Getaway.

Your comments about the management and staff will certainly be shared with everyone. It is positive feedback like this that motivates our staff to continue doing what they do best – making our guests feel welcome and appreciated!

We look forward to welcoming your group back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

120 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    82
    25
    5
    4
    4
See reviews for
24
59
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Bradenton, Florida
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2011

We recently moved to Florida and decided to stay in state for a family vacation to visit some local flair. We are fairly easy to please and had read a good review of the Tarpon Lodge in Coastal Living. It wasn't what we expected for a family vacation and the food was average at best with 4 star pricing.

Wish we had been warned that the main house was so loud and awkward for guests before shelling out close to $600 for 3 nights (3 night minimum). It was as if we were uninvited guests to a dinner party. Our room had a large window that opened up to a large table in the dining room. It was extremely loud and our only reprieve was the in-room AC unit to drown out the noise. You have to travel through the "restaurant/bar" and waiting area to get to and from your room. Went to ask for fresh towels and was greeted with a rude response and ignored in favor of the party waiting for their table.

I would not recommend staying here unless you have a boat, are here to fish and only want/need to stay at the lodge for sleeping only. I also wouldn't come here expecting a high caliber B&B experience or if you want your kids entertained. If you do come, make sure to bring plenty of bug spray.

The best part of our whole stay was eating at the local pizzeria in Matlacha. Wonderful little hole in the wall with great food and service.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TarponLodge, Guest Relations Manager at Tarpon Lodge & Restaurant, responded to this review, June 18, 2011
Thank you for your comments. I apologize that you felt that the historical lodge was too loud during your stay. Tarpon Lodge does have a three night minimum on most holiday weekends. It is against our policy to issue refunds to guests who depart early, but we did refund your last night as a courtesy to you and your family.

We regret that you felt that you were being ignored when you asked for fresh towels. We pride ourselves on making our guests feel welcome and I can assure you that this will be addressed with our staff.

Many of our guests do enjoy fishing the area waters but others choose to explore the Calusa Heritage Trail across the street, golf at Alden Pines Golf Course, take pleasure in bird watching, visit the many art galleries in the area or travel by ferry to enjoy the beautiful beaches, the shelling and the kayaking opportunities of Cayo Costa.

We agree that the mosquitoes were a problem that weekend. Thankfully, the Lee County Mosquito Control has done a superb job so our guests are able to enjoy the grounds and be outdoors again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farmington, PA
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2011

Great Place to Relax and lose yourself in Island Time! We expected a fisherman's lodge and were surprised to find beautiful accommodations and superb service.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TarponLodge, Guest Relations Manager at Tarpon Lodge & Restaurant, responded to this review, June 18, 2011
Thank you for your post on Trip Advisor. We always appreciate hearing positive feedback and are pleased to hear about occasions when our staff and lodge accommodations exceed the expectations of our guests. We will see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2011

This is truly a place to stay when you plan to fish as there is really nothing else to do in the immediate area. That was our purpose and we had a great time. The grounds are beautiful and it was a very relaxing trip. The service was great and the restaurant was too. One warning though, the walls in the hotel are thin and the portable a.c. in the rooms prevented us from hearing the t.v., which was annoying. The rooms were very clean.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TarponLodge, Guest Relations Manager at Tarpon Lodge & Restaurant, responded to this review, June 18, 2011
Thank you for your post on Trip Advisor. We are happy that you chose Tarpon Lodge for your getaway and enjoyed the local fishing, your meals in our restaurant and the cleanliness of your room. Unfortunately, the thin walls are a by-product of maintaining a historical building that was built in 1926.

We take a lot of pride in our property, the restaurant and our historical lodge and love to hear positive feedback from our guests. On behalf of the staff at Tarpon Lodge & Restaurant, thank you again for the feedback - we hope to see you again very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota, Florida
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2011

We had a nice room with a balcony and a water view. The bed was very comfortable and the room was decorated nicely. The view was amazing. We had dinner there one night and were very pleased with the staff and quality of the food. Some things that could have been improved: cushions on the balcony chairs, Adirondack chairs in the lawn, nice quality soap, shampoo, and towels, homemade breakfast (not continental), hair dryer, robes, Internet service in the room (not in the entryway of the hotel) - these are things that spoil you. It was a nice place, but we didn't feel spoiled.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bokeelia, Florida
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2011

I visited this lovely lodge last year by boat for an afternoon meal. the meal was great and it is a very nice lodge. We were dressed appropriately and yet were still given a snobby attitude from the employees. I simply thought that maybe the were just having a bad day so I didn't think too much of the situation. Last Saturday February 19th 2011, we decided to give the place another try for lunch. We had 4 in are group (two couples, all fully clothed with long sleeve shirts) and we walked in through the door and the hostess made a loud scene and shouted "the bar area is over there, go to the bar" as she pointed and walked towards are direction herding us away from any tables. We hadn't even said one word yet. I don't get upset very often and never cause a scene but that was just plain out rude. i had full intentions of ordering complete meals and probably spending over 100 bucks. I then herded the crew back towards where we came in at and gladly left the building with a hungry stomach. Two strikes is two to many for my extremely mild-natured self. So we went to the Pink Flamingo and enjoyed the afternoon meal there. And to think that Saturday was a beautiful day, almost perfect, and one place sure turned it sour. thank you for reading I hope this will help make your vacation plans. I have not stayed here and I will tell you that the lodge does look very nice, but I won't be spending any more time or money there.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bc, canada
Top Contributor
129 reviews 129 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 67 cities Reviews in 67 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2011

if you are looking for a quite restful place to spend some time, this is it. A fishing lodge that has the "Old Florida" feel. The rooms are clean and adequate. The staff was helpful when approached for any assistance required. Ate two dinners there - the bar menu was better value for the dollar while the dinner menu was a bit over priced for what we got.
Salads great!! The continental breakfast is truly that - not much selection. Being that you are unable to walk anywhere for breakfast, I would suggest either add more to the continental breakfast selection ( charge more for the room) or develop a a la carte breakfast menu. You would want to have a car to get around to see the island. Free WIFI in main entrance to the lodge.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Tarpon Lodge & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tarpon Lodge & Restaurant

Address: 13771 Waterfront Drive, Pineland, FL 33922
Location: United States > Florida > Pineland
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Pineland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 21
Also Known As:
Tarpon Lodge & Restaurant Hotel Pineland
Tarpon Lodge And Restaurant
Tarpon Lodge & Restaurant Florida/Pineland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tarpon Lodge & Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.