We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very happy here” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Purple Parrot Village Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Purple Parrot Village Resort to your Saves list
Purple Parrot Village Resort
13555 Perdido Key Drive, Perdido Key, FL 32507   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Austin, Texas
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Very happy here”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

We stayed here over Labor Day for a family reunion and could not be more pleased. The unit we had, Peachy Keen, was so charming and exquisitely decorated that we took notes in case we ever build our own beach house. Both pools were impeccably maintained despite it being a holiday weekend, and the people in the office were friendly and courteous. Note although it is not far from the beach, maybe 4 blocks, you will have to drive as the road to the beach is a fast highway, we started to walk it and decided against it. The beach is beautiful white sand and worth the one minute drive. The price was far less than a hotel would have been; if you use their website to book, note their website quotes the price for all nights (but not some taxes and surcharges). Some people have complained about the $75 cleaning charge but we thought it was worth it; it is impossible to not get sand inside even if you leave your shoes outside. We would go there again.

Room Tip: Print out a map from their website so you can choose a room towards the back if you like quiet. We l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PerdidoKeyFlorida, Manager at Purple Parrot Village Resort, responded to this review, February 23, 2013
Glad you had such a great time. You are absolutely correct about the sand. We go through vacuum cleaners much quicker than most homes as a result of the sand accidentally being brought into the vacation homes by guests. The cleaning for each condo after departure is more competitively priced than most other professionally managed vacation rental properties, however some travelers are not accustomed to staying in a vacation home so the cleaning fee catches them off guard so I appreciate your kind words concerning the charge ultimately being totally worth its value. Again, glad you had a good time. Condo Peachy Keen is a nice one and the couple which owns it takes great pride in maintaining it in good condition for our visitors. Kindest Regards, JD Hallam -Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

102 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    67
    23
    5
    6
    1
See reviews for
47
25
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Reading, Ohio
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

We are currently staying in the Purple Parrot resort were in room 10 A right by the pool on the first floor, totally love this place. It is so clean and not really crowded. Nice workout room indoor pool, hottub, outdoor pool, and outdoor hottub, screen in porch.AC worked great had plenty of towels, washer and dryer in room. Only complaint is the tiki bar is not open we new this before we got here,but you can take your cooler to the pool eat and drink no glass. People were friendly and fun. I will be back what a great value and a unspolied place.Plenty of places to sit at the pool in the shade and or sn, sand volley ball and with in a 5 minute walk to the beach.

Room Tip: Right by the pool is the place to be. We booked direclty with the resort but found out we could of w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PerdidoKeyFlorida, Manager at Purple Parrot Village Resort, responded to this review, February 23, 2013
Thanks so much for the great feedback. We are looking into having the tiki bar reopen and operate in a way which compliments the resort. You will have to check the resort website by searching purple parrot resort in google or yahoo for updates on our frequently asked questions page or call the rental office. The resort webpage is our company name all spelled out as one word Perdido Key Resort Management. Hope to see you back this year! Kindest Regards, JD Hallam - Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

We booked the Purple Parrot for a Labor Day family reunion/birthday. We booked through the Perdido Key Resort Management for two bedrooms both with queen beds because we had two couples with tall men. When we arrived one room had two twin beds. Needless to say I wasn't happy. We called the manager J.D. and he searched every single room that had not been checked into to try to find us what we originally asked for. There was not a room to satisfy our needs but he apologized profusely and brought us a gift card for dinner. We made do with the room just fine and were pleased with the way the manager tried to compensate us. The condo was EXTREMELY nice. We stayed in Cecelias Dream 15 A and family members stayed in 11BD. We noticed that the AC filter in 11BD was dirty and the receptionist brought us a new filter within 10 minutes. The pool was clean and nice, good temperature and mostly shallow great for kids! The resort was well kept. I would like to let renters know to bring paper towels, toilet paper in addition to normal bathroom items that you need. If you want to wash clothes or dishes you need detergent to do so. Again in the end VERY PLEASED with the condo itself, the pool and the resort manager J.D.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PerdidoKeyFlorida, Manager at Purple Parrot Village Resort, responded to this review, February 23, 2013
Thanks for the positive review. The vacation home which was originally reserved had maintenance issues, so we had to move this reservation. Though rarely, this does sometimes happen. We are always trying to ensure that our guests are kept happy throughout their stay. I appreciate you being understanding of the circumstances and for the kind words regarding the vacation home we relocated you to, Cecelia's Dream, which is a two bedroom condo that since the departure has been updated with bamboo flooring and new paint throughout. If you search Cecelia's Dream 15A in google you can seen updated photographs on the perdido key florida website. Kindest Regards, JD Hallam - Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2012

We just got back from a weekend getaway at the Purple Parrot and we loved it. The condo was clean and roomy and the beaches nearby were beautiful and not crowded like other beaches on the gulf coast. Parking on the resort was quite the hassle but this is our only complaint. The kitchen had all the utensils and appliances we could possibly need. The washer/dryer combo was a pleasant surprise for someone who loathes vacation laundry! The pools were not crowded at all. It is a shame the Tiki Bar is no longer open. It would have been great to get a drink poolside.
Johnson National Beach is gorgeous, totally worth the $8.00 entry fee (it's valid for a week). We had the beach to ourselves for several hours on a Saturday morning which was a first for us.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anahuac, Texas
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2012

We stayed at the Purple Parrot in June of this year and we're already booking again in October. It was that good! The condo couldn't have been any nicer. It was clean, lots of room, comfortable beds and the screened-in porch was wonderful in the morning with coffee. The ONLY drawback that I could say is there is no nightlife at the pool anymore like in the past. I think they should have a band at least one night on the weekend, just to hang out there all day and enjoy the resort. But also, the quietness of it was great, too. We just left every evening to find a little something to do. But overall, I'd rate this place an A++!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hattiesburg, Mississippi, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

Another good time @ Toucan Terrace! easy location. close to EVERYTHING. A comfy place to sleep after a long day of play. We will be back..... Again :)

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LOUISIANA
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2012

Our family has enjoyed the condos at the Purple Parrot Resort since 2003 so much that we eventually bought there. Thanks for another great vacation - hope to see you again soon! We stay in Parrotopia condo 2B.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Purple Parrot Village Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Purple Parrot Village Resort

Address: 13555 Perdido Key Drive, Perdido Key, FL 32507
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Panhandle > Perdido Key
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 9 Specialty Lodging in Perdido Key
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 65
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Purple Parrot Village Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Purple Parrot Village Hotel Perdido Key

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Purple Parrot Village Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.