We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great dry rub ribs” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Rib Shak

The Rib Shak
17348 Perdido Key Drive, Perdido Key, FL 32507
850-607-8017
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 10 Restaurants in Perdido Key
Restaurant details
Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Great dry rub ribs”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

The ribs were outstanding, meaty and tender. The dry rub is to die for, no sauce required. I had one of the BBQ egg rolls and was not impressed. The service was fine, but we were pretty much by ourselves. That is a little scarey when you go to a new place and no cars in the lot. No problem, the food was great. The beans have a little bit to them, yummy.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    39
    17
    3
    3
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Newnan, Georgia
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Great BBQ”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

If you only try one thing on thing on the menu it has to be their BBQ Eggroll. It is one of the most delisious things I have eaten. Their ribs are awsome as the meat just falls off the bone and service was outstanding.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newnan, Georgia, United States
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Yum!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

Right before you drive into Orange Beach, Ala., you pass the Rib Shak. And, if you enjoy barbecue like I do, it's a great place to stop and grab a quick bite to eat. My husband and I ordered the St. Louis pork ribs, baked beans, fried pickles and two egg rolls. The egg rolls were worth the stop alone. And, the ribs were tender and dry. Absolutely delicious. The baked beans include chunks of pulled pork and jalapeno peppers, a great side to try. We enjoyed the experience and food very much and highly recommend it.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zion, Illinois, United States
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Awesome eats!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

Food was delicious! Staff was attentive. If you like BBQ pork and eggroll, you must try their combination! BBQ Eggroll YUM YUM! We had the ribs and pulled pork, it was awesome! Flavorful and the meat literally fell off the bone.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lebanon, VA
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Fantastic "hole in the wall"!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

The Rib Shak is right across the AL/FL state line in Perdido Key, FL. It is fantastic! It's a small restaurant with inside and outside seating. We had the ribs, a pulled pork sandwich, fries, and a BBQ eggroll. The meat on the ribs literally falls off of the bone. It was so juicy and tender and had a great flavor. The pulled pork sandwich was great with their BBQ sauce. The BBQ eggroll was an eggroll "shell" with pulled pork BBQ and mozzarella cheese inside and it was deep fried! Genius!

If you're in the Gulf Shoes/Orange Beach/Pensacola area try the Rib Shak! You won't be disappointed!

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Rib Shak also viewed

Perdido Key, Florida Panhandle
Perdido Key, Florida Panhandle
 
Perdido Key, Florida Panhandle
Perdido Key, Florida Panhandle
 

Been to The Rib Shak? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Rib Shak, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.