We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“For the price, you can do a lot worse in Pensacola” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Extended Stay America - Pensacola - University Mall

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Extended Stay America - Pensacola - University Mall to your Saves list
Extended Stay America - Pensacola - University Mall
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   809 Bloodworth Lane, Pensacola, FL 32504   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save up to 10% Today!
Ranked #32 of 61 Hotels in Pensacola
Tallahassee, FL
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
“For the price, you can do a lot worse in Pensacola”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

I bought this room on a bidding site for a very cheap price. I saw a guy just walk up to the counter and pay $50-60/night for his room, so that's probably the most you'll pay. This hotel is probably a good deal at either price.
It's an interstate exit motel surrounded by commercial area, so there are restaurants and stores around. It's about ten minutes from downtown Pensacola, and probably 25 minutes to the beach. If you're looking for a beach vacation (as I was), this place will work, but you'll have to take into account that you're saving a ton of money by not staying directly on the beach. I've stayed in this area for work in downtown, and it's perfectly serviceable for that.
The hotel and area seem safe, and I didn't see a single disreputable person wandering around. I was a little worried given that it's an extended stay, and those places are known for attracting an unpleasant element, but the other guests all seemed perfectly normal.
The bathroom was nice and clean, and the room was fine, I didn't like the bed one bit, but maybe that's just me. The kitchen wasn't stunning, but it's always nice to have a full fridge and appliances. The carpet had a red stain near the window... I suspect it was lipstick rather than something more gross, but I easily avoided it anyway. There was some sort of drip that never stopped, but it's these little things that gets a star bumped off of a really cheap hotel room.
Keep in mind that it's extended stay, so there's only maid service once per week. You can get whatever you need from the front desk. I was only there two nights, so I didn't need anything except more coffee for the coffeemaker. I'd definitely stay again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

92 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    21
    11
    12
    27
See reviews for
24
13
7
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013 via mobile

Room was clean and everyone was friendly and helpful! We had a great experience. the room had a full size fridge, microwave, stovetop, iron & board. Our room didn't have hangers but the front desk provided us with a few for our stay. They also had guest laundry, vending machines and multiple access points so you could park closest to your room. There is also an elevator for those staying upstairs. The hotel was close to plenty of shopping and restaurants. I wish it was closer to the beach but I would stay again.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Terre Haute, Indiana
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013 via mobile

I like the price of the hotel, however I do not like the limited service and amenities. The lobby (only optimistically) has two chairs and little else. There is free wi-fi, but the main lobby / checking in area does not have a bathroom or a trashcan. You can find a room marked Trash just down the hall.
The man that checked us in is clearing not happy in his job and does not know to communicate with people.

It's one of those things that you have to decide. How much money do you want to save and is it really worth it?

Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013 via mobile

This is one of the worst places I have stayed. The lady at the front fedk was polite but kept me waiting while she was on the phone for ten minutes before I could check in. I upgraded a few bucks to have better linen and when I arrived the bed had an imprint of someone's head on the pillow. Ewwww. The air condition was incredibly loud and the bed lumpy and uncomfortable. My back hurt all the next day. I wouldn't recommend this place to anyone.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_11525, General Manager at Extended Stay America - Pensacola - University Mall, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
Beth - I received a copy of your review, and wanted to take a moment to personally respond. We strive to provide guests with all the comforts of home, so I am disappointed to hear that you had to wait a bit longer than usual to check-in and that you found a couple of issues within your room. As this hotel’s manager, I can assure you that I have addressed each of these with the entire staff to ensure your experience is not repeated.

Our team is committed to satisfying our guests, so we are very thankful for your feedback. We would love to have another chance to provide you with a better experience the next time you're in town.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Rosa Beach
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

We had an excellent stay here. Rooms were very nice and up to date. Staff was very friendly. Would definitely recommend this hotel and would stay again. Very close to restaurants and shops. Price and location can't be beat.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mohegan Lake
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

We travel a lot, and we look for a good place to stay and a good value. We never heard of Extended Stay of America before and we were pleased with the clean room & the furniture. The staff, and I mean everyone affiliated with the facility, was accommodating and friendly. We stayed for 5 nights and when we needed fresh towels, more pillows, directions, etc. everyone was helpful.
Thanks, we'll be back.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota
Top Contributor
274 reviews 274 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
162 helpful votes 162 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

Stopped here on our way to New Orleans. Right off I-10 and close to restaurants and shops. Rooms are clean and comfortable. Small kitchen also with fridge, stove, and micro. Check your room first for smoke residue as many rooms allow smoking.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Extended Stay America - Pensacola - University Mall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Extended Stay America - Pensacola - University Mall

Address: 809 Bloodworth Lane, Pensacola, FL 32504
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Panhandle > Pensacola
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 61 Hotels in Pensacola
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Extended Stay America - Pensacola - University Mall 2*
Number of rooms: 101
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Extended Stay, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Extended Stay America - Pensacola - University Mall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Extended Stayamerica Pensacola - University Mall Hotel Pensacola
Extended Stay America Pensacola
Extended Stay Pensacola
Pensacola Extended Stay

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Extended Stay America - Pensacola - University Mall, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.