We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfy and Cozy.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Residence Inn Pensacola Downtown

Save Saved
You added Residence Inn Pensacola Downtown to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Residence Inn Pensacola Downtown
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   601 E. Chase Street, Pensacola, FL 32502   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Parking
Ranked #9 of 61 hotels in Pensacola
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Comfy and Cozy.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

We were well accommodated.The staff were both friendly and helpful.The rooms were comfortable.We had an issue with the a/c heating unit.They moved us to an " Up graded room "with a fire place,at no additional cost.Breakfast was part of the plan,and it was very tasty.Marriott,never seems to fail.

Room Tip: Ask for a view of the bay,on the 3rd floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
resinndt, General Manager at Residence Inn Pensacola Downtown, responded to this review, March 8, 2013
Thank you for letting us “get it right”! Our staff is trained to put our guests comfort first. I have shared your comments with our front desk associates and breakfast hostesses. Thanks for choosing Marriott!
Warmest regards,
Paul Martin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

92 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    46
    33
    7
    2
    4
See reviews for
32
23
3
18
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Saratoga Springs NY
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

With the exception of a noisy refridgerator motor that kept us awake, this was a very pleasant expeience. It is located on the edge of the Pensacola Historical District, which we walked through on our way to the fabulous mardi gras parade downtown, about 1/2 mike or so from the hotel. Room was spacious and clean and the breakfast was yummy.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
resinndt, General Manager at Residence Inn Pensacola Downtown, responded to this review, March 8, 2013
Thanks for the heads up about the refrigerator, we have replaced four motors, and they all seem to be purring along. I hope you don’t mind that I shared your comment about the friendliness of our staff. At the Residence Inn, we pride ourselves on treating our guests like they are guests in our own homes. I guess we got it right! Please don’t wait until next Mardi Gras to come see us, beachtime is just around the corner.
Warmest regards,
Paul Martin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

We had a great stay at the Residence Inn in Pensacola -- we were there for the Jimmy Buffett concert and a little R&R. It's location is very neat -- lots of parks around to take long walks and just a street over is the bay. You are within walking distance to the Civic Center and to McGuire's Irish Pub, Carraba's and a few more restaurants. The room was great!!! Kitchen area with table, equipped with coffee and essentials. The bath area was nice and had Paul Mitchell products...very clean as well. One thing I absolutely loved -- there was no governor on the thermostat!!!! That was fantastic! It seems so many hotels are now putting governors on the controls and it never gets cool enough to sleep comfortably. No here...we got to control our temperature. Yay! We had a fireplace in the room, but couldn't get it to work...The breakfast was ok...it needs a little work...seems like some of the food might be frozen and not fresh. The staff couldn't have been any nicer! They were friendly and remembered our names when coming and going -- that means a lot. I would definitely stay here again when in Pensacola...no need to look for a different place -- loved it!

Room Tip: Ask for a room without the mechanical column going through it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
resinndt, General Manager at Residence Inn Pensacola Downtown, responded to this review, March 8, 2013
We loved having all of the “parrotheads” in our hotel. What a great evening for downtown Pensacola. Thank you for your kind words about our hotel and its cleanliness. We have taken steps to upgrade our breakfast: including fresh fruit options, home-made parfaits and a nice warm crock of homemade oatmeal with all the toppings. Daily we make fresh made scrambled eggs and either sausage or bacon. I hope you won’t wait until the next concert, come on down and enjoy breakfast on our newly renovated patio area.
Warmest regards,
Paul Martin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
73 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
298 helpful votes 298 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012 via mobile

Sparkling wintery holiday decorations next to palm trees (& other tropical plants) always brings a smile. (Not a snowflake or snow drift in sight -- brings an even bigger smile.)

Standard, renovated 3-story Residence Inn (RI) -- 70+ suites. Clean, comfortable, consistent RI with updated/ modern burgundy furnishings.


1-Bedroom, Queen Bed, 1st Floor
----------------------------------------------
• One-bedroom suite not as spacious as some RI 1 bedrooms; 500 sq. ft. noted, but *seemed* snugger. Comfortable for 1, cozy for 2, cramped for 3 or 4.

• Quiet suite (facing E. Salamanca St.) considering proximity to roadways. (Nothing bothersome/ distracting; occasionally heard a heavy-footed neighbour above.)

• Living room: separate kitchen table & desk with enough room to spread out. Enough outlets for electronic gadgets. Free internet/WiFi. (Also tiny coat closet to place suitcase in.)

• Flat panel LCD TV in bedroom & living room. Precisely aim/ swivel TV wherever you are in room: desk, table, sofa, kitchenette.

• Kitchenette: 2 burner cooktop (with pots & pans), full-size fridge (with icemaker), microwave (for reheating leftovers) & a much appreciated dishwasher.

• Smallish bathroom with shower/ tub combo. Bathroom sink (outside bathroom door -- actually in bedroom) with enough counter space to spread out toiletries.

• Working iron/ ironing board (in closet) for touching up work shirts/ slacks.

• OK bed, but prefer firmer. (Little visitor (tiny lizard?) popped out from under bed 1 day -- just a quick hello & goodbye. Never saw again.)

• Heating/ cooling system worked without a hitch.


Additional Niceties
-------------------------
• Computer & printer nook (between lobby & gatehouse) to print documents & boarding passes.

• Working washers ($1) & dryers ($1) in guest laundry on 3rd floor (if remembering correctly).

• Modern exercise/ fitness room with elliptical, 2 treadmills, bicycle -- with built-in TV screens. Also weight equipment, towels, water. (Can exercise during wash & dry cycles. Dash between 3rd-floor laundry & 1st-floor exercise room -- as part of workout.)

• Free, on-site self-parking; no problem finding open spot.


Free Breakfasts & Dinners
------------------------------------
• Standard RI Gatehouse breakfasts (hot & cold items) with some variety & healthy options. (More rotation/ variety of hot items would be much appreciated by repeat/ long-term guests. Always hope for plain Greek yogurt, whole grain breads, & greater assortment of fresh, in-season fruit.)

• Depleted breakfast items replenished. Can grab items to go (yoghurt, banana) if pressed for time & need to eat on the go; or if time, sit & eat in comfortable dining area -- enough seating.

• Light evening meals also served at Gatehouse (by lobby desk). (Hoped for better quality meals, which are served at other RIs.) Convenient if you haven't time to prepare your own meals.

• Whether you enjoy the quality of breakfasts & dinners or not, save quite a bit of $ by eating in -- especially if you're feeding several family members. (Meal savings makes this hotel a good value.) Can also appreciate *convenience* -- particularly if you've had long day & are just too tired to go out.


Budget Eating & Shopping Nearby
----------------------------------------------
• For evenings when food isn’t served, 2 nearby options:
-- Outback Steakhouse (4-min. stroll: 0.2 mi./ 0.3 km) on E. Gregory St.) (Outback delivers if you don't feel up to going out.)
-- Carraba's Italian Grill (8-min. stroll: 0.4 mi./ 0.6 km) on N. 9th Ave.)

• Many diverse eateries nearby to suit any palate & budget. Call-in order & pick up on your way home from day’s activities. (Sadly, “Caribbean Soup Company” is no more.)

• If you’ve time/ inclination, food shop & prepare your own meals in fully furnished kitchenette. (Helps keep within spending limits -- especially if staying more than a week.) A 15-minute drive away (approx. 6 mi./ 10 km each) are 3 budget stores/ groceries: WalMart on Mobile Hwy.; WalMart on North Navy Blvd.; Target on Bayou Blvd.


Superb Location
----------------------
Many points of interest & free, picturesque areas to explore (photograph) on foot right outside door:

• Early morning walk or leisurely after-work/ dinner stroll at Bayfront Parkway (SR 196). Visit Veterans Memorial Park (off parkway) & walk toward bridge to see flocks of large sea birds in bay. (Nice view any time of year.)

• Approx. 15-min. drive (8 mi./ 13 km) to Pensacola Beach on Santa Rosa Island. (Scenic view over Pensacola Bay Bridge (Gulf Breeze Parkway) on to island. You might even see/ hear roar of Blue Angels' planes flying in formation overhead.)

• Approx. 20-min. drive (6 mi./ 10 km) to Pensacola International Airport (PNS); no RI airport shuttle.


Recommend *Any* Season
-------------------------------------
Overall, comfortable for short or long stays whether traveling with family or as a couple on holiday or alone on business: winter, spring, summer, fall. Solid suites, meals, services.

Would aim for top floor: no footsteps overhead & perhaps a view (other than shrubbery).

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
resinndt, General Manager at Residence Inn Pensacola Downtown, responded to this review, March 8, 2013
Not only were our decorations sparkling…so was your review! Thanks for taking the time to cover all of our wonderful amenities. I have taken the liberty of sharing your kind words with the front desk…it is important to be up to date on directions and happenings in our city…this makes a big difference for our guests.
I hope you won’t wait until next winter to visit us…summer and the beaches are pretty wonderful down here too!
Warmest regards,
Paul Martin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NC
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

Early December 2012. 2 adults. Business with long breaks.
Location: Easy walking distance to Wendys, a steak house, and other eating places.
Easy walk to the bay for a morning or evening run along the sidewalks. Traffic lights at some of the crossing points.
Can quickly go to I-110, or go to historic/touristy old town, or go to the no toll bridge to Gulf Breeze (then the $1 bridge to the outer island and beaches).
Always got good information from the front desk and other staff. We had no problems with pick-up and deliveries at the Inn with FedEx (and saw UPS there often). All staff were knowledgable about times, distances, costs, and best routes to malls, YMCA, hospitals, military bases, sporting venues, etc.
Mid-week evening meals were substantial, e.g., baked potato and chilli, build-it-yourself 'burgers. Always, there was something extra: sweet potato fries one night, 2 types of meatballs another night. Breakfast had the usual scrambled eggs and do-it-yourself waffles, plus variety; depending on the day: turkey Candian bacon with egg and cheese, sausage patti or links (spicy), hash on a shingle, different potato dishes, grits, mellons and other fruits.
Some thought was put into the lay-out of the rooms in terms of compartmenting sitting area, kitchen, bed, and bath areas; and doing it with a minimum of floor to ceiling walls. TV was on a swivel base on top of a waist high set of drawers dividing the bed area from the sitting area (spin the TV to the sitting area or to the bed).
Writing desk with "office" chair. convertable couch. Recliner chair. ottoman (that slides under the low table). small kitchen table. microwave, 2 burner stove. dishwasher, refrigerator. Dishes, drinkware, pots and pans, coffee maker. 6 drawer cabinet (under the TV). Wide bathroom counter with one sink and storage. Tub/shower and toilet in their own room with door. Standard size double closet with mirrors on the 2 sliding doors.
Just enough furniture in the room for evening work sessions. There were 2 of us and we did not get in each other's way. The room may be okay for 4 adults working at the tables, but with children or teens this layout may be tight. There is a pool, tennis court, exercise room and spacious sitting room/breakfast room with TV off the lobby, but not enough to keep active teens interested. This last opinion is based on overheard conversations.

Room Tip: Bottle water available at breakfast- no charge if you take an extra for the day.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
resinndt, General Manager at Residence Inn Pensacola Downtown, responded to this review, March 8, 2013
Your profile pic bears an uncanny resemblance to Czar Nicholas II of Russia. Hopefully you felt like royalty in our hotel. Thanks for taking the time to cover all of our wonderful features and giving us high marks. It’s guests like you that make our work so rewarding. I hope that if your work brings you back to Pensacola we will again have a chance to “get it right.”
Also, we do have bottled water at breakfast as you suggested!
Warmest regards,
Paul Martin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

There are a few decent places to stay in Pensacola, however if you are looking for a convenient location close to downtown, the beaches and not too far from NAS Pensacola and the airport --- then you have found the right place to stay. We always choose Residence Inn when we come home to visit. Rooms are clean -- a little crowded with three adults, a child and dog -- but it is manageable and worth it. The staff is super friendly. Want to recognize one of the employees in particular a kind lady named Tonya that went over and beyond the call of duty to make sure that all our needs were met. When she found out it was my daughter's birthday she asked the front desk to have something special done to help us celebrate. The General Manager arranged for "O Snap Cupcakes" be delivered to our room. These were by far some of the most delicious cupcakes we have ever eaten. (Thank you again for your generosity). How thoughtful and sweet for the GM and staff to make sure my daughter's birthday was extra special. There are some great places to eat in the surrounding area. Outback is right across the street and the world famous McGuire's Irish Pub is a short walk away. We are always pleased with Residence Inn and will continue to choose this location.

Room Tip: Consider getting a two room suite of you have more than two adults in your party.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
resinndt, General Manager at Residence Inn Pensacola Downtown, responded to this review, March 8, 2013
Thanks for taking the time to write a stellar review of our hotel. As you noted, we are located in downtown Pensacola, near great restaurants and entertainment, as well as being convenient to Pensacola Naval Air Station. Also I will let Tonya know of your kind words about her “memorable moment”. If your travel plans ever bring you back to the Emerald Coast I hope you will consider us your “home away from home”.
Warmest regards,
Paul Martin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012 via mobile

Just spent 4 nights and it was very nice except for a couple of minor problems. Cable went out and unable to watch the games in the room (Thanksgiving Day-channel 10). Moved to the lobby to watch.

Room was too small for three adults (1 bedroom suite with uncomfortable sofa bed). Guess we will need to splurge for a bigger suite at a hefty price increase next time!

Breakfast food was the real issue: cereal was stale, bananas were overripe and milk tasted sour. Other food options was processed and flavorless. Why not offer fresh food? We ended up at Publix to purchase breakfast food to eat in the room.

Staff was very friendly and helpful. We will be back next year!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
resinndt, General Manager at Residence Inn Pensacola Downtown, responded to this review, January 4, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your recent stay at our hotel. I'm glad that the staff made you feel at home and I was happy that you will return next year. As you indicated, we do have a suite available, if this size/configuration will be more comfortable for you.

I am so sorry about your experience with our breakfast which typically gets very positive reviews. Please let our management staff know if you have any concerns during your stay in the future so we can ensure your stay is beyond satisfactory. We always strive to have an award winning selection of make your own waffles, scrambed eggs, bacon or sausage, hash browns, yogurt, breakfast pasteries...we obviously missed the mark with your cereal...please accept my apology. I have addressed your feedback with the kitchen and I am certain we will "get it right"! Again thanks for letting us know how we did.
Warmest regards, Paul Martin General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Residence Inn Pensacola Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Pensacola Downtown

Also Known As:
Residence Inn Pensacola Downtown Hotel
Residence Inn Pensacola Downtown Hotel Pensacola
Residence Inn Pensacola
Pensacola Residence Inn
Address: 601 E. Chase Street, Pensacola, FL 32502
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Panhandle > Pensacola
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Family Hotel in Pensacola
#14 Business Hotel in Pensacola
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Pensacola Downtown 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Tingo, Marriott, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Residence Inn Pensacola Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Residence Inn Pensacola Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.