We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming, Comfortable, and Convenient Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Crowne Plaza Hotel Pensacola Grand

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Crowne Plaza Hotel Pensacola Grand to your Saves list
Crowne Plaza Hotel Pensacola Grand
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   200 E Gregory St, Pensacola, FL 32502   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #18 of 61 Hotels in Pensacola
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Atlanta, GA
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Charming, Comfortable, and Convenient Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

My boyfriend and I decided to book a last minute beach trip over Labor Day weekend, 2013. We literally decided to go on the Thursday before the holiday. Of course, there were no hotels available on Pensacola Beach, but having been to Pensacola once before, I recalled that it was a pretty quick ride from downtown to the beach. The Crown Plaza was one of just a few hotels that actually had a room, so we booked.

This hotel is lovely and was perfect for our needs. Upon check-in, we were warmly welcomed, and even though it was about an hour and a half before "official" check-in time, they managed to find a beautiful corner room for us. This room had two walls worth of windows and it was on the front of the building, so the sound of the train was somewhat muffled. That being said, full disclosure - I grew up near train tracks and currently live within hearing distance of trains. Thus, I didn't find the sound of the train to be jarring or overly disruptive to my sleep. Also, I think that of the two nights we were there, we only heard the train once.

Back to check-in, it was quick, easy, and helpful. We received a map of the area as well as detailed instructions on how to get to the beach. The reception rep also gave us a local newsletter listing different "goings on" at the beach for the weekend. She even made recommendations as to where to go for a more quiet beach experience vs. the crowds and more lively experience along the main beach. It was a combination of "check-in" and orientation session.

As mentioned, the rooms are lovely, as is the hotel in general. If you like history, old photos, and remnants of a bygone era, the lobby and 1st floor corridors of this hotel are very interesting. Don't expect shiny, modern touches in the lobby, as the whole idea was to retain the charm and style of the old train station, which they have done. The rooms on the other hand, are very modern with comfortable, plush beds, nice pillows, and good lighting. The bathroom was spacious and actually had a separate vanity area outside of the main bathroom.

The drive to the beach was maybe 15 minutes tops, and that was on a holiday weekend. It's an easy drive without a lot of twists and turns. Although we were aware that the hotel was within walking distance to many of the downtown venues and activities, we never got a chance to explore any of those. This was a beach trip and we stayed on the boardwalk until late each night.

The beach is nice in terms of size and room to "spread out." Regrettably, we caught it on a weekend when there was a fair amount of small pieces of seaweed-type debris in the water, so the gulf water was dark and greenish - not the clear, pretty blue color that it sometimes displays. Nonetheless, the water was warm, the floor of the gulf was soft (vs. rocky), and thankfully, we didn't see any jellyfish, which are often prevalent in this area. There are lifeguards on the beach, and I think you can rent chairs and umbrellas, but it looked like most people had brought their own, which I recommend. There are restaurants, ice cream parlors, gift shops, bars, and public restrooms along the beach and on the boardwalk. Over the Labor Day weekend, the city sponsored a Jamaican Festival on the boardwalk with free live reggae music in the evenings and vendors selling Jamaican food and jewelry. We were also pleasantly surprised to find that there were fireworks over the beach on that Saturday night. It seems that the city really invests in showing tourists a good time.

We can't make a lot of recommendations regarding restaurants other than first off, to confirm that the hotel restaurant is just so-so and I would not recommend it. It seemed to be understaffed on the first morning we were there (a Saturday) and the gentleman at the door (I think it was Robert) was not what I'd call friendly and engaging. It seemed that he was seating guests, serving as the waiter, AND clearing tables. He neglected to give us the option of the breakfast buffet, and we didn't realize a buffet was available until we had already placed our orders. When I saw the buffet, I said, "Can you tell us about the buffet?" And he gave a flippant response something to the effect of, "A buffet is a place with a food line where people can select what they want." Maybe he thought he was funny. So I said, "No, is the buffet available for US?" And then he was like, "Oh, I'm sorry! I didn't tell you about the buffet?" At any rate, we waited a VERY long time for our food and it was mediocre at best. We then waited a long time to get our check. The next morning, we thought we'd try the buffet. NOPE. It's not available on Sundays. What's the logic of THAT? We left and went to good old Waffle House up the street. Secondly, for dinners, we ate both nights at Hemingways Island Grill, located on the boardwalk. This place is fabulous - it's Cuban/Caribbean food and great drinks. They have a lovely back porch that's out over the water. Once we ate there the first night, we wanted to go back. So that concludes my recommendation about "where to dine."

In conclusion, the Crown Plaza Grand Pensacola was an excellent choice. We even booked it by default, as there were very few rooms available for our last minute trip. We were pleasantly surprised by the hotel and all aspects of the Pensacola/pensacola Beach area. I recommend the Crown Plaza very highly. If you go, have fun.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

250 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    90
    87
    48
    14
    11
See reviews for
52
61
11
65
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Devils Tower, Wyoming
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

Even as we entered the Lobby, pushing our bicycles, the staff embraced us...and our Souls relaxed. Last March, as we bicycled from Houston, TX to Jacksonville, FL we stayed at a broad assortment of B&B's, Motels, Hotels and other accommodations. Each had their own Special Charm, however, the Crowne Plaza won our Hearts. From the moment that we entered until the second that we left, we luxuriated in the Fine Appointments & Accommodations and the Fine pampering of the Entire Staff. Everyone was Amazingly Friendly & Helpful and Happily Accommodating to us and our bicycles. The room was Heaven and had a Wonderful view of the area. For dinner, the Hotel provides a shuttle van, to any restaurant that You would like (and pick-up after the meal). That night there was a show at the nearby Civic Center and the crowd drifted to the Hotel bar after the event. The Crowne Plaza Lobby is graced with a Lovely Yamaha Grand Piano. The regular pianist was NOT playing that night, so I played for a few hours, to everyone's delight. The Hotel staaff even provided me with a huge brandy snifter, for tips. Not only did that pay for the room, there were Smiles all around!!! We will surely return to the Crowne Plaza, in a few months, as we pedal the bicycles coast-to-coast. The anticipation of staying there will be a Wonderful Reward for several thousand miles of pedaling !!!

Room Tip: Friendliest and most accommodating staff in the World !!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

A lovely hotel converted from an old train station which is still a part of the hotel. You are close to all the downtown amenities, restaurants..

Our room was large and quiet. Lobby was beautifully decorated for Christmas.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on an upper floor facing the bay which you will be able to see if you do.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carthage
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

We had one of the best overall experiences at any hotel we have ever stayed in! Great staff clean hotel, and wonderful amenities. The only downside was the restaurant it was ok but with so many great restaurants in the area it could be better. We did hear the train but it came by during the day and never caused any issues to us.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jackson, Mississippi, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

This was our first time staying at a Crowne Plaza property and I must say we were thoroughly impressed! My boyfriend and I made this our first stop on my 4 day birthday celebration. The room was very comfortable and clean. The staff was the friendliest that I have ever encountered. Everyone was so helpful and nice. Ms. Biko and the staff at the front desk were very welcoming and even let my guy be the "IHG Member of the Day"! They wrote his name on the dry erase board and even took a picture with him. The 1912 Restaurant was really nice too. We had breakfast there and the Whistle Stop Benedict was HEAVENLY!!! We would definitely choose this property again and we highly recommend this property. The friendliness of the staff really made the experience!! Thanks, Biko and Staff! Hope to see you again soon!

Room Tip: The view from the 15th floor is amazing!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntsville
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013 via mobile

Beautiful, restored lobby and retail area. Rooms are clean, but nothing lavish. The hotel was full on Friday night and Room service did not get to us until after 4. We were back from a long day of walking around downtown, so we didn't want to be disturbed. Don't even think about the restaurant, the convenience is not worth poor service or the time it will take to get served.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

The staff were wonderful and very helpful. The hotel is close to downtown, shops and restaurants. The main complaint we had was the hotel is next to a railroad track and it was right outside our room. We stayed 3 nights. The first night the train ran 4 times and the engineer sat on his horn. Last night was the worse . The room was small and the bathroom was so small you has to sit on the toilet before you could close the door . I would not recommend this hotel

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Pensacola Grand, responded to this review, August 30, 2013
Dear Roseandcarl,

Thank you for taking the time to express your thoughts and concerns. We so pleased you liked the convenient location of our hotel in the area and found our staff to be wonderful. We would like to apologize for the issues you had with your room accommodations and the experience you had with the outside noise which affected your stay negatively. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. Thank you for staying and we hope you give us another chance to make your stay as best as it can be.

Sincerely,

Anthony M
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Crowne Plaza Hotel Pensacola Grand? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Hotel Pensacola Grand

Address: 200 E Gregory St, Pensacola, FL 32502
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Panhandle > Pensacola
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Romantic Hotel in Pensacola
#13 Business Hotel in Pensacola
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Crowne Plaza Hotel Pensacola Grand 3.5*
Number of rooms: 210
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Crowne Plaza Pensacola Grand Hotel, Pensacola s premier upscale hotel! Our hotel is located on the site of the Historic L&N Railroad Passenger Depot , which was built in 1912. The depot has been restored and now houses our lobby, CAVU lounge, 1912 Restaurant, Pandora's Skin & Beauty studio, The Tea Party gift shop, meeting rooms and the Grand Ballroom; creating charming ambiance. Our fifteen story, glass, guest room tower attached to the train depot offers breath taking views of Pensacola Bay and Historic Downtown Pensacola . We are pleased to offer the Crowne Plaza Sleep Advantage package in every room featuring comfortable new beds, guaranteed wake-up calls and sleep amenities. The Crowne Plaza Pensacola Grand Hotel is just off of I-110, Gregory St. in the prestigious downtown district, just 10 minutes away from Pensacola Regional Airport (PNS) and conveniently located next door to the Pensacola Civic Center . Ranking 7th in Overall Customer Satisfaction in all of Crowne Plazas-worldwide; we know that you will be thrilled with the service you will receive. Businesses near hotel: Solutia, International Paper, Gulf Power, Andrew s Institute Attractions near hotel: Pensacola Beach, Naval Aviation Museum, Seville Quarter/Seville Square ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, EasyToBook and Hotels.com so you can book your Crowne Plaza Hotel Pensacola Grand reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Pensacola
Pensacola Crowne Plaza

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crowne Plaza Hotel Pensacola Grand, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.