We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice but no energy.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Crowne Plaza Hotel Pensacola Grand

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Crowne Plaza Hotel Pensacola Grand to your Saves list
Crowne Plaza Hotel Pensacola Grand
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   200 E Gregory St, Pensacola, FL 32502   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #18 of 61 Hotels in Pensacola
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Nice but no energy.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013 via mobile

I guess the best way to describe it as a gold coin that's lost it's shine. They have done a nice job of maintaining and keeping up to date without losing the original charm of the train depot but there is something missing. The energy of the place falls flat and at times you feel like you are the only one here. Amazingly quiet to be right next to the interstate. I would stay here again when you need an inland hotel.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

250 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    90
    87
    48
    14
    11
See reviews for
52
61
11
65
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

This hotel located in a renovated passenger train station manages to keep its charm through the years. And this is helped by the friendly hardworking staff. The restaurant dining did not impress but the overall experience was fine.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

You will see I have written several previous reviews on The Crowne Plaza Pensacola Grand but I am compelled to do so again given our great stay. I will begin with the staff. They are all incredibly friendly and welcoming. Everyone from the front desk to the bartenders to the housekeeping team is on point. The rooms are large and the views of Pensacola Bay are unlike any other hotel in the area. I recommend you pay the extra cost and stay on one of the higher floors.
Since 2012 all of the bedding has been updated. The beds are incredibly comfortable. I've said it before and I will say it again, stay at The Pensacola Grand. You will be very pleased with the hotel, definitely the staff and the excellent location.

Room Tip: Higher level floors offer great views of Pensacola Bay. Upgrade to a corner room...it's worth t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans, Louisiana
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

The hotel is conveniently located and provides easy access to restaurants, etc. and is right off I-110. The rooms were clean and comfortable. The low rating for the staff results from the room not being cleaned! I was there for 3 days and had placed the "Do not disturb" sign on the door the first night of my stay. I left the room at 11:30 am the next morning to go to brunch, then did went to the beach. I definitely removed the "Do not disturb" sign when I left the room, and the housekeeping staff were down the hall from my room. When I returned around 6 pm, the sign had been replaced and the room was not made up, nor were there any new towels. Upon calling the front desk, I was informed that housekeeping will not make up the room if there is a "Do not disturb" sign on the door. But I had removed the sign and obviously the staff replaced it to get out of cleaning the room. I was told that housekeeping does not come back to a room after making their first morning pass, which implies that you must be up and out of the room before they come by! I paid good money for the room (almost $200 per night) and I think I am entitled to sleep late, as well as have the room cleaned. This housekeeping policy is not stated anywhere online nor in the room, so make sure if you're going to stay here, you get up early or be prepared to clean you own room!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Pensacola Grand, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
Dear GLEN S,

Thank you for your feedback. It is our goal to consistently provide superior service and accommodations at our hotel and your comments are very important to us. I am very sorry for the overall dissatisfaction you had experienced during your stay particularly with housekeeping. Please be assured that all comments are acted upon and used to improve the products and service we provide to our guests.

If there is anything we can do to make your next stay more comfortable, please do not hesitate to ask the Manager on Duty.

Sincerely,

Connie D
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auburn, Alabama
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

We stayed one night just for a Pensacola beach visit and had a pleasant stay. If you are a lite sleeper, might not enjoy that the hotel is close to the road and train tracks. The hotel was very nice on the inside, and if you get a high enough room, it has a nice view to the bay. Short drive to the Pensacola beach. Thought it offered continental breakfast, but it just had coffee. Overall good place to stay with the family or friends.

Room Tip: Choose a bay side view and go to the upper floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Pensacola Grand, responded to this review, June 23, 2013
Dear Willie R,

Thank you for your review of our hotel regarding your stay.

It was real pleasure to learn that your stay with us was such a pleasant one. Your opinion, as every single guest, is very important to us and serves us as an advise, reward and motivation for the future.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Sincerely,

Dhan M
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Longwood, Florida
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

The room I had crisp, clean sheets, a very comfortable bed, and nice bath. Lots of soap/shampoo/massage amenities provided in small containers, including a night spray which was great.
Lobby and bar need freshening with much better lighting, flooring, seating. Shop-worn would be the proper description of the lobby and bar.
Restaurant in the hotel was superb for breakfast. Nice morning greeting, super-prompt coffee/order/delivery, and excellent attentiveness.
Parking lot to the front desk is a considerable distance at night because of various locked doors, and security was notified of suspect activity in parking lot.
Would be happy to stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gainesville, Florida
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Spent a night here recently while in town for business and I was regretting the fact that I haven't been staying here in the past. I was pleasantly surprised at how nice this facility is. It's a very nice setting for a hotel,and a very nicely decorated lobby too. Didn't try the restaurant that's on site since I was drawn to McGuire's right down the street, but it looked nice and the menu looked good as well. Did stop in at the bar in the lobby,and it was nice with friendly staff,and good beer selection on tap. The rooms are nicer than average hotel rooms ,and I got upgraded to the 14th floor for being an elite priority member. Staff at front desk were more than nice when I was checking in,and went out of their way to welcome me . Nicer all around than average Holiday Inn's and I will certainly stay again when in the area.

Room Tip: Take ear plugs if you're a light sleeper due to the trains passing nearby.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Crowne Plaza Hotel Pensacola Grand? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Hotel Pensacola Grand

Address: 200 E Gregory St, Pensacola, FL 32502
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Panhandle > Pensacola
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Romantic Hotel in Pensacola
#13 Business Hotel in Pensacola
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Crowne Plaza Hotel Pensacola Grand 3.5*
Number of rooms: 210
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Crowne Plaza Pensacola Grand Hotel, Pensacola s premier upscale hotel! Our hotel is located on the site of the Historic L&N Railroad Passenger Depot , which was built in 1912. The depot has been restored and now houses our lobby, CAVU lounge, 1912 Restaurant, Pandora's Skin & Beauty studio, The Tea Party gift shop, meeting rooms and the Grand Ballroom; creating charming ambiance. Our fifteen story, glass, guest room tower attached to the train depot offers breath taking views of Pensacola Bay and Historic Downtown Pensacola . We are pleased to offer the Crowne Plaza Sleep Advantage package in every room featuring comfortable new beds, guaranteed wake-up calls and sleep amenities. The Crowne Plaza Pensacola Grand Hotel is just off of I-110, Gregory St. in the prestigious downtown district, just 10 minutes away from Pensacola Regional Airport (PNS) and conveniently located next door to the Pensacola Civic Center . Ranking 7th in Overall Customer Satisfaction in all of Crowne Plazas-worldwide; we know that you will be thrilled with the service you will receive. Businesses near hotel: Solutia, International Paper, Gulf Power, Andrew s Institute Attractions near hotel: Pensacola Beach, Naval Aviation Museum, Seville Quarter/Seville Square ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, EasyToBook and Hotels.com so you can book your Crowne Plaza Hotel Pensacola Grand reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Pensacola
Pensacola Crowne Plaza

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crowne Plaza Hotel Pensacola Grand, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.