We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Value!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Navy Lodge Pensacola

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Pensacola
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Navy Lodge Pensacola
Save
You added Navy Lodge Pensacola to your Saves list
Naval Air Station Pensacola, Bldg 3875, Pensacola, FL 32508-5217   |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Noblesville, Indiana
2 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great Value!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2014

Our family of 4 spent spring break at the Navy Lodge Pensacola. We had a wonderful stay! Our room was clean and the staff was very helpful. There was so much to do on and off the base! Places we visited were the Naval Museum, Fort Barrancas, Pensacola Beach, Blue Wahoos Stadium, McGuire's Restaurant, and much more! We will visit again!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

99 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    49
    35
    11
    1
    3
See reviews for
48
24
8
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
North America
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2014

This was our first visit to this location. Arrived to find the lobby totally under renovation which is a good thing. When updated, I was told the lodge will serve hot breakfasts instead of the "brown bag" that is normally had. Check in was quick and friendly. The room was okay, it was a little worn but everything worked and seemed clean. Location was nice, just a few feet down a hill was the beach. Could not really see much from the first floor but I would imagine the upper floors had a better view of the sand and water. Nice sliding glass doors out to a patio area was a nice touch. The kitchenette was a nice feature and came in handy on more than one occasion.

It would have been a great help if the lodge had put some maps and more information in the room binders, very little is in there to assist people with base and local area information. The location is across the street from the Navy Aviation Museum, a nice place to visit. It is also just down the road from an old fort which was only open one day, Saturday, and a few blocks from a lighthouse which is open most every day. The base is a huge training base for the Navy, you would think that there would be a lot of things to support all the trainees. Sadly, there was little. The facilities in the training areas seemed small and had little to offer, the gas station only sold regular. The permanent party side of the base is miles away from here and a little hard to find. There you will find a large BX, Commissary, etc.... We tried to locate the bowling center but failed to do so, the gate guards were of little help with directions.

The first morning breakfast was organized well, many meals lined up, hot coffee, etc. The next morning when we arrived at 0730 there were only about 10 bags available and all the coffee was cold. It seemed as though what was there was a left over from the day before. No way does fresh made coffee get ice cold in those dispensers in an hour. Very disappointing. The next day things were back to normal.

Not only was the lobby under reconstruction, there were a few rooms that were as well, Large trucks were parked in various areas blocking sidewalks, driving paths and into flower beds, workers were throwing drywall/debris from upper levels to lower levels. It was rather noisy during the day and into the early evening, a little messy, and rather inconvenient. It is good that they care enough to keep the rooms up though. Probably a bad time of the year to stay here, since it is an off season time and they probably get what they can done now before summer arrives.

The checkout attendant said very little, when provided with my room number she just printed the receipt, asked me to sign it and mentioned to have a good day. Would have been nice to have had a "good morning" and ask about the stay and any issues.

Overall it was a nice stay but certainly not outstanding in any way, much more average than anything. The price is right for the area, when the hot breakfast area is finished I hope they attend to it better than with the current bags. I would probably stay there again if in the area.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chazy, New York, United States
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2014

This is my second stay here and recommend it highly. Rooms have full kitchens, comfortable beds, clean...everything you need. Beach view from rooms, hammocks, outside grills. Easy walk to beautiful beach. Blue Angels fly overhead on occasion. Unfortunately lobby was being remodeled when I arrived so a little inconvenient. Not sure why the remodel as it was very nice when I was here in November. Staff very friendly.

Room Tip: Try to get the 4th floor. Had heavy footsteps overhead.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gulfport, Mississippi
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2014

This is the worst Navy Lodge I've stayed at. It is a ghetto version of the Navy Lodge. It needs some serious renovation. It's filthy. The elevator had trash in it and no ventilation, so it smelled. The trash cans in the outside walkways were overflowing. The stair wells had litter. I felt like I was in the projects. Please do not be fooled by the beautiful reception area! Sorry Navy Lodge, but this this paticular hotel is sub par. Military members, their family members and government employees deserve better. Thumbs down.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

We recently spent a few days at the Navy Lodge Pensacola and it was great. The rooms were roomy and clean. The view of the beach was incredible. We loved the balcony! Friendly staff and great location. And the hammock grove was so relaxing! I highly recommend!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

Our stay at Navy Lodge was wonderful. It was very clean and spacious. The staff was very helpful and friendly. We had a kitchenette with a full size fridge, 2 burner stove top, and microwave, plus there are grills to use. We were traveling with my daughter's cat, so that she could visit with her, which was a plus!!! VERY family friendly! There is also a laundry room on site, which helped with not having to come home with loads and loads of laundry. Beach towels are available.

Room Tip: Better view from the upper floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Muncie, Indiana
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

We had a nice stay here while visiting our son who is in school on the base. Rate was very very reasonable. Only dissapointed because all of the rooms in this lodge face the Pensacola Bay, but you can't see anything from the large trees in the way. THey need to go in and top the trees off, because i think it is an absolute shame that these trees are so tall and overgrown that they block the view. The older woman at the front desk who checked us in gave us no information about the place - she needs to offer information pertaining to the breakfast routine, where coffee is located, etc. Young red haired girl at the desk was more interested in watching the television than she was answering some of my questions. She could have been a little more service friendly. It would have been great if they had a pool. Cleaning staff did an excellent job every day and were very friendly. I got the impression that because there price is so reasonable, they don't need to go over and above for anything else.

Room Tip: Ask for a room close to lobby. Also, note that the they do have a little store where you can pick u...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Navy Lodge Pensacola? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Navy Lodge Pensacola

Address: Naval Air Station Pensacola, Bldg 3875, Pensacola, FL 32508-5217
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Panhandle > Pensacola
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 18 Specialty Lodging in Pensacola
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 97
Also Known As:
Navy Lodge Pensacola Hotel Pensacola
Navy Hotel Pensacola

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Navy Lodge Pensacola, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.