We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice quiet stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard Pensacola Downtown

Save Saved
You added Courtyard Pensacola Downtown to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Courtyard Pensacola Downtown
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   700 East Chase Street, Pensacola, FL 32502   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Parking
Ranked #23 of 61 hotels in Pensacola
Pensacola, Florida
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Nice quiet stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012

We enjoyed our stay here. We were only at the hotel for one night. The front desk staff were very helpful at check-in and providing basic directions to nearby attractions. Our room had a mild odor but other than that it was very spacious and clean. The location is also very convenient to the beach and downtown night activities.

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

80 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    34
    21
    17
    6
    2
See reviews for
17
18
11
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

We are loyal Marriott guests so we scrutinize any weaknessess in the Marriott's. As others have mentioned, it is close to a couple of good restaurants, relatively close to the beach (across the bridge) and has an exceptional fitness center - much more equipment than similar hotels. Staff was wonderful as most Marriott staff are. We stayed there serveral years ago and the facility looks as new and clean now as it did then. The two problems we encountered that will probably have look for another property in PNS in the future is the 1) comfort of the beds - rock hard and 2) panhandlers/threat of crime. We were approached by a panhandler in the hotel parking lot. The hotel employees a security guard to watch the parking lot.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2012

My first time staying there and i highly recommend this hotel. The staff was great, the hotel was in excellent condition and was very clean. I did enjoy the swimming pool.They served great breakfast and has a lounge. There were a few restaurant in walking distance and it"s not too far from down town. I would not trade this hotel for another. When I am visiting again i will spend my time at the Courtyard and would recommend it to my friends.

Room Tip: "Rooms on the south side are quieter"
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auburn Al
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2012

The Courtyard by Mariott is on Chase Street in downtown Pensacola. It is not listed in the Courtyards schedules. We stayed there in May of 2012 for two nights. It is small, but oh so nice and clean; easy access to everything; quiet, great service and the view is amazing. I would recommend this one to everyone.

Please add this one to your list of hotels.

Thank you.

Room Tip: Great view on the East side of the building
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CMH
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

We are loyal Marriott clients. We own a Marriott Vacation Club week and recently signed up for Marriott's exclusive exchange program. We also stay, nearly exclusively, at Marriott properties whenever we travel, which is 5-7 times per year. This stay was well below our expectations. The first night in this location resulted in our room not being cleaned for 2 days. The explanation we received was that they simply "forgot" to clean our room. They also forgt the room next door. What hotel forgets to clean more than one occupied rooms? They did comp us one night, which was nice but the experience was still poor. The next day they called our room at 9 am to ask if we wanted our room cleaned. Of course we did but did they need to call at 9 am to confirm that? It seemed as if they operated with the employee needs in mind NOT the guests, we asked for extra towels and they were never provided. There was a$34 charge on our bill which we had to wait until the next morning to have taken off since the staff the night before told us they were unable to remove and we needed to speak with the staff that came in at 6 am. This property simply was not up to what we expect from Marriott.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
daveeames
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2012

I stay in hotels 100 days per year. This is my second Courtyard experience this year and bottom line, it is my last if there is an alternative. Both had virtually identical issues.

Many of the reviews for this property are quite good. I thought it was overpriced and I noticed a lot of small things wrong as a result. At $200. per night I can stay at some pretty upscale places.Here are the small issues:

1. Lobby coffee, I asked if it was fresh, was told yes. It wasn't it was cold. I called down to the desk and told them and an hour and a half later when some guests arrived we poured a cup of coffeee and it was still cold.
2. Broken toilet seat. In all fairness, I didn't call to ask that they replace it. I hate having to stay out of the way while someone works on the room. However, it would have been impossible for the housekeeper cleaning the room not to notice, the whole seat comes off in your hand when you try to put it up, and the housekeeper didn't have it fixed.
3. Pillows. I requested extra feather pillows. On a king that meant a total of four small pillows, three prison grade lumpy foam and one feather.
4. Employee noise. The employees either yell at each other across the room or keep radios too loud. At breakfast this was exceptionally irritating, I was in the lobby while they set up and four employees were yelling to each other as loud ad they could while I tried to watch the news.

Room Tip: If you request close to an elevator your WiFi will be blocked by the shaft!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntsville, Alabama
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2012

Hotel is in great location and only a short drive to beach. There are a couple of restaurants within walking distance. If you like to workout..fitness center is very roomy compaired to most hotels that size. There are like 4 treadmills...4 eliptical machines...benches for weights...losts of dumdbells...other machinces to work out legs...chest..back and stuff. Also, the bar inside hotel...happy hour 5 to 7...very nice and a way of chatting with other folks. I worked out and then went to bar lol. Pool looked nice..didn't get in...outdoor lounge area was relaxing especially watching the soon to be storm roll in. Breakfast buffett was good...lots to choose from and also a chef there to make omeletes and stuff if you want that...I stuffed myself and spent less than $10.00 on buffett..not including tip. Very good value though and while I was getting food the woman asked me what I wanted to drink..I said coffee and by the time I got my food and was ready to sit down..my coffee was waiting on my table..that was a plus because before food I always like a few doses of coffee lol. All of the hotel staff just seemed so happy...and talked with people...and joked...and cut up...the staff was really refreshing! Wish I could have stayed longer.

Room Tip: ask for a high floor and a view of the gulf. I was first floor and had view of parking lot...though...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Courtyard Pensacola Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Pensacola Downtown

Also Known As:
Courtyard Pensacola Downtown Hotel
Courtyard Pensacola Downtown Hotel Pensacola
Courtyard Pensacola
Pensacola Courtyard
Pensacola Marriott
Address: 700 East Chase Street, Pensacola, FL 32502
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Panhandle > Pensacola
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 61 hotels in Pensacola
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Pensacola Downtown 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Marriott, Travelocity, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Courtyard Pensacola Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Courtyard Pensacola Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.