We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely delicious!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Type by Chef Blake Rushing

Type by Chef Blake Rushing
501 N 9th Ave, Pensacola, FL 32501
(850) 466-5181
Website
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Type by Chef Blake Rushing is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #29 of 545 Restaurants in Pensacola
Cuisines: American, Contemporary
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Stuttgart
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Absolutely delicious!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2014

We stayed in this charming place yesterday night with friends from Pensacola and were absolutely excited! Great ambiance and excellent finest european style food which we did not expect to find. Served by friendly, qualified and attentive waiter - we'll be back upon our next trip - 100% guaranteed! A must try!

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    26
    6
    2
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Jamestown, Rhode Island
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Outstanding!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2014

My daughter and I had an amazing dinner experience at Type. The black drum was cooked to perfection. The crispy skin and tenderness of the fish were simply delicious. My daughter had the pasta and meatballs and couldn't stop raving about how good it was. Ordered the blackberry cobbler for dessert. Loved it too. Looking forward to our next meal here.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“First Class Dinner”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2014 credit card Amex Card Member Review

Chef Blake and his team presented a top notch dining experience. The ingredients were at the peak of freshness. Chef Blake has really honed his skills to combine both traditional and modern techniques to make memorable experiences for his guests. Interior design and sommelier were also great!

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pensacola Beach, Florida
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Hands down best food experience in Pensacola”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2014 via mobile

Ate here this evening on a recommendation from a neighbor and were pleasantly surprised to say the least! We started With the fritters with truffle oil and were blown away. Beet salad is a must and the goat cheese mousse was a great spin. Main dishes were good size and the desserts (I had the banana cake, my fiancé had the pine nut peach basket) were amazing. The thought that went into each dish was very apparent and the service was fantastic. Honestly the best dining experience we have had in Pensacola since relocating here for work 6 months ago. Grand Marlin and other "fine dining" establishments have their place, but Type is a notch above.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pensacola, Florida
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Type "A" Resturant!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2014

We were thrilled to see Blake Rushing open his own restaurant. His menu is filled with creative choices and top-quality ingredients. Dishes are well-prepared and beautifully plated. On a recent visit, we enjoyed White Onion Soup with a light cream broth -- silky and flavorful. A main course of Steelhead Trout with Shitake & Oyster Mushrooms, Sweet Potato Puree and Fried Kale had extraordinary balance. Beef Bourguignon garnished with a Parsley Foam was also exceptionally good, while Basil Crème Brûlée to finish was creamy perfection - an absolute dream.

Service can be a bit uneven at times, although the wait staff are friendly and make a serious effort to please diners. We’ve also had trouble with reservation mix-ups on several occasions. But once you sit down and the first plate arrives -- always a thoughtful, flavor-packed Amuse Bouche -- all is forgiven!

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Type by Chef Blake Rushing also viewed

Pensacola, Florida Panhandle
Pensacola, Florida Panhandle
 
Pensacola, Florida Panhandle
Pensacola, Florida Panhandle
 

Been to Type by Chef Blake Rushing? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Type by Chef Blake Rushing, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.