We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not well known by tourists but worth finding.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Marina Oyster Barn

Marina Oyster Barn
505 Bayou Blvd, Pensacola, FL
850-433-0511
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #109 of 580 Restaurants in Pensacola
Price range: $0 - $15
Cuisines: Seafood
Restaurant details
Gulf Breeze, FL
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Not well known by tourists but worth finding.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

Great place for oysters. Also has good fried crab claws (a local favorite). Small family owned restaurant that luckily survived Hurricane Ivan. It is one of Pensacola's landmarks.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

102 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    46
    31
    9
    8
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Pensacola, Florida
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Hole in the wall feel. Best grilled scallops in Pensacola!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012

My wife and I tried this place out when we bought one of those coupon books that kids normally sell. We were pleasantly suprised at the atmosphere. We've been twice and everyone is very friendly and you can tell they have a lot of "regulars". I'm more of a scallops guy more than oysters, so when I saw the grilled scallops on the menu, I had to try them. They are excellent and probably the only thing I will ever order from now on. Prices were reasonable.

Visited November 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sevierville, TN
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“An old time favorite on the water.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012

I have been eating here on and off for forty something years, and have always enjoyed the fried oysters. They use different oil for fish than for their fries, and the tastes don't get intermingled. For lunch, it is the only place in town that you can get a half order of fried oysters for those who get filled up quickly. The people are friendly and the desserts are excellent as well. It is right on the water and in general is an excellent experience at a reasonable price.

  • Visited November 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Navarre, Florida
Top Contributor
126 reviews 126 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
“Old Florida Local”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012

Marina Oyster Barn has been in business 40 years and that speaks to the quality and service. I had fried mullet (3 fillets) which was cooked just right and tasted clean...mullet is like catfish and can have a off taste depending on the source. This was yummy. For sides I had cheese grits and "Moms" baked beans. The meal came with 2 hush puppies, too. The sides were ok... not the best cheese grits but certainly perfectly fine. "Moms' baked beans are nothing special and I would not get them again because of that. They tasted fine. The portion size was quite small on the sides. The hush puppies were good...not over cooked and just the right size, not greasy and not too hard. The cocktail sauce is quite mild and the tarter sauce is pretty good.
My dining partners had oysters and shrimp salad. The shrimp salad was reported to be very good. The oysters were $9 dozen raw and $16 (market price) for the broiled trio.. pretty pricy but, my friend found a pearl. That has never happened to any of us dedicated oyster eaters so it was pretty special!

The view of Bayou Texar is lovely. The service is attentive but not unctuous.
Much better than a chain because of location, history, service, and consistency of food quality.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Not worth it!!!!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2012 via mobile

The food was just average at best. Nothing special at all. The quantity was petite. We all left still hungry. The price was high, extremely high for lack of quality and small portions. I do not recommend going here. Very disappointing.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Marina Oyster Barn also viewed

Pensacola, Florida Panhandle
Pensacola, Florida Panhandle
 
Pensacola, Florida Panhandle
Pensacola, Florida Panhandle
 

Been to Marina Oyster Barn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marina Oyster Barn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.