We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sweetbreads, Foie Gras, Oh My!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pot Roast & Pinot

Pot Roast & Pinot
321 East Cervantes Street, Pensacola, FL 32501
+1 850-607-7336
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 580 Restaurants in Pensacola
Price range: $7 - $25
Cuisines: American, Diner, Eclectic, Wine Bar
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Biloxi, Mississippi
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Sweetbreads, Foie Gras, Oh My!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2014

Went with my husband and son to this restaurant and had the "chicken nuggets", pot roast, "liver & onions" and strawberry shortcake. Everything was so good. Sat at the counter because all the tables were taken they were so busy. Will definitely be back.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

114 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
Rating summary
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
“Never Disappoints”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2014

Pot Roast consistently serves delicious sophisticated food in a friendly atmosphere. Always a home run. Great place to take the "foodies" in your life.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gulf coast
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“The worst meal I have ever eaten”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2014

We eat out an average of 5 nights a week so were looking forward to a new spot. We don't drink wine so weren't able to appreciate the wine service. The place was empty except for one other party. (Who later told us their meals were awful.) Banquette seating, a BIG BAD negative for me. One of my party had the chicken and waffles. The chicken was absolutely red, dripping, raw. The waffle was pre-made, flat, dry and flavorless. Another in the party ordered the vegetarian pot pie. The puff pastry was flat, undercooked and gummy on the underside and the filling was cold. We sent it back to be heated but as anyone who knows anything about puff pastry knows, you have one shot at cooking it right. Reheating doesn't cut it. So the pastry remained inedible. The filling tasted like salt, no vegetables were identifiable. I had the grilled cheese with fig and goat cheese and it was very tasty insidethough would have been better with a crispy piece of prosciutto inside. The bread was thick, flavorless white bread, not adequately buttered and therefore, dry, more like toasted than grilled/griddled. Two of our meals were ready before the third. They were moved from the kitchen window to the dining counter RIGHT IN FRONT OF A PATRON who was sitting at the end seat. A server stood talking to him, hovering over our meals. I have a photo of this.... very disturbing. Turned out not to be a problem since the food was inedible anyway. The server was inexperienced and did not know how to handle the food complaints. The food was overpriced even if it had been tasty. Will not go back.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joe A, Owner at Pot Roast & Pinot, responded to this review, January 10, 2014
Dear lmay,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. We work very hard to provide our guests with excellent food, service, atmosphere, and value. Unfortunately, there are occasions where a member of our staff does not provide the level of service we expect, or we simply do not meet everyone's expectations through our efforts. At Pot Roast & Pinot, we never want to be average, and wherever we can, we always take action that will improve our performance in the future.

Your party visited us in October 2013 and I wanted to let you know we have already changed the recipes for the Chicken & Waffles, Pot Pie and Grilled Cheese. The chicken for the Chicken & Waffles is pounded very thin and soaked in buttermilk overnight. Then it is hand breaded to order with our house mix of seasonings and breading and deep fried. The waffles are made to order in our industrial Belgian Waffle Maker. We have also altered the Pot Pie recipe. We originally offered a vegetarian pot pie with only mushrooms as the filling but now the filling is a blend of carrots, potatoes and chick peas. It is a 'deconstructed' Pot Pie with the filling made to order and the puff pastry is baked separately and placed on top of the dish so it doesn't cook with the filling. Due in part to customer feedback, like yours, we continually modify certain recipes, and steps of procedures, to enhance our customers' experiences. Some of these changes already include adequately buttering our Grilled Cheese. Thank you for the suggestion of adding prosciutto to said Sandwich, as we will heavily consider during our next menu change.

Although we can't change the existing banquette seating, we do offer regular low and high-top tables as well in the restaurant besides the banquette seating.

We would appreciate another opportunity to demonstrate how Pot Roast & Pinot continually strives to improve the guest experience. Thank you again for contributing to our continual process of improvement and we look forward to hearing from you in the VERY near future. Please ask for General Manager Max, Chef Ahmed, Joe or myself by name on your next visit. Please enjoy the rest of your weekend, and most importantly, the friends and family you brought with you into our establishment!


Aimée Wilson
Pot Roast & Pinot
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014 via mobile

We have been wanting to go,after looking at the to go menu.Waited till after holiday rush,,Thru 1-2-2014. WOW what a transformation from the diner. Upscale but comfortable in jeans. FOOD:: Devil eggs w/Lobster & Pork belly,,FANTASTIC Who knew..Grilled Okra( more kinda stewed) GREAT,,,Then the comfort plate of POT ROAST,Potatoes,Baby Carrots.....Enough for Two people...
Now the Burger,,just NOT A BURGER,,when I say it was better than Jonh Besh's,,LUKE in N.O. that's saying something....
Since I'm from N.O. & Now a P/Cola grl... Been waiting for something good here,,,,so POT ROAST & PINOT puts Jackson's & Grand Marling to shame....Do your taste buds a favor and GO EAT HERE,,YOU WILL BE PLEASANTLY SURPRISED ....and stuffed too...I'd give it a 10+
Kimberly Sorgenfrei & YESSS I TOOK PIC OF MY FOOD,,,LOL

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“About time!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2013

Wonderful bone marrow, delicious sweetbreads, and more all perfectly paired with a delicious Rose champagne. Max was gracious and informative and we were so impressed with his passion for what he is doing. Very happy to have this choice so close to home when we visit.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pot Roast & Pinot also viewed

Pensacola, Florida Panhandle
Pensacola, Florida Panhandle
Pensacola, Florida Panhandle
Pensacola, Florida Panhandle

Been to Pot Roast & Pinot? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pot Roast & Pinot, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.