We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good reasonably priced food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Monterrey's Mexican Grill

Monterrey's Mexican Grill
5030 Bayou Blvd, Pensacola, FL 32503-2504
850-479-7351
Improve this listing
Ranked #294 of 545 Restaurants in Pensacola
Cuisines: Mexican
Restaurant details
Pensacola, Florida
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Good reasonably priced food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2014

Have had several lunches here from time to time. Always good service and food is a solid 3. I like the chips (light, crispy, and always fresh) and salsa (just a touch of cumin). Their lunch menu items are very reasonably priced and a nice variety. Food is well prepared with a range beyond the standard fare of tacos, burritos, enchiladas, tamales, etc.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

11 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3
    3
    3
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Alpine, California
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Comida Muy Autentico (Very Authentic Food)”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

It has been way too many years since I have been back east, and I was pleasantly surprised with the quality and authenticity of the food at Monterrey's Mexican Grill. I always consider it a good thing when the staff is from the appropriate country. In this case, I was able to speak with them in Spanish (or English), so I immediately raised my hopes a bit.

I was visiting my adult children, so we got to sample several different items. I was still a bit stuffed from breakfast so I just got the Chimichanga, and that filled me up. All the food we got was good as well as the Margaritas and to my surprise they even had my favorite, Bohemia cerveza from Mexico.

It used to be, Mexican food in the South could only be described as "El Yucko." This was as good as any you get in the desert South West, and better than many. The South has risen again, at least as far a Mexican food goes.

The only reason that fifth star is not clicked, I think the exterior could use some help and a more frequent patrol for cleanliness.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Navarre, Florida
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
“Great Margaritas and Good Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

This restaurant has been slowly renovated over years to a great Mexican restaurant. The staff is all Latino and very friendly, though some are not fluent in English. Just point to items on the menu, if necessary. You won't be disappointed. The frozen margaritas are AWESOME!

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu, Hawaii
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“You call this Mexican?!?”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2011

Walking up to the restaraunt we saw fast food cups in a beer chiller or planter out side the doors. We where seated quickly and greeted promptly by our server. He took our orders and delivered timely service. He did not provide us with recommendations or his thoughts / guidance about our orders. I love chips and salsa and theirs is good, I ordered guacamole to go with the chips and was highly disappointed. It looked and tasted like it was squeezed from a tube! No bueno. The food was not good but the service was decent. I won't be back.

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pace, Florida
1 review
“Delicious, fresh, and reasonably priced. My favorite Mex restaurant in Pensacola”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2011

The staff here is welcoming and attentive. Their lunch specials menu has a good variety. The one thing I notice is the freshness of their food; salsa tastes authentic, homemade and delicious. The 2 for 1 margarita deal is just okay because their is hardly any liquor in these. So now I get the unsweetened iced tea instead. Again, I go there for the food and to date I've not been disappointed.
I read someone's review making reference to them playing "Feliz Navidad," who cares? Today I went and there was awesome Celia Cruz salsa on and I truly enjoyed it. When I go to a Mexican restaurant I expect (and want) to hear spanish music. I highly recommend this place.

  • Visited June 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Monterrey's Mexican Grill also viewed

Pensacola, Florida Panhandle
Pensacola, Florida Panhandle
 
Pensacola, Florida Panhandle
Pensacola, Florida Panhandle
 

Been to Monterrey's Mexican Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Monterrey's Mexican Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.