We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Trendy spot” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Portabello Market

Portabello Market
400 S Jefferson St, Pensacola, FL 32502-5902
850-439-6545
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #123 of 580 Restaurants in Pensacola
Cuisines: American
Restaurant details
Loretto, Tennessee
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Trendy spot”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013 via mobile

My extended family and I dined here while waiting for the next tour on of the historic village. It is a nice little walk down from the village, and the atmosphere can't be beat. However service was slow and we missed the start time for the second tour. Everybody enjoyed their dishes. I got the turkey club wrap customized. the bacon was very crispy, and I have to say the best wrap I've ever had. My aunt got the portobello sandwich which she declared 'delicious!' So while service took a while it was an enjoyable meal.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

16 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5
    6
    3
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Denver area
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Lunch in the old prisoner's exercise area”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

We stopped in briefly to get out of the rain while walking around the Seville Historic Area. This restaurant is in the Pensacola Cultural Center, which was closed when we were there due to them having a kids' summer camp going on. I rated this restaurant as very good and that was based on the atmosphere, server, and looking at the food that servers brought to other tables. We ran in out of the rain just to see if we could get something small to eat because we weren't hungry; we got tea and a bagel. The server was chatty about the history of the building that was a prison in the early 1900s with the restaurant located in the former prisoner's exercise area. It's now an atrium. She also gave us a couple of personal accounts of seeing ghosts in the building. The pamphlet for the building notes that people say the building is haunted and tells about several people's experiences. It was a pleasant lunch with a friendly server and the food looked good.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pensacola, Florida
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great lunch spot”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

This place is located inside the Pensacola Little Theater, or Pensacola Cultural Center as some call it. It is small but I liked it being the in the theater lobby, it had a nice ambiance. They have several gourmet sandwich and salad selections selections, as well as soups and a salad bar. I elected to have to salad bar and it was delicious! It had a wonderful chicken salad and a curried coleslaw, which was my favorite :) The salad bar came with a cup of soup of the day choice. I recommend this place to anyone who wants to go somewhere a little different from your normal sandwich shop.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mobile
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great little Hidden Place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

Food is fresh and very good! Service matches! Overall great experience. Only negitive is we have been in Pensacola for about 5 years and never new this place was there, its hard to find.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pensacola, Florida
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Try the tomato basil soup”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2012

Their food is average, but their freshly made tomato basil soup is fantastic.

Visited July 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Portabello Market also viewed

Pensacola, Florida Panhandle
Pensacola, Florida Panhandle
 
Pensacola, Florida Panhandle
 

Been to Portabello Market? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Portabello Market, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.