We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't even bother” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Cock of The Walk

Cock of The Walk
9310 Baldridge Rd, Pensacola, FL 32514
850-475-0123
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #144 of 590 Restaurants in Pensacola
Cuisines: Seafood
Restaurant details
Pensacola, Florida
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Don't even bother”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2014

The best thing about this place was the fried pickles, onion rings, and corn bread. Didn't enjoy my entree of chicken fingers. The meat was disgusting. It was all gristle and had the gelatin like fat all through it. I didn't enjoy eating off of tin plates or drinking out of tin cups. Plus, there aren't many options as far as adult beverages go. We won't be coming back.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

39 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    16
    4
    0
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Fairhope, Alabama
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Food just like I remember”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2014

Cock of the walk used to have a location closer to me in Daphne, AL and I frequented this place often. My family decided to drive the hour to Pensacola to eat here. The server (Katy) was great and exceeded our expectations even though we had a party of 8. Catfish and coleslaw reminded me of great meals of yesteryear. The only thing I noticed that differed was a lack of energy that I remembered from the former location. I would definitely eat here again...

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Axis, Alabama
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Best catfish around!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

Love this place. Great catfish, coleslaw, cornbread & fixins around. Lots of food. Great service. Friendly staff. Great location. Great for families, large gatherings or small functions. Someone else mentioned in another review about small portion sizes but you get free reorders on the fish. Nobody leaves there hungry. All you can eat coleslaw & cornbread.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pensacola, Florida
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Sick the last 2 times after eating”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

Cock of the walk ,, was our local seafood go to place,, but the last 2 times my family has eaten there, I have gotten physically sick,, Beside that ,, there portion size has shrunk and the quality is just not there anymore.. way over priced for the extremely small portion of catfish ,, Chets' or David's is way more generous with there portions

  • Visited July 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pensacola, Florida
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Yummy southern food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013 via mobile

You must come hungry since you will be stuffed by the time you leave this place. The food is consistently yummy and the atmosphere is different then other places around here. You will also be able to enjoy feeding the ducks in the pond just outside the restaurant. The kids always seem to enjoy themselves.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cock of The Walk also viewed

Pensacola, Florida Panhandle
Pensacola, Florida Panhandle
 
Pensacola, Florida Panhandle
Pensacola, Florida Panhandle
 

Been to Cock of The Walk? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cock of The Walk, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.