We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pricey but worth a visit” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Jackson's Steakhouse

Jackson's Steakhouse
400 South Palafox Street, Pensacola, FL 32502
(850) 469-9898
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #17 of 546 Restaurants in Pensacola
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $25 - $60
Cuisines: Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine, Doing business, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Dessert, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Classic sophistication meets style and chic at Jackson’s Steakhouse, where the decadence doesn’t stop at the front door. Indulge your friends, family, and clients in an incredible experience of culinary excellence. Located in the historic downtown district directly on Ferdinand Plaza, Jackson’s remains one of the most desirable dining destinations in Pensacola.
Perdido Key, Florida
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Pricey but worth a visit”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

We dined here on Christmas Eve. Everything from the greeting to the dessert were top notch. The food items (wood fired filet with crab and green tomatoes & lamb chops) were perfectly prepared. Even the bread service is uniquely presented. The service staff is attentive and engaging without being overbearing. The managers are visible insuring high level of execution.

While I won't debate their pricing is on the high side (dinner for 4 with tip was slightly less than$300), it was a memorable evening and a great experience.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

256 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    167
    42
    31
    11
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Pensacola, Florida
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Excellent food and lovely restautant.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

We went here to celebrate our anniversary and it was wonderful. Our food was absolutely delicious and the server was very attentive. It's kind of expensive but for a special date night it was nice to go to someplace upscale.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pensacola, Florida
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Horrendous service”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

We've only been here once and that was quite enough. It was a busy day (their special Father's Day Brunch) but, still, the level of service was dismal. We were three couples and we advised our server at the very beginning that we would need three separate checks. Our food was good if not all that generously portioned; my lamb was delicious.

The whole experience started to fall apart when a single check was deposited on our table and the server galloped off. We managed to lasso her back and ask for our separate checks. A looooong wait followed, so long that finally we were the only customers in the room. Apparently the staff bustling around us found nothing strange about six stony faced customers sitting in an otherwise empty room at a cleared table because I had to ask for the manager to get anyone's attention.

We were comped our drinks but at these prices ($70 a person for brunch) you expect more professionalism.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pensacola, Florida
Top Contributor
134 reviews 134 reviews
84 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
“Pretty much hits on all cylinders”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

New Years Eve and the place is packed but we found a place at the bar and, at the reserved time, the hostess led us to our table. The atmosphere and ambience were very nice, the service (waiter Scott) was top notch, and the food was excellent. The cuban and soudough bread was outstanding, the pesto arancino appetizer was a bring-you-backer alone, and the salmon and filet was perfect. Unlike a couple other reviewers, I found the prices very reasonable considering the level of service, the generous servings, and the quality of the food. The ONLY small dings to an otherwise perfect evening was that the receptionist could have been a bit more friendly in her greeting and the bartender, Clyde, was not the friendliest either. Other than that, one of the finer experiences you can have. Highly recommended.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pensacola, FL
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Too mucn $$$ to spend”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2012

Althought I know Jackson's is a main staple for fine dining I found it to be WAY too much money...When I was there everything was a la carte and that just is not my style. Having said that the steaks are wonderful.

  • Visited January 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jackson's Steakhouse also viewed

Pensacola, Florida Panhandle
Pensacola, Florida Panhandle
 
Pensacola, Florida Panhandle
Pensacola, Florida Panhandle
 

Been to Jackson's Steakhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Jackson's Steakhouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.