We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic meet...” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sonny's Real Pit Bar-B-Q

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Sonny's Real Pit Bar-B-Q
8313 Chellie Rd, Pensacola, FL 32526
850-944-6633
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #163 of 580 Restaurants in Pensacola
Cuisines: American, Barbecue, Family Fare, Sandwiches
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Takeout
Description: Sonny's BBQ offers a variety of barbeque meats, including St. Louis Cut Ribs and Sonny's Signature Baby Backs, Pulled Beef Brisket, Pulled and Sliced Pork, Sliced Turkey, and Chicken, all smoked slowly over a hardwood fire. Today, with 126 restaurants in nine southeastern states, Sonny's BBQ is one of the largest, most popular barbeque chains in the country. Our secret? We cook it up slow and serve it up fast and friendly.
Pensacola, Florida, United States
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Fantastic meet...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013 via mobile

I'm Italian and I travelled a lot for the states, and into the world and this is a very good place where eat... I took the 3 pork plate and was huge... I couldn't eat everything becouse was a lot, and I'm some regret... The price good 15$... Good to go...

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    9
    8
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Pensacola, Florida
Top Contributor
122 reviews 122 reviews
86 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“A Very Biased Review!!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

We love Sonny's!!! Honest enough?

The Pensacola location is now much larger than before. It's is directly across the street from its old location. It's now behind Auto Zone Auto Parts.

The food is as good as it ever was. Of all the chain restaurants, Sonny's is one of the most consistent when it comes to food quality. They will not serve their meats until they are ready.

They are famous for their meats, but many people get extra BBQ beans to take home. I like their coleslaw because it's not weak or overpowering. It's right in the middle of the taste bud region, know what I mean?

Lunch time during the week can be a tough time to go. Like many nights, there will be a waiting line to go in. If you arrive a bit off the traditional dinner times, you will get in quickly and be happy you planned your stop.

The wait staff here is OK, but they have been better in years before. The kitchen crew work their butts off daily. The salad bar is well stocked, but does suffer from seasonal lows in some produce.

All in all, you can't go wrong eating here. If you walk away hungry, it's your fault!!!

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pensacola, Florida
Top Contributor
149 reviews 149 reviews
95 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Amazing BBQ”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

Typically, chain restaurants that offer BBQ fail to hit the spot, but Sonny's stands above the rest. They are fast, inexpensive, and most importantly, tasty! The service is extremely good and I have never come across a rude employee in all my years of going there.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GREENVILLE
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“The reason I stayed in Pensacola.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

Just delicious BBQ and lots of it. The restaurant is close to the interstate and motels. Love Sonny's.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great place closr yo Pensacola, Fl”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013 via mobile

If you are close to pensacola and you are looking a place to eat Sonnys Bbq is a great place to stop. The food is delicious, the atmosphere is great and the service very good. definitively, I will return to this place.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sonny's Real Pit Bar-B-Q also viewed

Pensacola, Florida Panhandle
 
Pensacola, Florida Panhandle
Pensacola, Florida Panhandle
 

Been to Sonny's Real Pit Bar-B-Q? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sonny's Real Pit Bar-B-Q, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.