We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wow” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Historic Pensacola Village

Historic Pensacola Village
205 E Zaragoza St, Pensacola, FL 32576-2866
850-595-5985
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #11 of 53 attractions in Pensacola
Type: Historic Sites, Trails
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Historic village consists of twenty properties belonging to the Pensacola National Register Historic District, including several museums and the Colonial Archaeological Trail.
Gainesville, Florida
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Wow”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

This is about three blocks of historic buildings and homes, absolutely packed with preserved historic items. I have never seen so much of historical interest, framed so well, recreated so well, and with such detail.

We chose to buy the tour ticket that gave us entrance to the museum and "ticketed venue" buildings, but not take the actual tour (due to time limitations); we explored them on our own. So we didn't get to see some of the buildings that are tour-only, which was a shame. However, we certainly feel we got our money's worth from the very first museum; all the other museums and buildings we did visit were each an added bonus.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

128 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    73
    44
    7
    4
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tampa, Florida
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Quaint experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

The Village is staffed by employees of the University of West Florida who do an excellent job of explaining the tour. The tour was evenly paced and all within 2 blocks of the gift shop. We went across Sevilla Square for lunch and did some site-seeing on our own afterward. A must for any Pensacola visitor

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weeki Wachee, Florida, United States
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Would have loved to do this but”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

check the calander to see what is going on there was a dog show/festival and a wedding it was way to crazy to stop..plus ask a local where the best place to park is ..want to try this next time

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
196 reviews 196 reviews
88 attraction reviews
Reviews in 87 cities Reviews in 87 cities
95 helpful votes 95 helpful votes
“Trail With A Tale”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

Situated from the I-110 Garden Street exit on Zaragoza Street in the Historic district of Pensacola, this is an interesting guided/self guided trail of buildings and structures that existed on these grounds between 1752 and 1821. There are five houses, two cottages, a church and three museums to visit on this historic site once occupied by Spanish, British and American soldiers, all carefully furnished with genuine items from the period. Self guide visitors are provided with a site map to follow with details of each building. The museums include; Industry, covering brick making, railroad and lumber industries; Commerce, covering various shops, transport and well laid out newspaper print office. There is visitor parking on site and a gift shop full of visitor souvenirs served by friendly and informative staff dressed in period costume. Well worth a visit.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stony Brook, New York
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Trip down memory lane”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

Being the oldest town has some perks. The hardest thing is maintaining the heritage and the up and comming new style. Both have been incorporated here. The piers are lovely as are the shops and places to eat. The structures are ornate and a leasure walk either before or after a bite to eat is well worth it.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Historic Pensacola Village also viewed

Pensacola, Florida Panhandle
Pensacola, Florida Panhandle
 
Pensacola, Florida Panhandle
Pensacola, Florida Panhandle
 

Been to Historic Pensacola Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Historic Pensacola Village, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Historic Pensacola Village to your Saves list