We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cheap motel would have been better.” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Villas on the Gulf

Villas on the Gulf
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Villas on the Gulf to your Saves list
Villas on the Gulf
3.0 of 5 Villa   |   Via de Luna Drive, Pensacola, FL   |  
Hotel amenities
West Monroe, Louisiana
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Cheap motel would have been better.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2014

We stayed in L8 the patio door wouldn't lock they had a stick for you to put in it to lock so we had to go to the parking lot and go around to get to the beach. The pillows were so stained with sweat it was not a week or two it was like 6 month or year sweat.Sheets were very very old.We bought new ones just so we could sleep on clean stuff.Beach location was great.I know they could at least replace sheets and pillows twice a year for rental price.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

20 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    4
    3
    4
    1
See reviews for
10
3
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Huntsville, Alabama
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2014

This unit needs a deep cleaning. There is a persistent fishy odor in the fridge. The balcony furniture is in poor condition and soiled. There are exposed carpet tacks between the bathroom tile and dirty shag carpet. A cheap strip from Home Depot would fix this. Thank God for tetanus shots! The screen door to the balcony has a huge tear. Not a lot of insulation between units, as we are early to bed early to rise and had to listen to the people above us waking us night after night right after we fell asleep.

Room Tip: Always do research before you book!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kentucky
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

We rented this condo for five nights on VRBO, #317129 and it was great. 3 adults and 2 kids. We had 1 bedroom with a king bed and 1 bedroom that had 2 full size beds, 1 1/2 baths, a balcony overlooking a pool, a very nice supplied condo with everything we needed including a washer and dryer. We did have a shortage of towels and the owner had some delivered to us right away. We could not see the beach but it was a short walk to one of my favorite beaches. There are no chairs to rent so you have to bring your own. The condos are 2 stories and you can park under the first floor. .

Room Tip: Look at the pictures online to see what room looks good to you on VRBO.com. Each one is owned by a d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

Great condo! Relaxing and condo F10 is close to the pool and beach which was great for my kids. The balcony has stairs that lead down to the pool. Very clean and well taken care of. Best family vacation spot!!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stuart, Florida
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

I came across Villas on the Gulf when I was searching for "an affordable place" in Pensacola Beach FL. I traveled with my 8 year old daughter, so we did not need alot of space. This unit had 2 bedrooms and 1.5 baths. It was bright & cheery and we had plenty of space! King sized bed in the master and 2 queens in the other bedroom.
I booked the unit through Gulf Blue Vacations.The staff was very friendly and accomadating.This was the only place I could find that offered less than a weeks stay. We stayed 4 nights and sleept soundly every night.
After reading some of the reviews, I was weary, but glad I did not cancel. The sofa has been replaced, and the A/C has been replaced.Be aware that there are 2 flights of stairs that you will have to climb.Unpacking would not have been such "a bear" had my husband been with us..just pack your suitcases light. Remember to bring your own beach towels and any items you may want for the beach: chairs, umbrella, etc...
This is nowhere near a 5 star establishment nor is it a dump! I wanted a place that would fit in our budget but did not want to stay in a hotel (which by the way, the hotels were more money).
I was very pleased with this unit but wish it would have been easier to haul all of our stuff in & out. I ended up leaving the beach stuff in the trunk after our visits to the beach.

Room Tip: Remember the 2 flights of stairs when packing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota
Top Contributor
304 reviews 304 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
183 helpful votes 183 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

Booked this condo with Ron Figgins. He met us at the unit and described the place in detail. It was terrific; one bedroom unit with full kitchen facilities. Clean and well maintained. We will be back.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tequesta, Florida
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012

My extended family of 8 stayed in condo J1 in June 2012 for a week. To begin, the unit was not clean. The guest toilet was filthy, the towels were dirty, the master tub shower and curtain had mildew, the patio and patio furniture was covered with sand, the bedrooms had trash on the floor, food crumbs were under the pull out couch and the pots and pans in the kitchen hadn't seen soap and water in a while (dried fish pieces with scales to be specific). The management office was notified immediately and the same cleaning crew was sent out. Unfortunately, some of the same things were missed again. Upon the second complaint, a new cleaning crew was sent but by this time, we had lost at least one of our vacation days. Very frustrating indeed. I don’t consider myself to be very picky person but this was disgusting.

As for the furnishings, at first glance the condo seems nicely decorated for a rental, however, the couch needs replacing or mending as there is a dime size hole in the cushion. Other than that, everything was in working order.

For the location, this unit is not ocean front but fortunately, you can see the water from the balcony and from the kitchen window. Condo area is quiet during the day and you can walk straight to the beach via the walkway. Nearest grocery store isn’t close and try to avoid peak times on the bridges, they can get backed up.

One additional problem we had was a large family with MANY kids staying in the unit above us. Every night until 10 pm or so (my little ones went to sleep or tried to sleep at 9), you could hear the kids running around, moving furniture and jumping on the bed. I would suggest getting a top floor condo.

Overall, though disappointing, the condo served its purpose and we enjoyed ourselves once most of the issues were resolved. I would say if your standards are for a 2 ½ star motel, this condo would be perfect.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Villas on the Gulf? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villas on the Gulf

Address: Via de Luna Drive, Pensacola, FL
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Panhandle > Pensacola
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 18 Specialty Lodging in Pensacola
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Villas on the Gulf 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Villas on the Gulf reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villas On The Gulf Hotel Pensacola

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Villas on the Gulf, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.