We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hidden Gem” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Five Sisters Blues Cafe

Five Sisters Blues Cafe
421 W. Belmont St., Pensacola, FL 32501
(850) 912-4856
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 554 restaurants in Pensacola
Price range: $10 - $15
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Outdoor seating
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Reservations, Late Night
Ft Walton Beach, FL
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
“Hidden Gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

This was our first visit and we will definitely return. Arrived just before 6:00 PM on a Tuesday and it was already about ¾ full (it was full when we left about an hour later). The atmosphere is warm and friendly. They have an ample variety of southern “comfort “ food on the menu as well as daily specials. Did not have their signature fried chicken but it looked good on plates passing by our table. We started with the fried green tomatoes which were well seasoned, fried to perfect crispness and served with two types of sauces. I opted for the chicken fried steak which is the best I have ever had, cooked to perfection and very tender. My wife had one of the specials, grilled seafood (shrimp and a fish fillet) on cheese grits. It was outstanding. Both meals were served hot, something we’re finding lacking in many restaurants now. The homemade style sides were very tasty (and hot as well), along with really good rolls. They have a decent wine and beer selection. The portions are generous, so we took some home to be enjoyed later. Just too full to have any dessert so can’t comment on those. Five Sisters has become one of our favorites in the Pensacola area.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

289 reviews from our community

87% Recommend
    172
    80
    29
    4
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Panama City, Florida
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Very Nice - Don't let the Area Stop you”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

Went there with a group of co-workers on a Wednesday evening. The sitting is very nice, almost reminds you of being in the French Quarters in New Orleans. Has a good variety of food (chicken, beef, pork, salads, etc.) I did not have it, but some of the people had the fried chicken and others had the chicken fried steak. All claimed both were really good. Homemade style sides (two with a main dish), along with really good rolls. A nice wine and beer selection, even though they were out of the Pinot Noir on the evening I was there.

They had a solo musician playing a combination of blues, rock, and soul. He was very good, but not so loud that you could not have a conversation. Prices were reasonable; meals very reasonable, wine a little more expensive ($6.75 per glass for a brand that should be available for less than $15.00 per bottle). As normal, they add the tip (18%) to groups of 8 or larger, but will separate the checks.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“"...when in Rome"”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

ooh la la! Put Five Sisters Blues Cafe on your agenda for Southern food! The food was wonderful, and I don't know how they do it for the price! I had two pieces of fried chicken with yams and fried okra and cornbread for $8.50! Mom had the chicken fried steak with cheesy grits and green beans. Fried green tomatoes for appetizer and peach cobbler for dessert. The portions are generous, so we enjoyed it again the next day.
The atmosphere is darling, service was great, wonderful menu, live music at 9:00 and ladies night, drink specials, etc. What brings me back to a place twice is a good martini menu and they have one!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Home Style Soul Food Deluxe”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013 via mobile

Great atmosphere and great service provided by Lisa. Recommended the award winning fried chicken and it was awesome. Sides all very tasty and home made. Had a cup of the many bean and ham soup - asked for cornbread and it was provided and delicious. Peach cobbler served hot and a la mode- lots of tasty peaches and just the right spice. If there was one tiny flaw the sweet tea was really really sweet- I love it but even too sweet for me. I'd be there several times a week if I lived nearby!!!

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
“Very good southern style food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013 via mobile

Easy to find. good ambiance, clean with very friendly service and great food. The fried chicken is very tasty. The fried green tomatoes were well seasoned and fried to excellence our friends ordered the cheese grits and claimed it was one of the best they ever had. The red beans were not my favorite but everything else was good. The cornbread and home rolls are delicious. We had the blueberry bread pudding and it was pure delight! Very good for sure. Thanks to all for recommending this place we loved it!

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Five Sisters Blues Cafe also viewed

Pensacola, Florida Panhandle
Pensacola, Florida Panhandle
 
Pensacola, Florida Panhandle
Pensacola, Florida Panhandle
 

Been to Five Sisters Blues Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Five Sisters Blues Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.