We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrible rooms!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Garden Inn & Suites

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Pensacola
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Garden Inn & Suites
Save
You added Garden Inn & Suites to your Saves list
8500 Pine Forest Rd., Pensacola, FL 32534   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #48 of 61 Hotels in Pensacola
San Antonio, Texas
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Terrible rooms!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

We were driving from Austin Texas, the room was a non-smoking room that STUNK of mildew. The bathroom , although small, had paint cracking on the ceiling, there was stains of black on the shower curtail as if someone dyed their hair in it. The breakfast was stale- I had cereal that milk could not get soggy, and my husband had honeybuns that he stated must have been out of date by years not months.
The night shift clerk was nice and provided directions to the beach.
We are well seasoned travelers always looking to save that hard earned penny, however this was not the place to do it.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

20 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    0
    2
    2
    4
    12
See reviews for
7
7
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    1.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    1.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Pensacola, Florida
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2012

This place has done nothing but go downhill. Cracks in the rooms, carpet is disgusting. NOT owned by anyone that cares. At least when it was under Rodeway years ago, they made the owners keep it up but now, no one cares. DON'T stay here, coupon or not...you will regret it. Go to Microtel or one of the many other motels just down the road, if you go left out of their parking lot, then right at the light just past the interstate overpass. The others are near Cracker Barrel, Waffle House and many other food places. As for pets, most Motel 6 and Red Roof take them so just go a few exits down. I hope Garden Inn closes soon so other travelers won't be fooled by their website and coupons. They have NOTHING to do with Hilton Garden. No comparison!! Just horrible.

Room Tip: Just don't stay here
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver
Top Contributor
203 reviews 203 reviews
87 hotel reviews
Reviews in 109 cities Reviews in 109 cities
199 helpful votes 199 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2012

We went to several nearby hotels but none would accept a dog...this place is slightly better than a truck stop...but it was the only place that would accept a dog...when I asked if I could see the room the desk clerk responded, "No refunds after twenty minutes."...Just say no.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2011 via mobile

Stopped on our way to Orlando for the night... The lack of cars in the parking lot should have been a tip off. Rooms smelled bad - pets, smoke, urine, or worse. Had to change first room immediately; the second room wasn't much better. Decided since we were only looking to sleep for a few hours, we'd make the best of it - but we did decide to leave in the wee hours of the morning and get back on the road rather than stay any longer.

Very unpleasant; would not recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pensacola Beach, Florida
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2011

It stinks, mildew, dirty and carpet was wet. Nasty.

Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Breda, The Netherlands
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2010

This is a nasty hotel. Don't stay here! When you enter the room it smells like urine.

Stayed May 2010, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cebu City, Philippines
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2010

We checked into this hotel, and I had a coupon which listed the room rate as $44.99. We were tired from driving all the way from Orlando, and it was after 8 pm. We left our suitcases, then ran out to grab some dinner. We came back, expecting a rollaway bed in our room, which we had requested. They left the bed outside the room expecting us to set it up, which we tried. We moved furniture around but couldn't get it into place, so we left the frame outside and put the mattress on the floor. I headed for the bathroom and was absolutely disgusted - there were brown stains on, under and behind the toilet seat. I had Clorox wipes so I made good use of them. Guess what? After wiping down the tub, counter tops, TV remote and the TV itself, the wipes were stained grey or brown. There was mold on the bathroom ceiling. The pillows were flat and inadequate, blankets were wrinkled and the room smelled funny despite my spraying half a bottle of Febreeze on everything. We were just too tired to get out and find another hotel, so we stayed. I complained at the front desk the next morning, but the person at reception told me I had to speak to the manager, who would not be in until 8 am. This conversation took place at 8:15 am. Really.
What made things worse was that after my husband got the receipt, I realized that they had NOT given us the coupon rate, and had charged for the extra bed. I don't think I would have made such a big fuss over the charges if the room was at least clean. Do not stay at this hotel. As we were leaving, I saw a bug crawl out from under the baseboard in the bathroom. Wonderful.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Garden Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Garden Inn & Suites

Address: 8500 Pine Forest Rd., Pensacola, FL 32534
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Panhandle > Pensacola
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #48 of 61 Hotels in Pensacola
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
free continental breakfast, high speed internet, new pool, lounge w/ live entertainment, truck/bus parking, microwave/fridge/coffee maker in all rooms. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Rodeway Inn Pensacola

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Garden Inn & Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.