We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Downtown getaway” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sole Inn and Suites

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Sole Inn and Suites to your Saves list
Sole Inn and Suites
2.5 of 5 Motel   |   200 N Palafox St, Pensacola, FL 32501   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 61 Hotels in Pensacola
Pensacola Beach, Florida
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Downtown getaway”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

This is an older hotel that's had a major face lift without compromising its charm. The rooms are furnished with a modern contemporary theme and are clean and comfortable.
The hotel sits within walking distance to all sorts of downtown venues. It's got a distinctly adult feel without being shady. The host provide a decent happy hour event as well.

Room Tip: First floor is fine, no view
See more room tips
Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
onthegoalotAtlanta, General Manager at Sole Inn and Suites, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
Thank you for the feedback you have given us. Please come stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

281 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    135
    96
    30
    13
    7
See reviews for
38
108
22
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Louisiana
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

The lobby staff was nice and all the decor was very modern. I really liked the location in that it was the closest to Palafox St where there is a lot going on. They have a noise policy that is very good.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
onthegoalotAtlanta, General Manager at Sole Inn and Suites, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
Thank you so much for staying with us and your great comments are much appreciated.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oshawa, Ontario, Canada
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

My wife and I stayed here for a week in December 2012, while visiting my brother who was sailing in the Gulf of Mexico. The location was fantastic; a short walk from the center of the town center and the resturants and shops - in terms of driving around the city and getting to the beaches it was close to the highways and bridges. But it needed a bit of work - the walls were deteriorating and dirty, the shower had strips of paint hanging from the ceiling and most things looked like had passed their "best before" date. There was a reasonably good free breakfast.

Room Tip: Check out your room first.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
onthegoalotAtlanta, General Manager at Sole Inn and Suites, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
Thank you for your feedback. Please know that we try hard to stay on top on any painting and updating issues as they arise and if something has been overlooked I can assure you it has been addressed. Thank you again for staying with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camano Island
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

We came here because of the trip advisor review and SOle Inn and Suites did not disappoint. It is in the heart of the city a block away from fun restaurants and shops. It's a great walk (1 mile) to the water. The rooms were standart motel rooms with an added streak of modern decor. I loved the fact that I could do laundry there. The breakfast and happy hour were great perks. Loved Amanda! She truly loves her job and it shows by how she welcomes you. All in all it was a great stay and we'll be back.

Room Tip: All the rooms have a little different decor, but all have been updated.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
onthegoalotAtlanta, General Manager at Sole Inn and Suites, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
Thank you so much for the great feedback you have given. I am truly happy your stay went great! Please come back when you get a chance.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gulf Breeze
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

This is the 3rd year in a row, I stayed at Sole' for New Years Eve. The staff is great and very accomodating. Mark & Amanda were great. Good location and never found parking to be a problem. Nice Happy Hour and great breakfast New Year's morning with Black-Eyed Peas. I've already made my reservations for next year if that tells you anything.

Room Tip: If you want to stay downtown - this is where you want to be.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
onthegoalotAtlanta, Owner at Sole Inn and Suites, responded to this review, January 12, 2013
Thank you for the great review! New Years is so much fun in downtown Pensacola and Sole' is right in the middle of all the action. I am so glad you have decided to come back for the 4th time! Mardi Gras is a blast too, we are the only Hotel in Pensacola on the fabulous Parade Route. See you next time. Alan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crestview, Florida
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

A small group of friends and I planned a two night/three day getaway to Pensacola January 2013. We didn't have a lot planned, but just wanted to get away and enjoy the downtown nightlife a little. Sole Inn and Suites was a perfect location. We were able to walk to the bars, restaurants, museums, etc. without having to find parking. The hotel staff were very friendly and quick to help when we asked questions. There was a complimentary breakfast and complimentary "happy hour" each evening from 5:00 - 7:00 with snacks and beer/wine. The rooms were clean, however they are small. They were perfect for our group of three couples, though, and the price couldn't be beat. There was some noise around the parking lot early in the mornings, but this was not the hotel's fault, of course. I would definitely stay at this location again if I needed a place to stay in that area.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
onthegoalotAtlanta, Owner at Sole Inn and Suites, responded to this review, January 12, 2013
THANK YOU! I am so glad you stayed with us. Sole' is great for a mini getaway. Glad you had a super time. Alan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midwest
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

They bill this place as a "boutique hotel," but it is an OLD budget hotel with a new coat of paint and some cheap Ikea furniture (at best). The rooms were dingy, the bathroom left MUCH to be desired (my husband could barely stand up in the tiny shower) and the amenities were non-existent. If you're looking for a cheap place to stay within walking distance of downtown Pensacola, this is your place. If you're looking for much of anything more, go somewhere else.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
onthegoalotAtlanta, Owner at Sole Inn and Suites, responded to this review, January 12, 2013
Thanks for recognizing my great staff....I am puzzled about your take on the hotel itself. We did a major reno not just a coat of paint all new everything down to the electrical and plumbing, windows , doors, sheetrock, trim, a/c, furniture( custom made not IKEA btw what's wrong with Ikea? All fixtures new etc. As far as amenities... micro and fridge in every room ,flat screens, coffee makers irons , free wifi free happy hour everyday free breakfast etc. free computer and station in lobby with free printing guest laundry...etc... need I go on ? Sorry we did not meet your expectations. Alan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sole Inn and Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sole Inn and Suites

Address: 200 N Palafox St, Pensacola, FL 32501
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Panhandle > Pensacola
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Romantic Hotel in Pensacola
#9 Family Hotel in Pensacola
#14 Business Hotel in Pensacola
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Sole Inn and Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Venere and Tingo so you can book your Sole Inn and Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sole Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sole Inn and Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.