We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice location and vibe” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Sole Inn and Suites

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Sole Inn and Suites to your Saves list
Sole Inn and Suites
2.5 of 5 Motel   |   200 N Palafox St, Pensacola, FL 32501   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 61 Hotels in Pensacola
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Nice location and vibe”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

I stayed at this property for two nights in October. Like others have said, it is an updated/remodeled motor lodge, and from a visual point of view they have done a good job of it. The rooms are on the small side, especially the bathroom, and is showing some wear (for example, the TV was small - 19 inch? 15 inch? - and not a flat-screen). The king-size bed was comfortable enough, and the wall-unit air/heat unit functioned properly.

On the plus side, the hotel has a prime location in the historic downtown corridor on Palofax St. In this regard, it is much better positioned then other nearby hotels. (Palofax is the main street, with tons of shops, bars, restaurants, etc. from the marina up to about where the hotel is, roughly 1.5 miles). The rate was reasonable for the quality of room and location, and the room was clean both before I arrived and cleaned during my stay. The front-desk staff were always nice and courteous.

On the down side, the parking lot is tiny (I'm not sure how crowded the hotel was when I was there, but there were times when the lot was full and guests were still coming in looking for someplace to park), the walls are paper thin, the window treatments are blinds rather than curtains (meaning that the room got very bright at the crack of dawn), and the wi-fi was awful.

If you are looking for a downtown experience, it's a pretty good choice. However, if you are in Pensacola on business there are plenty of Holiday Inn Express type places around. Likewise if you are planning on spending time at the Beach, in which case staying out at the beach is a better option.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
onthegoalotAtlanta, Owner at Sole Inn and Suites, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
Thank you for the review.....New flat screens are being installed this week! Hope you come back soon. Alan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

297 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    140
    102
    33
    14
    8
See reviews for
41
118
22
33
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Montgomery, Alabama
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

Wow! What a find. While this is a refurbished old Motor Lodge, they have done a great job. The attention to detail enhances both visual appeal and comfort level. It's clean, comfortable and, sort of, funky (in a good way). The staff was very friendly and accommodating. We enjoyed both the complementary breakfast and happy hour. Will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
onthegoalotAtlanta, Owner at Sole Inn and Suites, responded to this review, October 15, 2012
Wow what a great review! We sure do appreciate the kind words. We hope to see you back soon... just a short drive from Montgomery! Alan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Georgia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

My daughter & I have stayed at Sole 4 or 5 times in the past 2 years & the stay has always been great!!! The rooms are very comfortable, clean & attractive. Love the Happy Hour provided free by the hotel. Also, just a couple of blocks from all of the action in downtown Pensacola.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
onthegoalotAtlanta, Owner at Sole Inn and Suites, responded to this review, October 15, 2012
Thank you for your loyal support! Such a nice review. It is great to know you will be back. Alan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denham Springs
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

I recommend The Sole to many of my friends. The staff are extreemly helpful and friendly. I've never had any issues with staying here and is ALWAYS clean and fresh not like some chain hotels I have stayed in. Anytime I am in Pensacola I look up Sole first. It's got the look of retro which is so different. Kind of reminds me of my childhood days when traveling for vacation. Pretty cool placed to stay.

Tell them to ask for Mark.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
onthegoalotAtlanta, Owner at Sole Inn and Suites, responded to this review, October 15, 2012
It reminds me of traveling when I was a little Air Force brat :-) That is why I did not tear down and build new..... You just can't replace this style... Thanks again! Alan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012 via mobile

We stayed for one night before spending time in the beach. The staff was friendly and the rooms were clean. For the price it was great, but the linen was not soft and the furniture was flimsy. It was very clean and quiet for being right down town.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
onthegoalotAtlanta, Owner at Sole Inn and Suites, responded to this review, October 15, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review! Yes, we are clean and friendly... our furnishings are not from Tiffany's but they are comfortable and modern. Alan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012 via mobile

Not too attractive on the outside but the rooms are clean and comfortable - only drawback is the small TV. Convenient to downtown Pensacola and a mile from the water. Staff was friendly and helpful. Pricing was reasonable for the area.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
onthegoalotAtlanta, Owner at Sole Inn and Suites, responded to this review, October 15, 2012
Sometimes you can't judge a book by it's cover ( however I think our building is very attractive) Btw we are putting in all new flat screens this month. Thanks Alan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellevue, Nebraska
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012 via mobile

We stayed at the Sole Inn to attend an event in the Seville Quarter which was about a five minute walk. First glance reminds you of any motel from the 70's, but upon closet inspection it's a mostly modern hotel that has been renovated into the 21st century.
Front desk was friendly and helpful.
Free drinks and snacks at happy hour.
Room was modern except for the tube tv. Furniture, bed, and bathroom features appeared newer and very modern.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
onthegoalotAtlanta, Owner at Sole Inn and Suites, responded to this review, October 15, 2012
Thank you very much for the right on review! Our location just can't be beat. Walk to everything downtown has to offer ( and that is alot) New flat screens coming this month. Alan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Sole Inn and Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sole Inn and Suites

Address: 200 N Palafox St, Pensacola, FL 32501
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Panhandle > Pensacola
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Pensacola
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Sole Inn and Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia and Hotwire so you can book your Sole Inn and Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sole Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sole Inn and Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.