We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mediocre grilled grouper in a tight space; glad we used a restaurant.com voucher” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Fishermans Corner

Fishermans Corner
13486 Perdido Key Dr, Pensacola, FL 32507
+1 850-791-6914
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #10 of 580 Restaurants in Pensacola
Price range: $6 - $28
Cuisines: Cajun & Creole, Seafood, Pasta
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Doing business, Local cuisine, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Takeout, Late Night
Description: Fisherman's Corner is not much to look at from the outside but the food is fabulous and created by our chefs using only fresh Gulf seafood and the highest quality ingredients. It is an old fish camp with white linens, a world class wine list, and friendly service. Daily Chef specials are a "must try" with great local flavor, live piano music on weekends, families welcome, and reservations recommended. Open and serving a special holiday menu on both Christmas Eve and New Year's Eve! Make your reservations today!
Atlanta
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Mediocre grilled grouper in a tight space; glad we used a restaurant.com voucher”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012

Perhaps we should have ordered the grouper that was part of the daily special (which the server was pushing), but it was $28 v. the $22 for the plain grilled grouper, which didn't taste all that fresh. The small green salad that preceded the entree was the kind out of a bag. The small inside space was crowded and loud, and the room a/c was either blowing directly on us or off entirely (when we requested that it be turned down or redirected), making it stuffy inside. It appears the prices reflect the presence of "chefs" in the kitchen and the high Trip Advisor reviews, rather than that of competitors.

If you so go, get something other than plain grouper, and get a $25 restaurant.com voucher if you plan to go on a weeknight.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

482 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    309
    103
    42
    14
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Sevierville, TN
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Don't let the outside put you off!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012

This little place is a gem, with a slightly upscale menu compared to most Perdido Key eateries. It looks like a dive from the outside, but the inside is very clean, although crowded. You can't go wrong with anything on the menu. We have eaten there several times after church, and have never been disappointed. The wait staff are friendly and knowledgeable, and the prices are very reasonable for the food served. The owner manages by walking around, and it shows.

  • Visited February 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gulf Shores, Alabama
Top Contributor
171 reviews 171 reviews
120 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Could Be a 5 (BUT NEEDS Air Conditioning.....)”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

The food was great. The service was pretty good. but we were drenched in sweat. The only relief we had was when the door open to get outside air. The apetizers were awesome and the main course was wonderful.
It would be nice if they would ask the bus boys not to slam down the plates non stop. The guys bussing the tables were loud as could be.
Fix these two issues and I bump this place up to a 5!

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Amazing!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2012 via mobile

My husband and I went to try this place based on a friend's recommendation. Like everyone else, we were a little worried when we saw the outside. But we had heard such good things we decided to try it out.
Once we sat down, (after a very short wait) our waitress, Amanda, was there within 2 minutes! I was surprised because my experience in nicer restaurants has been that service takes longer. We soon realized that our waitress was also taking care of a large party right beside us, and assumed that we would be ignored in favor of the people spending more money. But we were wrong! She took plenty of time explaining things on the menu to us, and even making conversation.
We had the fried green tomatoes (a must-have!) And my husband had the seafood linguini which Amanda described as "heaven in a bowl" lol. It really was though! And I had the red snapper special which came with rice and spinach and it was covered in cheese. So good! We even had dessert which we almost never do because the fried cheesecake sounded so yummy. And it was definitely worth it!
We will be back for sure! One of my new favorite places.
My only complaint is that the power went out momentarily while we were eating and I guess the staff forgot to turn the ac back on because it got uncomfortably hot.
Oh, I almost forgot, the waitress told us the chef trained with Wolfgang Puck! Unbelievable!

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisiana
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“My new favorite restaurant on the key!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2012

My new favorite restaurant on the key! Driving by you could mistake this place for a shack. It's nothing to look at. Inside is a great fish restaurant. Apparently, the secret is out. On a weekend night the wait at 8 pm can be way over an hour! To accommodate the crowds, there is a limited bar serving on an outside deck. Ordered a glass of house wine and it was enormous, inexpensive and good. Just be warned that the bar is cash only (restaurant takes credit cards) and bring bug spray. The only bug bites I've gotten on the key were on that deck. Been back several times and don't know what to recommend since everything is so good. My advice to avoid the crowds is to go late on a weekday - and of course - go off season!

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fishermans Corner also viewed

Pensacola, Florida Panhandle
Pensacola, Florida Panhandle
 
Pensacola, Florida Panhandle
Pensacola, Florida Panhandle
 

Been to Fishermans Corner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fishermans Corner, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.