We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Yowza!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Tuscan Oven Pizzeria

The Tuscan Oven Pizzeria
4801 N 9th Ave, Pensacola, FL 32503-2446
850-484-6836
Website
Menu
Update restaurant details
Ranked #10 of 551 restaurants in Pensacola
Cuisines: Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Dessert
Houston
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Yowza!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

I have been slowly working my way through every restaurant in Pensacola since my husband has been working here for the past 6 months. I wish I had found this one sooner! I was looking forward to some good pasta, but decided to go with the pizza when I saw it coming out of the oven as they baked it. While we waited for the pizza we had the antipasto platter with pieces of baked pizza dough. Salami, prosciutto, artichoke hearts, tomato, fresh soft mozzarella, olives, etc. When the pizza came it had crunchy toasty crust and soooo much delicious cheese. But the dessert was what I was looking forward to: deep fried dough bites coated in powdered sugar and then drizzled with caramel sauce. When they came out I was surprised to discover they were beignets! They were gone before I realized it, but there must have been 6 or 8 of them - plenty to share. And the cherry on the whipped cream was they had my favorite chianti. We got there early-ish, about 5 pm and it was already full. By 6:30 or so when we left, people were taking seats on the patio even though it was only 40 degrees. It's a small house so be prepared for a slight wait if you come at dinner time. The locals love it - I saw the owner greet many of the patrons by name. If I lived here, I would be here regularly!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

114 reviews from our community

90% Recommend
    80
    23
    6
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Pensacola Beach, Florida, USA
Top Contributor
126 reviews 126 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“The Place Locals Go for Quality Pizza”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

Our favorite place for pizza in town. Fun to sit at the counter and watch them prepare the pizza and then bake it in a wood fired oven. Close to airport, Sacred Heart Hospital and Cordova mall. It's small - seats about 100 - so be prepared for a wait at meal times or order take-out.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Best Pizza In Gulf Coast Area”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012 via mobile

Simply the best pizza around. Love the food and the Atmosphere. Dina and Ted are great people and the staff is well trained and friendly. The only thing that could make this place better would be if they were open on Mondays!!!!

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pensacola, Florida
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Just like Pizza in Italy”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

We love this place greatest pizza .Serving staff is wonderful and if you catch it on the right day you can sit at the bar and talk to the owner while he fixes your pizza and puts it in the wood fired oven.
Fun and tasty

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pensacola, Florida
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“True Italian Pizza”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

Usually very reliable service and good food. Pizza cooked in real wood oven. Menu has a large variety of item so you'll normally find something for every palate. Lunch is usually very busy so might be a slight wait but as all the food is fresh it worth the wait.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Tuscan Oven Pizzeria also viewed

Pensacola, Florida Panhandle
Pensacola, Florida Panhandle
 
Pensacola, Florida Panhandle
Pensacola, Florida Panhandle
 

Been to The Tuscan Oven Pizzeria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Tuscan Oven Pizzeria, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.