We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“They reduced services offered because we booked with Priceline” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Palms Hotel, Spa and Golf Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Grand Palms Hotel, Spa and Golf Resort to your Saves list
Grand Palms Hotel, Spa and Golf Resort
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   110 Grand Palms Drive, Pembroke Pines, FL 33027   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
10% off room rate
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Pembroke Pines
Fort Lauderdale, FL
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“They reduced services offered because we booked with Priceline”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2012

We got a good deal on the room through Priceline. Arrived, checked in, there was no mini-fridge or microwave in the room. The desk advised they could be provided for a one-time additional $10 charge, so I paid it. Next morning, breakfast in the dining room, supposed to be complimentary, but no, again, we were "Priceline guests" and not entitled, had to pay for breakfast. No nearby shopping, just a Chevron with a snack shop inside. Publix a couple miles away. We did find out day two that there wasl also a lobby breakfast available, and it was free - make your own waffles, fruit, etc. Also had an unpleasant shock when my extra room key card was taken home by a bickering lover, I turned my card in at the desk and had the code changed, and an hour later he showed up, couldn't enter, went to the desk and they gave him a card. Not registered to the room, no ID asked for, just handed him a key card to my room. Extremely serious security violation, there. Room was small, out of date.

Room Tip: Don't book as a bid on Priceline, they treat you differently when you arrive.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matt W, Marketing Director at Grand Palms Hotel, Spa and Golf Resort, responded to this review, August 16, 2012
Dear jhussher,

We are here to provide an "And more experience" for our guests and anticipate our guests needs. Unfortunately we do not have you as a registered guest staying with us. I would like to address some of the issues you spoke of. All “Priceline guests” are entitled to the free continental breakfast. If this breakfast did not meet your needs then we have a full service restaurant on site. Within one mile of the resort there are over 10 restaurants. The security violation issue that you mention is complete erroneous. We follow strict protocols here and we would only give replacement key cards to registered guest. This guest must show a state ID card. You must have gotten this review messed up with another hotel and I am truly sorry for that.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

173 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    24
    46
    22
    32
    49
See reviews for
44
37
16
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Springfield, MO
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2012

It is regrettable when a country club has hotel rooms when they don't have much interest in the hotel's upkeep and remodeling over their attention to member services. The country club restaurant is good; service is good, but the hotel is severely outdated and not cared for; it's straight out of the early 90's. The hot water in the bar sink of my suite ran rust-water. The wi-fi was only useful near the pool making glare a major issue. You could not get wi-fi in the rooms (and I tried two rooms). The rooms were terribly musty as was the AC output. Being outdated, they cut the rate for the rooms severely making it a budget hotel, which made the clientele not match the upscale attempt. Weird. Pembrook Pines is a great location for business in Miami/Ft. Lauderdale if you have to get around. The area is also better than most south of there.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matt W, Marketing Director at Grand Palms Hotel, Spa and Golf Resort, responded to this review, August 16, 2012
Dear Virtualwork,
Thank you for your detailed review of our hotel. I am glad you liked our restaurant. I would like to apologize for the inconvenience you had with the wifi connection and room issues you experienced. Thank you for bringing this to our attention as this enables us to target problem areas and take the necessary actions to ensure similar situations can be avoided in the future.

Again, we appreciate the candid feedback we receive and welcome any opportunity to improve.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2012

It was not a pleasant experience. l don't even want to get into all the problems that
went on. The beds were not comfortable. I had to get the sheets changed the second night. There was no hot water.........shall i go on

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with cheaprooms.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matt W, Marketing Director at Grand Palms Hotel, Spa and Golf Resort, responded to this review, May 31, 2012
We are sorry to hear about your experience you had at Grand Palms Resort. This is the first we heard of this complaint. Every hotel in america is going green (ECO friendly). We do not change bed linen on multiple nights stays unless it is requested by guest and if your linen needed changing you could have advised our staff to change them. The hotel boiler system in one section of rooms did have mechanical issues for about 4 hours. Even the finest hotels have mechanical issues at times. We called all guests that were affected and offered them a room change. Our goal is to deliver our customers a great experienced at an affordable rate.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2012

Quick trip to see friends, convenient location, but the hotel and the rooms need major updating and cleaning.

Room Tip: Pool was nice, but the rooms need help.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matt W, Marketing Director at Grand Palms Hotel, Spa and Golf Resort, responded to this review, August 16, 2012
Dear RudyMilwaukee,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay with us. We work very hard to ensure our facilities and service are superior and we strive to be the best Hotel in Pembroke Pines Florida. I'm sorry you were not satisfied with the room accommodations you received. It is regrettable that we fell below your expectations. It is our goal to consistently provide superior service and accommodations at our hotel and your comments are very important to us. Again, thank you for posting your comments and we hope to serve you should your travels bring you back to Pembroke Pines Florida.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfield
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2012

Since we were to visit relatives in the area, didn't mind the 'outdated' reviews previously posted and found the very reasonable rates enticing.. As long as it was clean, safe and comfortable, we were fine since we were only 'sleeping' there. However, we only stayed one night due to the conditions of the rooms... Upon checking in, found the pool dirty. Since it was later in the day we gave up the pool idea and visited family. When we returned to the room late that night and was setting up the sleeper sofa we found that mattress filthy on the underside (major stains) (didn't want to undo the sheet to see what the sleeping side looked like). It was flat as a pancake and the headrest of the frame was tilted back into the sofa so your head was pitched downward. Decided to close that up and sleep on top of the sofa. The second bed had springs completely shot and the center of it felt like a board. The refrigerator self defrosted and never got cold. The helpful staff suggested we change rooms. We packed up everything and moved. This room was a little better however, the air conditioning unit was extremely loud impeding sleep and there was an odor (air-freshener?). There weren't many rooms booked and we felt uncomfortable with the isolation. We checked out the next morning. The staff was helpful and polite. The hotel owners should invest in restoring the rooms as this property does have potential. Relatives in the area said, in it's hayday, this was a very beautiful and respected resort.

Room Tip: Check the room out completely before unpacking
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matt W, Marketing Director at Grand Palms Hotel, Spa and Golf Resort, responded to this review, May 31, 2012
We certainly apologize but also respectfully disagree. Our pool here at the resort is maintained daily by an outside pool service company. If there is a storm later in the day and debris lands in the pool. The pool company will take care of it the following morning. At our hotel we take customer complaints seriously and if a customer is upset we will do everything to make them happy. Including changing of a room whether we feel it's warranted or not. When our staff was notified that the customer was unhappy, we immediately moved them to a new room. The manager will follow up with any guest complaint as soon as he is notified. Our housekeeping manager inspected the room and did not find the mattress underside dirty or refrigerator not working properly. We also will not keep a room in service if the mattress springs are not working properly. Our staff did the right thing and moved the unhappy customer to a new room. Mechanical problems do arise even in the finest of hotels and we were never notified about the AC unit until afterwards. At such time our Mechanical Engineer inspected the unit and did not find any issues. We can assure you that our establishment runs one of the finest operations here in South Florida.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coral Springs
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2012

Stayed at the hotel this past weekend (april). Had a business workshop at the hotel. I was only there for 2 days and enjoyed my mini trip. The food at the latin restraurant was delicious. The rooms are average but clean. I would stay here again. The check out process was fast. The golf course was fun to play but the weather was off & on with rain :-(

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matt W, Marketing Director at Grand Palms Hotel, Spa and Golf Resort, responded to this review, August 4, 2012
Dear Rod T,
Simply put, thank you very much for such a nice review. We are glad that you choose to stay at Grand Palms Resort. I will certainly share your nice comments with our restaurant staff. You are absolutely correct ... the food is delicious. I do like to say that the staff is our secret weapon. Sorry about the unforeseen weather. South Florida has it tropical weather days. We will be glad to have you back in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clearwater, Florida
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2012

We were at the Grand Palms for an overnight stay. We picked it for it's location (off 1-75) and reasonable price. We we quickly impressed with the buildings and grounds on arrival but once inside in the lobby and the room, we found them to be the equal of a cheap motel. The room furnishings are adequate but dated. Window air-conditioning was loud and shower made a squealing noise when water was running. Complementary breakfast was not worth the trouble.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matt W, Marketing Director at Grand Palms Hotel, Spa and Golf Resort, responded to this review, August 16, 2012
Dear Mark3648,

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments. I am glad you liked our buildings & grounds. I am very disappointed to hear about your experience with us. I want to assure you our hotel is very proud of its level of service and quality of its product. I just wish that you would of told us that you were not satisfied with your room. We want to make every guest here feel satisfied. Please accept my sincerest apology for falling short of your expectations on this day. Again, we appreciate the candid feedback we receive and welcome any opportunity to improve.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Grand Palms Hotel, Spa and Golf Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Palms Hotel, Spa and Golf Resort

Address: 110 Grand Palms Drive, Pembroke Pines, FL 33027
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Pembroke Pines
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Pembroke Pines
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Grand Palms Hotel, Spa and Golf Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 137
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With 137 comfortable rooms and suites located on a 27 hole golf course with all of the amenities that you would expect of a first class golf facility including a pro shop, excellent food and beverage services and a staff that is ready to cater to your every whim. Minutes from South Florida's famed beaches and some of the best shopping in the country we invite you to relax at our resort while having access to all that South Florida has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, BookIt.com, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Priceline, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Grand Palms Hotel, Spa and Golf Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Palms Hotel, Spa And Golf Hotel Pembroke Pines
Grand Palms Pembroke Pines

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Palms Hotel, Spa and Golf Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.