We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely Delicious Cuban Food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of LA Carreta Restaurant

LA Carreta Restaurant
301 N University Dr, Pembroke Pines, FL 33024-6717
954-966-8161
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #13 of 305 Restaurants in Pembroke Pines
Price range: $0 - $20
Cuisines: Cuban
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Fort Worth, Texas
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
207 helpful votes 207 helpful votes
“Absolutely Delicious Cuban Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2013

I live in Fort Worth, TX where we don't really have any good Cuban restaurants, so I really enjoy my trips to south Florida. The BEST Cuban food I've ever had is at the La Carreta Restaurant in Pembroke Pines. My favorite meal there is “Vaca Frita” which consist of Shredded Beef Grilled with Onions and Cuban Mojo. It is served with Moros Rice and Sweet Plantains. The serving sizes are enough for a hungry man and the prices are reasonable. You won't find a more helpful wait staff anywhere. I highly recommend this great reastaurant.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    31
    21
    5
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Antonio, Texas
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Best salad I've nearly ever eaten!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013

I had their La Carreta mixed salad with sliced chicken breast. It was a hearty meal. Delicious assortment of greens, grape tomatoes, cubes of feta, fresh pineapple at one end of the oval plate and a cubed mango at the other. It was a delicious combination!

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“The best cuban food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

They have mastered the cuban cuisine. ..just superb. Family atmosphere, great service and really really good food..I have never tried anything bad here.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pembroke Pines, Florida
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Ladies serving at the window should be trained/re-trained.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013 via mobile

I have always eaten at La Carreta in Miami and was pleasantly surprised at the new location right here in my neighborhood. Needless to say, I ventured out for cafecito and sandwich.
Staff-->Upon my arrival, I noticed that the 2 ladies at the window were engaged in conversation with a customer who was already served. My presence was not acknowledged. They continued their conversation until another customer arrived. He was served his coffee by one of the ladies, before I was even asked for my order. Apparently he was a regular and they knew exactly what he wanted. No excuse. This I found to be very rude and shows a lack of training. La Carreta should train its servers. This is South Florida. Service matters.
Atmosphere-->I found the interior of the take-out window location to be very filthy/dirty. The floor has bits of trash that obviously was there for quite a few days. The surfaces need to be washed with soap and bleach.
Food-->Excellent sandwich and coffee. Just clean up the floor and surfaces and train the ladies at the window.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Favorite Cuban Restaurant in South Florida”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

We've been to a couple of La Carreta restaurants in South Florida but this one is the furthest North so we visit this one most often. The food here is consistently good. The lamb shank is awesome. The oxtail stew they serve on Saturdays is also very good. Basically everything I've had here is good. The service in the dining room is usually efficient but business-like. The dining room carpet has seen better days and a make-over wouldn't hurt but otherwise it's still a favorite. La Carreta has quite the dessert assortment but the Tres Leches cake is the best I've ever had.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed LA Carreta Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to LA Carreta Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage LA Carreta Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.