We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“French of course” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Cook ' n Paris - CLOSED

Cook ' n Paris
20170 Pines Blvd, Pembroke Pines, FL 33029
(954) 374-8183
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Description: west pembroke pines, fl 33029
Restaurant details
Description: west pembroke pines, fl 33029
New Hope, Pa
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“French of course”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

We recently had dinner at this restaurant. It is in a shopping center and looks very pretty. It is large but whenever we go there, there are very few people dining. They have a bakery adjoining the restaurant. Their menu selection is extensive but everything is priced reasonably. I selected veal milanese which came with little round deep fried potatoes and vegetables. My husband had a chicken dish with mango chutney which he really enjoyed too. The service was by the owners daughter and very good.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

32 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    8
    4
    1
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Miramar, Florida
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“A Gem in West Pines and Miramar”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013 via mobile

It is very hard to find this kind of restaurants around here. It is true that it is small, it is true that not many people visit it but is is also true that the food is excellent and that the owners are always trying their best. If this restaurant had a better location it would be packed.

We went for breakfast and besides the selection that is very good, the crepe that we ordered was done to perfection. The jelly that they serve is home made and it was out of this world. As you can expect the bread is such a treat.

I am coming back for Valentines with my wife for dinner, the menu looks excellent with such dishes as lobster, duck and lamb. I can't wait.

The prices are fine along with the quality of the food. Again, I wish the could find a better eastern location.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
miami
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Ok if you are already in the neighborhood.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012 via mobile

We arrived to no welcome and just one poor guy waiting all the tables. This is small place very far west on Pines Blvd., where they appear to be literally the only game in town. Menu was a good mix of selections but as the waiter told us the fish is frozen so that eliminates those choices for us. The specials seemed pricey for what they were. I had a shellfish dish and my husband had mousaka. The food was really just average. But I give the place kudos for having a delicious chocolate soufflé ( order ahead) and a few other chocolate deserts on the menu. Enjoyed the French red wine - it was nice to have a good wine (by the glass) that was reasonably priced. If you are already in the neighborhood this place is fine but I would not travel to try it. The ambiance could use a little help, it's a bit stark so have to give that an average rating too.

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Not a top quality French restaurant but then again it's Pembroke Pines”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

Smal restaurant in a distant shopping center from civilization. The soup special (carrot/ginger) was excellent but the rest of the meal was disappointing. Had the seafood gratin (in a while cream sauce) and the special Moussaka offered that night. WARNING: the specials are grossly overpriced and they don't tell you the price unless you ask. When the steak on the menu is priced at $23 you can't imagine that the Moussaka special would cost $26 or the Flounder would be $29. Make them state the price of each special and you'll most like avoid them and take something off the menu. Asked the waiter about the mahi mahi and he admitted it as all frozen.
Imagine the shrimp and scallops are also frozen. Bread was disappointing for a French restaurant -- butter came in little peal off containers. The chocolate souffle (have to order at beginning of meal was $9.50) -- was OK but not outstanding. At least it wasn't frozen. There was only one waiter for all the tables on a Friday night so service was slow -- always had to ask for more water -- and then they tacked 18% on the bill -- with that level of service no wonder they do that! I think they need to rethink calling themselves a French restaurant.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Wow”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012

Small family run place and I just love the food. The wines are top notch; the menu serves both traditional and modern European cuisine. Service can be hit and miss but hey that’s what you get when you employ your kids! I found prices reasonable for the quality of the food although be aware 18% is tacked onto your bill every time, so make sure you check before whacking down your credit card. Also has a patisserie in house so the pastries have never disappointed. In fact I took chocolate croissants from here to my kids school one day and kids and teachers alike raved about how good they were! I will return again and I suggest you do also.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cook ' n Paris also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cook ' n Paris, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.