We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice but outdated.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ocean Towers Beach Club

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Ocean Towers Beach Club to your Saves list
Ocean Towers Beach Club
11211 West US Highway 98, Front Beach Rd., Panama City Beach, FL 32407   |  
Hotel amenities
Enterprise, Alabama
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Nice but outdated.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2012 via mobile

Needs to be remodled but the staff is nice, the rooms are clean. The pool and jacuzzi and adiquite.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    33
    15
    11
    20
See reviews for
37
31
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Terre Haute, IN
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2012

We've been going to Ocean Towers for several years now, Labor Day week, and LOVE IT!!!! Yes, it isn't your fancy, schmantzy new high rise with all of the bells and whistles, but IS a great place to go and just relax. They are continually upgrading/renovating the property. Great location, walking distance to anything you need, clean and comfy. Units face the beach. Great view. Staff goes out of their way to accomodate eveyone. LOVE the in room jacuzzi! Great place to go and just veg at the beach. What else matters??????

We've travelled all over, and for the money, this place is a great value.

Negative reviews just show that some people aren't happy with anything.....

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2012

We just returned from a six night stay at Oceans Towers Beach Club. From the reviews, I did not expect much and even less in customer service. Our experience was definitely good. We were placed on the top floor facing the spectacular beach and ocean and all rooms have the same view. This is a 30 year old property, but they work hard to keep it updated and well maintained.

During February, they do a lot of renovation. In fact, two doors away, they were putting new tile throughout the condo. They provided a letter of apology upfront, but there was no need Unlike newer properties, the walls appeared to be thicker and we barely heard the saws and pounding. It was a pleasant surprise. We had the good fortune to receive a recently renovated apartment and everything was immaculate with new tile and state of the art Jaccussi tub. The cabinets were nice and when they replace appliances, etc., they tend to use higher standards in replacements.

The staff was very responsive to us and went out of their way to make certain we were pleased with the property and service. We had a couple maintenance issues and they were prompt and helpful in solving the problems. This is not a five star property, but it is comfortable, quiet and has a spectacular view. It is well priced and near grocery stores, lovely restaurants and wonderful beach walking right out your back door.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2012

Stayed at the Ocean Towers during February 2012. Driving into PCB you see some nice new buildings, Ocean Towers is not one of them. I wouldnt call the check-in staff rude, rather they just didn't want to be bothered interacting with the clients. They were more worried about explaining possible fines than they were with things like where the room was, amenities etc... The units themselves show their age. The kitchen is ok with all the necessary appliances and such. The living room furniture is awful and will give u a back ache if you sit on it. The master bedroom is large with a nice jacuzzi tub though the bed has an older mattress that was uncomfortable after a couple nights. The balcony was wonderful for the two bedroom unit. It was large and plenty of furniture.

The exercise room is a joke with older equipment from the early 80's. After one trip I never stepped foot in there again. Plus you have to get a key for the room so if you work out ealy or late you are out of luck since staff is not there 24 hours. Let me rephrase that, the only staff who was there at night was a security guard. Not exactly sure what he was guarding since most of time he was sitting underneath our unit smoking. Guests get fined $100 a day for smoking on balconies but their guard constantly smoked near us.

The walls are paper thin here and you can hear conversations and furniture moving in other rooms. This leads me to my biggest complaint. The unit next to and below mine were being renovated so at 730 every morning I would hear hammering and saws, this included Saturday and Sunday mornings. I would also hear music coming from these sites and worker conversations as they took breaks on the balcony. Instead of hearing crashing waves, I got to hear them arguing with their girlfriends on the phone, usually while smoking.

The place is right on the beach and has a great view. However I can not recommend based on being awoken each morning by construction, Disturbed throughout the day by construction, non-existent staff, a useless exercise room, and living room furniture that will make you unable to walk straight for a week.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgia, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2012

I stayed several weeks ago ( off season) and honestly i didnt want to leave a bad review but as i read the different comments i realized that rudeness and sorry customer service was a normal practice of this business... I did not appreciate being woke up at 7:30 every morning by jack hammers and drilling.. the refridgerator was not working...There was mold in our washing machine....unfriendly staff ignored the guest and acted as if what i was asking about was a foreign language...the rule book says that guest arent to be loud and disturb others but yet they dont seem to mind their staff members that disturbed the guest... However we made friends with an elderly couple whom we would go eat with and such, they were fined for smoking, which they didnt smoke because the lady was highly allergic to the smoke!!!
Anyone who stays here is setting themself up to be scammed by the manager Bob... Shame on the managers for allowing this... I would NEVER recommend this place... stay somewhere where you arent made to feel like a criminal!!!!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlottesville, Virginia
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2011

From some of the reviews below you might think this place is not the greatest, but it definately is a good place to stay. its not a 5 star hotel but the place is huge. My wife and I stayed in a 1 bed condo for a week here are some of the things i loved about it:
1. Its right on the beach, you go down the elevator and the beach is right there
2. Plent of parking space, you get a parking tag and you are good to go.
3. The apartment is HUGE. We had a 1 bed room. There are 2 full bathrooms, a full kitchen and a living room. Its just a little smaller than my apartment back home.
4. The kitchen is fully equipped with a mircowave, dishwasher, all the utensile you would need and cutlery. I mean how much better can it get. Though on vacation we ate dinner a couple times at the apartment.
5. TV in the living room and bedroom. This was fantastic
6. The view: The best I have known, its an unblocked view of the water, its amazing to wake up to the blue water right there.
7. There are so many towels, you wouldnt know what to do with them.
8. I almost forgot, this place has a washer dryer in the aprtment itself, how amazing.

We didnt expect this place to be the best, but it has definately beaten our expectations. If we come back to PCB we will definately be staying here again.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fenton, MO
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2011

My husband and I just returned last evening from spending a week at Ocean Towers in Panama City Beach, FL. It was one of the best vacations we have ever experienced. There are numerous negative reviews about Ocean Towers on this site, but we don't have much to complain about. Check-in was quick and easy, definitely no compalints there. As indicated by others, the building is dated compared to others in the area, however it's very clean and well maintained for its age. The kitchen was well stocked with the bare necessities and our king size bed was wonderful. The living room furniture was not very comfortable, but it was decent for our short stay. It would have been nice to have screens on the sliding glass doors, that way the calming sounds of the ocean water and fresh air could be enjoyed without the fear of birds or insects flying into the condo unit. It was super nice to have a washer/dryer in the unit without having to use a community style laundry facility within the building. Twice I had issues with my door key (card) not working, but the office replaced it after the second time and I never had any more problems. Everyone was very nice at Ocean Towers and it was a fabulous week on the beach.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ocean Towers Beach Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Towers Beach Club

Address: 11211 West US Highway 98, Front Beach Rd., Panama City Beach, FL 32407
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Panhandle > Panama City Beach
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #63 of 78 Specialty Lodging in Panama City Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 98
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia so you can book your Ocean Towers Beach Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean Towers Beach Club Hotel Panama City Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ocean Towers Beach Club, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.