We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This is a lousy hotel. Do not stay here.” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel at the Boardwalk Beach Resort

Save Saved
You added Hotel at the Boardwalk Beach Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel at the Boardwalk Beach Resort
2.5 of 5 Resort   |   9600 South Thomas Drive, Panama City Beach, FL 32408 (Formerly Howard Johnson)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #40 of 43 Hotels in Panama City Beach
san antonio
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“This is a lousy hotel. Do not stay here.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

The view is great but they are not responsible for it. The things they are responsible for were absolutely awful. Roaches, cold water, noisy A/C, few room amenities, two tiny pillows, a nasty freight elevator was all that worked. An "out of order" sign on the other elevator was old and curled up. Service sucked and attitude was bad. They had a cafe, a club on site and both were closed. All the ceilings were peeling. There were exposed pipes and tacked on electrical outlets. They provided a coupon for "breakfast" that said, One glass of juice OR a cup of coffee and a breakfast sandwich. You had to leave the building and walk over to the condo building to get this remarkable and generous meal. The pool area looked OK until you got into the water and then you realized that the sides were greasy and not clean. This was a horrible experience. The building needs to be closed and completely renovated. DO NOT STAY HERE. I have photos and I will post them.

Room Tip: Go somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

246 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    24
    31
    43
    134
See reviews for
68
43
2
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Nashville, Tennessee
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

We arrived on Saturday afternoon and hit a good time without a line and even though we were early, they let us go ahead and check in.

I had booked directly thru royal American and they matched the rate I found on Bookit. I had called the hotel because I was concerned about the room descriptions as they were listed.

We booked a 2 bed with sofa sleeper, fridge and microwave gulfview which is oceanfront.

Normally we stays at Shores of Panama but this was last minute so we decided to just book a hotel room. The fun thing was though that I did not have to worry about the kids messing anything up because it wasn't so fancy. and the beach just was not as crowded as it is up next to Pineapple willys and shores of panama.

The first room we got was in the Tides bldg. and was totally horrendous. We opened the door to the room and it was hot but it smelled awful but we figured out it was because they had cleaned the carpet and it was still wet. The air in this room did not work and the bathroom was sort of small with no vanity.

I called the front desk and talked to Tammy who checked us in and she quickly offered to move us. We had to wait until a room was ready but she moved us to the bldg attached to the check in counter and it was so much better. The people at the front desk were all really nice especially Tammy and Cornesha.

The new room was very clean and they even had put towels on the bed shaped into a swan.....cute. The view was great and everything worked. Housekeeping was very good about not being intrusive but making sure you had what you needed. I called to get an extra blanket and extra coffee and got both pretty quickly.

They also had included two breakfast coupons for each day of our stay and since there were three of us, the café let us use three even though they had a different date on them so we did not have to buy breakfast but one day the whole stay.

I can't say enough good things about our stay.

the cons:

while we had a fridge and a microwave, it would have been nice to have had at least some kind of counter space or table near it to sit stuff on.

it has a balcony but no chairs to sit on.....kind of missed drinking coffee on the balcony

nothing fancy at all but this ended up being a pro too

was not impressed at all with the room in the tides bldg which seemed really run down

the pros:

staff was all nice

right on the beach and the beach was not crowded

free breakfast each morn

nothing fancy so no need to worry about coming in frm the beach and dripping and stuff

nice clean pools

location is great

Room Tip: do not take a room in the tides bldg without looking at it first
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

I'm writing this review about 4 months late, but I just had too write a review. This is by far the worst hotel I've ever stayed in. Came for spring break and me and my friends were beyond disappointed. Stayed for 5 days room service came a total of one time. Our bathroom was leaking when we checked in told the front desk about it and they did nothing about it. We had to keep towels on the floor the whole time. There was mold on the bathroom walls and there was a hole in the wall that we had to cover up with a towel because it was disgusting to look at. The walls were extremely moist and the room was stuffy. Front desk was extremely rude and unprofessional.....we dreaded coming back to our hotel room every night. The only reason we stayed here because this was the only hotel that had rooms available on the beach. Totally not worth it. THAT BAD.! I would not recommend this hotel to anybody.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, Alabama, United States
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013 via mobile

We checked into this room on a family vacation. We has several rooms and upon arrival only 3 were available. Once everyone got checked in we only had one guest whos room wasn't ready and they offered him a room on the 3rd floor which was on a different floor from all other guest od our party. Once he got to the room he was checked into he found housing keeping cleaning the room which means the room wasn't available. It was 5 30 b4 they got checked in bc they had to wait on house keeping to get done. ( check in is at 4 ) We had a beer in our refrigerator. Another guest had bloody tissue on the back of her toliet. We went threw 3 irons b4 getting a working one and our room had no remote. We only had enough tissue for one use and it took 30 minutes to get more. I called a manager and it took 2 weeks for them to call me to say they would offer a discount on our NEXT stay with them.. REALLY.??? TAKE MY ADVICE AND PAY A LITTLE MORE MONEY AND STAY AT A NICE HOTEL. O and our roll away sheet was dirty. There's not enough light in the rooms and the beds are HARD. we were a mad family when we left. Also they add on resort fees and dont even tell you. It just shows up on ur receipt

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

I have stayed there twice(two years in a row) and have had a great time on both trips. Location is incredible. Walking distance to Pineapple Willy's, Club La Vela, Spinnakers Beach Club Bar and Grill. Short driving distance to St. Andrews Park, Pier Park shopping mall, WonderWorks, Ripley's Believe It or Not Museum and Gulfworld Marine Park. Lots of great restaurants close by. Staff is friendly. On site Bar and Grill and cafeteria are very nice and affordable. Two beautiful swimming pools. Lots of beach activities including volleyball and rentals for Jet skis, Banana Boat and Parasailing in front of resort. Close to several shuttle services to Shell Island. Rooms are clean and beds are comfortable. Only a few signs of wear from beach partiers probably Spring Break. Great for families. I will stay here again.

Room Tip: Tides building has beautiful views of the beach and is four floors high. One swimming pool in front...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, North Carolina
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

We thought we would give the room a try since it had a beach view and nice location when we checked into our beach view room it had one small window which was covered by broken blinds and once forced open was blocked by a palm tree. The room smelled terrible so we went to the front desk and asked for a different room, we were given a first floor room with a door leading to the beach and it seemed better but once we settled in and kicked off our shoes we stepped onto wet carpet! So wet it was squishy when you stepped on it! Then we noticed when you sat down how bad the carpet smelled it was disgusting! Trust me the reviews are true, too much to pay for a smelly wet room!!!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Little Rock, Arkansas
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

We were trying to find somewhere cheap and on the beach to stay two nights, these cost us $320+ and the rooms were $40 a night quality. They claimed the hotel was more full than usual so there was NO parking... we were directed to an overflow lot a half mile down the road that was unlit, gravel and had 3 cars parked in it. We drove around for over an hour looking for a parking place to open up to avoid parking there since there was no security and we were two girls that would of had to walk back in the dark. We weren't going to leave a new Camaro to be broken into, there were shady people hanging out in the parking lot (was right by the club on a sat night). We told the front desk that we paid way too much for a room to not get a parking spot. By this time, three other families were with us demanding that they move the cones in the parking spots they apparently call tow away zones. I asked if we could park there until we left in the morning and they told us we would be towed right away, after telling us they don't tow cars until 5am. I asked for our money back for the night and they told us it was after midnight and they couldn't refund us. Didn't work with us at all, rude. Rooms were discusttttingggggg. We slept with our own blankets and towels over the sheets and pillows. No balcony, the ground outside of the rooms was filthy and a lady said her son found a hypodermic needle on the ground by the pool. I've stayed at plenty of run down hotels but never one this bad or with staff that would do absolutely nothing to make you feel better about all the money you spent.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel at the Boardwalk Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel at the Boardwalk Beach Resort

Address: 9600 South Thomas Drive, Panama City Beach, FL 32408 (Formerly Howard Johnson)
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Panhandle > Panama City Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Panama City Beach
#21 On the Beach Hotel in Panama City Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel at the Boardwalk Beach Resort 2.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, BookIt.com, Tingo, Priceline, Travelocity, Venere and Otel so you can book your Hotel at the Boardwalk Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel At The Boardwalk Beach Panama City Beach
Resort At The Boardwalk Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel at the Boardwalk Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.