We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dark Moldy Smelling” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel at the Boardwalk Beach Resort

Save Saved
You added Hotel at the Boardwalk Beach Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Hotel at the Boardwalk Beach Resort
2.5 of 5 Resort   |   9600 South Thomas Drive, Panama City Beach, FL 32408 (Formerly Howard Johnson)   |  
Hotel amenities
Port Saint Lucie, Florida
1 review
“Dark Moldy Smelling”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

PLEASE read the comments and take them seriously. Right now we are sitting in a "Gulf View" room on the second floor... Wish we had read the reviews or checked the room first... The girls at the desk were RUDE! (Should have been our first clue!). Everything in the room is damp feeling and smells moldy. There are two low watt lamps, no ice machine on the floor and no directions to one, no luggage racks available and no help offered... The ONLY one who was pleasant the lady who took our reservation and she acted like she was doing us a huge favor! Right, there are empty rooms everywhere! Oh, don't let me forget we did actually get some help finding a luggage rack.. One of the guys who was carting trash was very helpful in telling us that he'd seen one on the 5th floor and we did find the rickety rack there. Most of the hotels offer free Wi-Fi, here you have to pay a "resort fee" to use the Wi-Fi, pool and parking. STAY SOMEWHERE ELSE! This place needs to be on the hotel makeover show!

Room Tip: Find another hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

190 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    11
    23
    19
    28
    109
See reviews for
52
37
1
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Jupiter, Florida
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

We were driving through Panama City Beach not intending to stay, but it was just so nice! Lots of fun things and restaurants in the area. We drove around looking for a nice little hotel on the beach, not a skyscraper, and found the boardwalk hotel. It was clean and secure! The beach was absolutely beautiful--warm water, soft white sand, and very gentle waves. The best part was that the beach is a few steps from your room! I would certainly stay here again, I don't really understand all of the negative reviews. I guess people can't deal with a little sand (oh no filth!) Haha, don't let the negative reviews discourage you, it is a great place!!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Homewood, Alabama, United States
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

Please heed my warning!!! I read these reviews and went anyway. I normally stay in one star cheap motels, and I thought this couldn't be any worse. Boy was I wrong! Those motels are the Ritz compared to this place. My room was what I expect from a place that charges $50 a night not $100. The furniture was broken, the beds were awful, there wasn't even any complimentary shampoo for guests. This all pales in comparison to the cleanliness of the room. When we were settling in we moved the bed covers to discover a dirty, used CONDOM ON THE FLOOR. But, it didn't stop there, oh no, there was dirty underwear under the bed and condom wrappers everywhere. Im pretty sure they didn't even look under the beds. Please don't waste your money... go stay at the Travelers lodge down the road and use the money you save to drive to the public beach. I am still waiting to hear back from the manager to see if I will get my money back for this horrible experience. We'll see.

Room Tip: Any where but this "resort".
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fayetteville, Georgia
Top Contributor
579 reviews 579 reviews
108 hotel reviews
Reviews in 120 cities Reviews in 120 cities
258 helpful votes 258 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

We stayed here for a youth conference. Our room seemed like a regular room, but a little small. Bathroom was very small. The worse part about our stay was the staff. They were so rude, and not helpful at. Pool was dirty, it had sand and seaweed in it. The food were we served at bought at a little restuarant was horrible, worse than summer camp food, and a Days Inn breakfast. (By the way I like breakfast's at Days Inn.) Overall, we didn't enjoy it and we will not br coming back. I also don't recommend this hotel to anyone.

Room Tip: Look for a different hotel! Spend the money elsewhere!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

The only good thing about this hotel is the location. It is right on the beach, close walk to club La Vela, Spinnaker and other bars.
Stayed with 5 friends in a small room on the first floor. Many things were missing in the room, and there was no housekeeping except for change of towels everyday. No washer and dryer at the hotel. The room was dirty and the phone didn't work.
If you get a super cheap price for this go for it. But all else AVOID!
I had a great time at PCB, but it definitely wasn't because of the hotel room.

Room Tip: Have a room in the main Boardwalk if anything, our room was on the side. Avoid
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pune
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

Booked a room at this hotel purely for Beach view, and was given a ground floor room which was just besides the swimming pool. No view. No Balcony.
Smelly depleted Rooms, super small bathrooms, window blinds not working, Door locking mechanism not working, bad customer service, all in all, our entire trip was wasted because of this hotel.

Room Tip: Do not agree for ground floor rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013 via mobile

After reading the reviews, I was apprehensive about staying here. I have to say I was pleasantly surprised. Great location, the room looked exactly like the pictures provided, the staff was pleasant and the courtyard and beach access areas were clean.
We saw plenty of staff present in the common areas, they were constantly picking up trash dropped by the spring break crowd and emptying the trash cans located in multiple locations around the courtyard.
The room was clean, especially the bathroom and mini fridge. I even checked corners and found nothing! The beds were okay, not the most comfortable, but the sheets were clean.
We enjoyed our stay, especially the price. You can't beat it for a short vacation.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel at the Boardwalk Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel at the Boardwalk Beach Resort

Also Known As:
Hotel At The Boardwalk Beach Panama City Beach
Hotel At The Boardwalk Beach
Resort At The Boardwalk Beach
Address: 9600 South Thomas Drive, Panama City Beach, FL 32408 (Formerly Howard Johnson)
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Panhandle > Panama City Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Panama City Beach
#20 On the Beach Hotel in Panama City Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel at the Boardwalk Beach Resort 2.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Tingo, BookIt.com, Hotels.com, Venere and Otel so you can book your Hotel at the Boardwalk Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel at the Boardwalk Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.