We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I Really Like This Hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Beachcomber by the Sea

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Beachcomber by the Sea to your Saves list
Beachcomber by the Sea
2.5 of 5 Resort   |   17101 Front Beach Road, Panama City Beach, FL 32413   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 45 Hotels in Panama City Beach
Oak Ridge, Tennessee
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“I Really Like This Hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

I've stayed at the Beachcomber 12 times, each time for a week, this in itself is a wonderful testimonial and ranks it very high on my list. It's very charming, the staff are friendly and helpful, the property is very well maintained and very clean albeit not quite as up-to-date as some much newer hotels. It's on the quieter west end of Panama City Beach (PCB), less developed, but there is enough within walking distance ( a mile) to be able to park the car for a week and leave it there. There is not much to the continental breakfast but certainly enough to get me through to lunch, juice, coffee ( available 24 hours), muffins, bagels, and a few other things. The outdoor heated pool is always clean as is the hot tub, sometimes you need to ask them to turn on the heat to the pool. It sits right on the beach and every room has a balcony facing it. The rooms all have outside access and I thought this would bother me in feeling less secure as compared to inside access rooms, however this has not been the case, the property feels very safe and secure. You have to pay for internet access, affordable by the week but pricey for one day, in today's world, charging for internet access is not in tune with the times and quite frankly is annoying.

There are times to avoid going unless you are a college student or a motorcyclist. The Thunder Beach Motorcycle Rally is held in PCB twice yearly, I was there once and kind of enjoyed the tail end of the event, but it was hard to sleep because of the noise. I've never been there on Spring or Fall break but I could imagine it to be rowdy.

Overall a very good value.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

382 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    140
    133
    39
    35
    35
See reviews for
128
104
9
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

My two sisters and I went down to Panama City for a 5 night stay. The room was not the fanciest...but for the price..it was great! We had a lovely balcony to watch the sunsets and had a great view of the beach. Our only complaints: Wi-Fi should be free, continental breakfast was pretty meager, the refrigerator was leaking a little bit towards the end of the trip. We will most definitely be back!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manteca, California
Level Contributor
216 reviews
112 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

We really loved this place. Nice bedroom, Living room and a kitchen.. The view is great. I think all the rooms have a great view of the ocean and we also had a balcony with some chairs to watch the sunset.. WE loved the ocean.. Warm water, nice beach. Breakfast was just some bagles and muffins ,but ok. WE would definitely come again.. Only complaint was no Free Internet.. In this day we think there should be free internet everywhere.. Silly to have to pay.

Room Tip: Pick an upper room... floor 5 or above for the best views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perry, Georgia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

We enjoyed our stay at Beachcomber by the Sea! Very nice staff and a great place to stay! Close to Dusty's and within walking distance of Pier Park! Will be back next year! There is also a little café, Emmas Two, within walking distance that serves a delicious breakfast! Winn Dixie is close also.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenwell Springs, Louisiana
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

My husband and I wanted to take our daughter and a friend to the beach before she started her senior year of high school. Since this was a last minute trip, we did not have time to save up for a huge expense. I found this hotel, and after researching it, we decided to book. For the price, we weren't expecting anything over the top, but we were so surprised when we arrived. The odds were stacked against us from the time we tried to leave. My A/C went out in my car, and my husbands truck is not big enough to accommodate all of us and our gear, so we had to make a detour which put us leaving about 4 hours later than planned. We finally got to the hotel just before 5 am and were exhausted. I called ahead to make sure we could check in so late, and the staff was so wonderful. They ensured us that everything would be ready when we got there. They delivered and then some. Knowing our A/C went out in our car, they went into the room and set the A/C to 70 to make certain we were comfortable. The gentlemen working the desk was so nice and did everything he could to expedite check in. Our room was on the 3rd floor, and when we opened the door, we were so impressed with the room. There were some things that were outdated, but for the price, you just can't beat it. The room was very clean, the kitchen well stocked, and the view was just breathtaking. This place is perfect for families because the rooms are separated by the kitchen, which does give some privacy for Mom and Dad to have some quiet time as well. The balcony was equipped with chairs for us to watch the sunrise and set, and so much is within walking distance. The beach was very clean and the vendors on the beach were all very helpful and friendly. We will definitely be back! Thank you tripadvisor and Beachcomber by the Sea for a wonderful stay and a thousand new memories with our family!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

This was my first time in PCB and for approx 1 benjamin a night this hotel is a joke. This hotel needs an upgrade ASAP. Hotel is in a really nice location, beach was good and all rooms have a beach view but....... rooms were not clean at all, you need to shower with flip flops to say the least, they should burn the couch and mattresses for starters (including carpet).

Trust me, it's really nasty (all of it). i almost sleep on the floor rather than the bed. Pay a couple of bucks more and avoid the headaches. I had friends staying at Splash resort for $20 more a night......what a difference. I will not come back here for sure.

Its a shame that with such a location and how busy this area is, that they have not put any money towards upgrading the rooms.

Room Tip: Trust the reviews...avoid this place. Not worth it at all.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marietta, Georgia
Level Contributor
51 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

We had a great experience at the Beachcomber. The staff was friendly from check in to check out. The hotel was clean, furnishings average with awesome views. Each room was ocean front with a balcony. The beach was beautiful with pure white sand. The location of the hotel was great. Within walking distance to Pier Park.

Room Tip: 3rd floor and above, book early to get a king room
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Beachcomber by the Sea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beachcomber by the Sea

Address: 17101 Front Beach Road, Panama City Beach, FL 32413
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Panhandle > Panama City Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Panama City Beach
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Panama City Beach
#13 Romantic Hotel in Panama City Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Beachcomber by the Sea 2.5*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Comfort meets convenience at Beachcomber by the Sea, one of BY THE SEA RESORTS' three gulf-front Panama City Beach hotels. The many ball teams, festival-goers and bikers that visit the "Real. Fun. Beach." Prefer the Beachcomber because of its proximity to Frank Brown Park. Families love the heated, gulf-front pool and convenience to the Pier Park shopping, dining and entertainment complex. Couples crave the Jacuzzi suites. Church groups and brides-to-be adore the affordable rooms and banquet room located across the street at the Beachcomber Retreat. All of our guests enjoy perks like FREE continental breakfast and discounts at area attractions. Other amenities include gulf-front accommodations with private balconies and fully-equipped kitchens, a heated, gulf-front whirlpool, a laundry facility, a computer lounge and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, BookIt.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Despegar.com so you can book your Beachcomber by the Sea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beachcomber By The Sea Hotel Panama City Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Beachcomber by the Sea, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.