We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place for the price!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Beachcomber by the Sea

Save Saved
You added Beachcomber by the Sea to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Beachcomber by the Sea
2.5 of 5 Resort   |   17101 Front Beach Road, Panama City Beach, FL 32413   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #24 of 53 hotels in Panama City Beach
Tallahassee, Florida
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great place for the price!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

This was our family of fours first time staying at the Beachcomber by the Sea, room #405. Overall this was a great 4 night stay in Panama City Beach.

Only complaint was VERY slow drain in the bath tub and kitchen sink. Free breakfast was basic and seemed short, hours were 7am to 9am. It consisted of pre-packaged chocolate muffins, plain bagels, yogurt with coffee and juice. There was no free WiFi but my Verizon hotspot got good 4G reception.

The room itself was a good size and clean with 2 flat panel TVs and a kitchen area with plates and cookware. We didn't use the stove but both the fridge, toaster, and microwave all worked fine. Staff was friendly and housekeeping offered extra dish soaps/shampoo/towels.

The pool and hot tube while a little busy was nice. The beach and view was great with a good view of the Pier Park Pier. Winn-Dixxie is close by for groceries and there was a McDonald and Arbys across the street. Would stay again without hesitation!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

312 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    112
    107
    27
    33
    33
See reviews for
102
80
6
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Turin, Italy
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

I have been in August in this hotel. The room was quite big, practically two rooms (we were 5 people), clena and with good air conditioning system. The balcony was just in face of the beach. The swimming pool was not very large but again clean considering the number of people around it. The beach was just in front of the hotel and amazing. Parking was free, wifi not. The breakfast was regular one, typical breakfast for a motel, but good enough. Checking out time was too early (11 am) and with possibility to be extended only for 1 hour. The position of the hotel is excellent for the beach, in fornt of the best beach in Panama city, and waliking distance from the part of the city with bars, restaurants and other attarctions. Considering the ratio price and services I would suggest it for a nice weekend on the beach.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southgate, Michigan
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

We extended our vacation in PCB for one more night and stayed here. It was a joke.....our room was so small, your left leg touched the bed while you walked around the room. The girl at the front desk was very rude and unprofessional. There was a older couple in front of that was shorted a night by the hotel and the employee was not willing to help them at all. Very sad. Our "balcony" was dirty....covered with sand. We had a huge electrical panel inside our room......the "beach front" is a joke! Very small....it has like 20 ft of weeds before you get to the beach itself. Pool is small, deck is small.we will be staying at the Palmetto when we come back as we did for the majority of our trip......ohhh and no free wifi they charge 3.99 an hour and the free breakfast is a muffin!

Room Tip: Don't stay here.....
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elba
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

We stayed at Beachcomber for 2 nights and loved it. We had 6 people in our group and always have difficulties with other hotels because there are "too many people". This hotel and staff had no problem accommodating all of us. Our room was comfortable for the amount of people in there. It consisted of a room with two full beds, a kitchen area, bathroom, and "living room". The bedroom and living room had seperate TV's and the living room included a couch and folds out into a bed. It also included a stove top, fridge, microwave, table, and cabinets stocked with dishes, silverware, and towels. The room had 2 balconies, one roadside and one beachside. The pool is large and there are plenty of chairs and tables around it. There are also lounge chairs with umbrellas on the beach that can be reserved by the day. We loved it and will definately stay again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgia
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

over the past 6 year have stayed there 8 times. wonderful area of the beach and convenient to everything. the suit is excellent for the price. always clean and staff is friendly and helpful. balcony facing the beach is great for morning coffee and watching the sun gone down in the evening. the free breakfast is what you get for free. parking sometimes is a negative not really enough and you have to park across the street. not the safest but have had no problems to date. the kitchenette is functional and the bath is nice. 2 nice tvs for evenings in. most important the price is great as staying in the room at the beach is not what you're there for. can't beat this hotel for price and quality. going back for 3 day weekend labor day. tis just 5 hours from atlanta

Room Tip: we always get the double bed suite and all rooms face the ocean with a balcony so all are good
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Georgia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

I have been staying at Beachcomber By The Sea since 2007. Anytime I have had an issue of any sort, it got taken care of asap. I've seen upgrades everytime i've come down. Staff is friendly and goes out of there way to help. You just need to ask.

Room Tip: Place a reservation early, they fill up quick.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

We stayed here for my daughters birthday!!!! We had an amazing trip. The rooms were clean and the cleaning woman named Mary was the sweetest woman I had ever met!!!! The pool was big and I was able to let my youngest son play in the shallow part while my 6 year old learned how to swim. It's walking distance from McDonalds and Pier Park. We had an amazing view from our room and met some wonderful friends!!!!!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Beachcomber by the Sea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beachcomber by the Sea

Address: 17101 Front Beach Road, Panama City Beach, FL 32413
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Panhandle > Panama City Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Panama City Beach
#13 On the Beach Hotel in Panama City Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Beachcomber by the Sea 2.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, BookIt.com, Priceline, Tingo, TRIPSHOCK.COM, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Otel so you can book your Beachcomber by the Sea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beachcomber By The Sea Hotel Panama City Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Beachcomber by the Sea, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.