We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“June 2013 Stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Beachcomber by the Sea

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Beachcomber by the Sea to your Saves list
Beachcomber by the Sea
2.5 of 5 Resort   |   17101 Front Beach Road, Panama City Beach, FL 32413   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #20 of 45 Hotels in Panama City Beach
Sylva, North Carolina, United States
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“June 2013 Stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

All staff was very pleasant and helpful. Staff kept things very clean. Good place to stay to be laid back and relaxed. I would definitely go back again. Great place for the price. Only things that could be done to make the place better is a little general maintenance in the rooms. Nothing major, just minor cosmetic things that need touched up and this could be an outstanding place. Could use a little more in the landscaping such as mulching around shrubbery, but again I did not see many places in the area that had much in the way of landscaping. A lot of places looked plain nasty, which was not the case at Beachcomber. Overall a very good place to stay.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

349 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    126
    122
    34
    34
    33
See reviews for
111
93
9
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013 via mobile

We were put up here through Wyndham vacations and overall pleased. It was clean but could use some updating inside and out. Furniture wasn't overly comfortable, but fit the bill. Location and beach are great. Pool was nice but somewhat small. It is an older place but they try and keep it nice.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

Stayed for 4 nights early May (paying only for 3 nights as per their deal) and was pleasantly surprised with the experience. All rooms overlook the beach and are equipped with a small kitchen, pots, pans etc...everything you need to cook in to save money. Sunsets from the balcony were lovely. Beds were very comfy and there was lots of room to spread out. Bathroom was also quite large. Would say it was mostly clean although we did throw a sheet over the couch. Breakfast was self serve muffins etc. Pool & jacuzzi were clean but busy in the afternoons...beach was marvelous! We stocked up on food at the Winn Dixie across the street and also bought beach chairs and an umbrella for less than one would pay for one rental chair on the beach. Staff were all friendly and helpful and leaving an hour later than check out time was "no problem". They even offer a free pick up from the airport for the asking! Overall I would say this is an excellent choice for the budget minded family and I would certainly stay again.

Room Tip: We were second to top floor almost at the end...very quiet there.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alabama, New York
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

Stayed here for two nights in early May with my parents and had a wonderful time! Our stay at the Beachcomber was so enjoyable that we came back 2 weeks later! The view from the rooms & balcony is unbeatable...if an oceanfront view is what you're looking for then the Beachcomber provides it! The overal decor of the hotel could use updating and its not a courtyard marriott or of that level of hotel, however, although the room was basic, it provided us with what we needed...it was clean had a TV, Shower/Tub, Kitchenette, dining room area with table and chairs for home made meals, as well as comfortable beds.There is a free and very basic breakfast offered downstairs but after having it the first morning we decided to make our own breakfast in the kitchenette in our room for the remainder of our stay. The dining area looked out onto the ocean making for a very enjoyable and 'vacation' feel to our morning breakfast. The pool outside was clean and the beach is only steps away from the pool! The balcony had a great view of the ocean and had 2 chairs and a small table for refreshments. Parking was not an issue, there were plenty of spaces. The staff were very friendly and let us check in early, although check out is at 10am (earlier than we had expected)! The hotel is located half a mile from pier park where all the shops and entertainment is. Pier Park is a nice 15-20 walk on the beach or a short 5 minute drive away. There is plenty of free parking at pier park behind the stores which was a bonus. Overall we loved our trip, the view from the balcony was the highlight and having the beach right out the window was exactly what we wanted. We will stay again in the future.

Room Tip: When booking ask to stay on the 3rd floor or higher and away from the palm trees, which block some o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

This hotel was very nice and a bargain price. The hotel staff was extremely friendly and helpful including letting me check in very early. My room was large including a small kitchen area, separate living space and bedroom. All rooms had an excellent view of the ocean. The bed was quite comfortable. There is plenty of eateries and Pier Park is near for nightlife

I read some of the negative reviews and found them to be inaccurate for the most part.

Room Tip: The higher the floor the better the view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kristen C, Public Relations Manager at Beachcomber by the Sea, responded to this review, May 21, 2013
We're so happy to hear you enjoyed your stay. Thank you for helping to spread the word and we hope to see you again next time you're in the area!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, Alabama
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

The room was clean and very accomodating. Great location and very fair price for room. Stayed here during bike week 2013 and it was more than good for what we needed. Clean room and fair price at great location.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013 via mobile

I'm staying at the beachcomber as I type. I am so disappointed. We had to cover the couch with a sheet because it was so gross with numerous unknown stains. I just watched a cockroach crawl across the floor and I would leave this second if I could. There's little parking and the cleaning staff walked right into our room without even knocking and then just left the door open. The price was cheap but that does not excuse a dirty hotel room. I would not reccomend this or come back ever.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Beachcomber by the Sea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beachcomber by the Sea

Address: 17101 Front Beach Road, Panama City Beach, FL 32413
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Panhandle > Panama City Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Panama City Beach
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Panama City Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Beachcomber by the Sea 2.5*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Comfort meets convenience at Beachcomber by the Sea, one of BY THE SEA RESORTS' three gulf-front Panama City Beach hotels. The many ball teams, festival-goers and bikers that visit the "Real. Fun. Beach." Prefer the Beachcomber because of its proximity to Frank Brown Park. Families love the heated, gulf-front pool and convenience to the Pier Park shopping, dining and entertainment complex. Couples crave the Jacuzzi suites. Church groups and brides-to-be adore the affordable rooms and banquet room located across the street at the Beachcomber Retreat. All of our guests enjoy perks like FREE continental breakfast and discounts at area attractions. Other amenities include gulf-front accommodations with private balconies and fully-equipped kitchens, a heated, gulf-front whirlpool, a laundry facility, a computer lounge and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TRIPSHOCK.COM, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Beachcomber by the Sea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beachcomber By The Sea Hotel Panama City Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Beachcomber by the Sea, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.