We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Do not stay here.” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Beachcomber by the Sea

Save Saved
You added Beachcomber by the Sea to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Beachcomber by the Sea
2.5 of 5 Resort   |   17101 Front Beach Road, Panama City Beach, FL 32413   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #23 of 52 hotels in Panama City Beach
2 reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Do not stay here.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013 via mobile

I'm staying at the beachcomber as I type. I am so disappointed. We had to cover the couch with a sheet because it was so gross with numerous unknown stains. I just watched a cockroach crawl across the floor and I would leave this second if I could. There's little parking and the cleaning staff walked right into our room without even knocking and then just left the door open. The price was cheap but that does not excuse a dirty hotel room. I would not reccomend this or come back ever.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

314 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    112
    108
    28
    33
    33
See reviews for
104
80
6
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Tallahassee, Florida
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

Hotel is really comfortable and has a great location-only a mile from Pier Park. You can tell they just upgraded the rooms. New TV and bed, which was really comfortable. All the rooms are right on the water with a beautiful view-totally unobstructed. Great sunsets on the balcony! I really liked the double suite because you get a room with two double beds with a separate living room that has a pull out sofa. And the price was way more affordable than most other hotels on PCB. I visit frequently during the summer since it's only two hours away. The staff and accommodations here are nice, especially since it's such a great deal!

Room Tip: The double suites have two rooms and are equipped with a mini-kitchen.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cottonwood Falls, Kansas
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

We got a good price on this hotel and it is right on the beach in Panama City. Each room faces the gulf. It is more like a suite. It has a livingroom with a TV, a small kitchen area, a bathroom and then a sleeping area. The rooms all come with 2 double beds...which was okay. The sofa also folds out into a bed. The balcony is nice and it faces the gulf. The room was clean, the kitchen had pots and pans and some dishes. Everything was clean. We enjoyed walking on the beach and the balconey. Also it is close to shopping and restaurants. It would be a good hotel for a family as you can probably sleep 6 people in the room. Good place to stay.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

It was the only Hotel on our Roadtrip from LAX to MIA without free internet.
Prices start at 11$ per day.

Luckely there is a Mc Donalds and a Holiday Inn next doir with free WiFi.

The guest laundry is very old and in a bad shape. The pool is quite small.

Nice Beach.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

Stayed 18-22 April 2013. Very nice hotel on the Beach for a budget price. Room was in good condition and staff was very friendly. This hotel is close to Pier Park mall and nice ocean view rooms, I thought it was good area. Room is equiped with small stove/oven, micro wave, coffee pot, & toaster.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Netherlands
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

Nice room with sea view and ..... a jacuzz! A microwave, a refrigerator and a coffee maker. At a perfect location. Every room has a sea view. The only downside we think was breakfast, it is really poor. The hotel is close to a supermarket and restaurants.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia, United States
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

Stayed 4-12-13 Weekend. When I arrived I was a little disappointed as the rooms are much smaller than the web site would have you to believe. The Hotel is farther from the attractions than advertised, 6 miles, doesn't seem like a long way, but it is compared to hotels that are actually in the middle of everything, 6 miles can put you in another town.

Asked for a late check out and the rude front desk girl named Ashley told me she didn't know what that was and told me "sorry we don't rent by the hour" uh hello, excuse me, neither do I, last I checked "women of the night" got motel rooms by the hour. Ashley refused to let me speak with a manager stating that it was pointless. Finally got a returned call from a male manger named "Ashley" after calling from my cellphone anonymously and leaving a message. Ashley who was very nonchalant and apologized that I took the comment the wrong way. He finally acknowledged that they had late check out and said it would be fine to leave at 12 instead of 10. Already upset i just left....while leaving the front desk clerk Ashley asked if we wanted to stay till 5 for an additional $50. I'm confused, do you or don't you rent by the hour. I would never stay here again. Expected better service and larger rooms for the price.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kristen C, Public Relations Manager at Beachcomber by the Sea, responded to this review, April 24, 2013
We apologize for any miscommunication during your stay. Our policy is to allow guests a complimentary late check-out at noon as long as there are no arrivals scheduled for that day. After noon, we charge a nominal fee of $50 to secure the room until 5pm.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Beachcomber by the Sea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beachcomber by the Sea

Address: 17101 Front Beach Road, Panama City Beach, FL 32413
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Panhandle > Panama City Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Panama City Beach
#13 On the Beach Hotel in Panama City Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Beachcomber by the Sea 2.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Tingo, Travelocity, BookIt.com, TRIPSHOCK.COM, BookingOdigeoWL, Expedia, getaroom.com, Priceline, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Beachcomber by the Sea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beachcomber By The Sea Hotel Panama City Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Beachcomber by the Sea, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.