We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Do not stay here.” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Beachcomber by the Sea

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Beachcomber by the Sea to your Saves list
Beachcomber by the Sea
2.5 of 5 Resort   |   17101 Front Beach Road, Panama City Beach, FL 32413   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 45 Hotels in Panama City Beach
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Do not stay here.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

I'm staying at the beachcomber as I type. I am so disappointed. We had to cover the couch with a sheet because it was so gross with numerous unknown stains. I just watched a cockroach crawl across the floor and I would leave this second if I could. There's little parking and the cleaning staff walked right into our room without even knocking and then just left the door open. The price was cheap but that does not excuse a dirty hotel room. I would not reccomend this or come back ever.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

382 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    140
    133
    39
    35
    35
See reviews for
128
104
9
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Tallahassee, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

Hotel is really comfortable and has a great location-only a mile from Pier Park. You can tell they just upgraded the rooms. New TV and bed, which was really comfortable. All the rooms are right on the water with a beautiful view-totally unobstructed. Great sunsets on the balcony! I really liked the double suite because you get a room with two double beds with a separate living room that has a pull out sofa. And the price was way more affordable than most other hotels on PCB. I visit frequently during the summer since it's only two hours away. The staff and accommodations here are nice, especially since it's such a great deal!

Room Tip: The double suites have two rooms and are equipped with a mini-kitchen.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

We got a good price on this hotel and it is right on the beach in Panama City. Each room faces the gulf. It is more like a suite. It has a livingroom with a TV, a small kitchen area, a bathroom and then a sleeping area. The rooms all come with 2 double beds...which was okay. The sofa also folds out into a bed. The balcony is nice and it faces the gulf. The room was clean, the kitchen had pots and pans and some dishes. Everything was clean. We enjoyed walking on the beach and the balconey. Also it is close to shopping and restaurants. It would be a good hotel for a family as you can probably sleep 6 people in the room. Good place to stay.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

It was the only Hotel on our Roadtrip from LAX to MIA without free internet.
Prices start at 11$ per day.

Luckely there is a Mc Donalds and a Holiday Inn next doir with free WiFi.

The guest laundry is very old and in a bad shape. The pool is quite small.

Nice Beach.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

Stayed 18-22 April 2013. Very nice hotel on the Beach for a budget price. Room was in good condition and staff was very friendly. This hotel is close to Pier Park mall and nice ocean view rooms, I thought it was good area. Room is equiped with small stove/oven, micro wave, coffee pot, & toaster.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Netherlands
Level Contributor
110 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

Nice room with sea view and ..... a jacuzz! A microwave, a refrigerator and a coffee maker. At a perfect location. Every room has a sea view. The only downside we think was breakfast, it is really poor. The hotel is close to a supermarket and restaurants.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia, United States
Level Contributor
38 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

Stayed 4-12-13 Weekend. When I arrived I was a little disappointed as the rooms are much smaller than the web site would have you to believe. The Hotel is farther from the attractions than advertised, 6 miles, doesn't seem like a long way, but it is compared to hotels that are actually in the middle of everything, 6 miles can put you in another town.

Asked for a late check out and the rude front desk girl named Ashley told me she didn't know what that was and told me "sorry we don't rent by the hour" uh hello, excuse me, neither do I, last I checked "women of the night" got motel rooms by the hour. Ashley refused to let me speak with a manager stating that it was pointless. Finally got a returned call from a male manger named "Ashley" after calling from my cellphone anonymously and leaving a message. Ashley who was very nonchalant and apologized that I took the comment the wrong way. He finally acknowledged that they had late check out and said it would be fine to leave at 12 instead of 10. Already upset i just left....while leaving the front desk clerk Ashley asked if we wanted to stay till 5 for an additional $50. I'm confused, do you or don't you rent by the hour. I would never stay here again. Expected better service and larger rooms for the price.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kristen C, Public Relations Manager at Beachcomber by the Sea, responded to this review, April 24, 2013
We apologize for any miscommunication during your stay. Our policy is to allow guests a complimentary late check-out at noon as long as there are no arrivals scheduled for that day. After noon, we charge a nominal fee of $50 to secure the room until 5pm.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Beachcomber by the Sea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beachcomber by the Sea

Address: 17101 Front Beach Road, Panama City Beach, FL 32413
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Panhandle > Panama City Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Panama City Beach
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Panama City Beach
#13 Romantic Hotel in Panama City Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Beachcomber by the Sea 2.5*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Comfort meets convenience at Beachcomber by the Sea, one of BY THE SEA RESORTS' three gulf-front Panama City Beach hotels. The many ball teams, festival-goers and bikers that visit the "Real. Fun. Beach." Prefer the Beachcomber because of its proximity to Frank Brown Park. Families love the heated, gulf-front pool and convenience to the Pier Park shopping, dining and entertainment complex. Couples crave the Jacuzzi suites. Church groups and brides-to-be adore the affordable rooms and banquet room located across the street at the Beachcomber Retreat. All of our guests enjoy perks like FREE continental breakfast and discounts at area attractions. Other amenities include gulf-front accommodations with private balconies and fully-equipped kitchens, a heated, gulf-front whirlpool, a laundry facility, a computer lounge and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, BookIt.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Beachcomber by the Sea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beachcomber By The Sea Hotel Panama City Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Beachcomber by the Sea, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.