We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hidden gem” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Beachcomber by the Sea

Save Saved
You added Beachcomber by the Sea to your Saves list
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Beachcomber by the Sea
2.5 of 5 Resort   |   17101 Front Beach Road, Panama City Beach, FL 32413   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #23 of 43 Hotels in Panama City Beach
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Hidden gem”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013 via mobile

I stayed here for four nights with my sister after college graduation. It was a fantastic hotel, great price for being right on the beach, and the view was beautiful. All rooms are facing the ocean and we loved the kitchenette. We went to tan on the beach and this is a cheap nice place to accomplish this. I don't think we tried the continental breakfast, we bought milk & cereal. Having a refrigerator was convenient. The pool wasn't overcrowded and we Layed out there our last day. We were under 25 years old, so we had to pay a deposit each and do a checklist walk through. It didn't take very long, they gave us no problems, but on the morning you check out, the person that does your walkthrough and refunds your deposit doesn't come in until 8am, we were planning on being on the road a little earlier but it was ok. There is a pizza hut and a fast food place (Arbys?) Right across the street, but the pier with all the restaurants, shops, and boardwalk was 0.8 miles down the road. We walked it for lunch one day; some advice, there's no sidewalks so you're walking on the roadside, but we walked from the pier on the beac the way back, much nicer with that cool breeze. We will definitely stay here next time we are in panama. No reason to pay $100 more for three condos down. We go for the beach!!!

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

334 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    118
    116
    33
    34
    33
See reviews for
111
85
7
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

Stayed here over New Year's Eve and really enjoyed the hotel. Entry door opened into the bedroom with a pass thru kitchen in the middle and a sitting room after which had a door to the balcony. We sat on the couch and looked out the picture window to the beautiful beach. The sitting room has a TV as well as the bedroom. The people at the desk were very friendly. Unfortunately, it was very cold and even the heated pool and jacuzzi could not tempt us. There aren't many restaurants nearby.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kristen C, Public Relations Manager at Beachcomber by the Sea, responded to this review, January 7, 2013
We are so happy to hear you enjoyed your stay over New Year's Eve! Hopefully next time you visit us Mother Nature will cooperate. We would've been happy to give you recommendations for nearby dining, shopping & attractions within a short walking or driving distance of the hotel.

Best to you in your travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pensacola, Florida
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

The hotel is located on a quiet part of the beach road in Panama City Beach, FL. Every room has a balcony with a Gulf view. There are a few restaurants within walking distance, but you will have to drive to the "noted" eating and drinking establishments. It was an average place to stay during the Bikers Thundar Beach Week, fall 2012.The front desk was friendly and the rooms (though dated) were clean. The kitchen area was useful, it includes a stove. If you are out and about all day and want a clean place to sleep, this fits the bill.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Panama City Beach, Florida
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

We stayed here for 2 weeks in October and enjoyed our stay. We got the room we ask for. Everyone here were very nice and helpful. We will come back next year. The chairs in the breakfast are very bad. Heavy and big hooks ond the backs that catch everything close to them. They will last forever so won't expect any changes..

Room Tip: Rooms on the west side are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

We stayed in this hotel just for one night before proceeding to New Orleans. Hotel is in a very good location, walking distance to most restaurants, shopping, attractions. Check in was swift, friendly staff. Beach is few steps away, exactly as pictured. Wooden lounge chair (love it) is free. Clean, beautiful beach ! Watched the sunset, picture perfect ! The building is not new but not too old either. The room we stayed is clean and functional having a kitchen with cooking/baking utensils. It has a living room with sofa bed and chairs and flat screen tv, overlooking the beach. Also in the bedroom has flat screen tv, so convenient. WiFi NOT free. Breakfast is basic: muffins, bagel, coffee, juice, in a little corner in the lobby, gets crowded. I can stay here for a week or so, I like this place. Overall, we had a very good stay at this hotel. Panama City Beach is very beautiful, a must see place in Florida !

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

First off, let me say if you are looking for a high rise condo and all of its ammenities, you need to keep looking. If you are looking for a comfortable hotel room with friendly service this is your place. The room has a seperate bedroom and living room and a small kitchen with all you need. All rooms have a nice beachfront balcony. There are 2 TV's (which is really good for my family of 5) and you have a door to shut off the bedroom if you like. The hotel is aged, but for the price you are not going to better. Room, pool, hottub, ground all very clean. Service was great! Two complaints...I like to take early morning runs on the beach and pool area locked early am. Have to walk all around builing to access beach, then had to walk around drainage. Would be nice if they had another way to access beach other than pool. Had to get key reset a few times, no one told me till we checked out and I said something again that my cell phone was doing it. I did keep it right by my phone while we were at beach and out. There are knicks and bumps in the room, but we really do not mind. Like I said, for the price it is good and comfortable. We have been staying with By The Sea for years now and we will continue to stay with this company. We usually stay at The Legacy, but decided to save a little more and try Beachcomber again.

Room Tip: Bring an air mattress is you are going to use sofa bed. Really not a comfortable sofa bed. The couc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
georgia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

Just returned from another great stay at Beachcomber. This hotel is in a great location and is a great size. There's room to park and you don't have to wait long for the elevator. Staff are very helpful and friendly; pool, hot tub and grounds are kept clean. You can't beat the value at Beachcomber - you get a bedroom, bath, kitchen and living room with sleeper sofa for the same price others charge for just a hotel room with 2 beds. The sofa in our room was a little ratty; but a throw brought from home covered it just fine. Will stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Beachcomber by the Sea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beachcomber by the Sea

Address: 17101 Front Beach Road, Panama City Beach, FL 32413
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Panhandle > Panama City Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Panama City Beach
#13 On the Beach Hotel in Panama City Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Beachcomber by the Sea 2.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Tingo, BookIt.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Otel so you can book your Beachcomber by the Sea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beachcomber By The Sea Hotel Panama City Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Beachcomber by the Sea, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;