We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“accomodating to gluten free requests” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Firefly

Firefly
535 R. Jackson Blvd., Panama City Beach, FL 32407
850-249-3359
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Price range: $20 - $42
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Bar scene, Large groups, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Front Beach Rd.
Description: Casual Fine Dining at it"s Finest! Firefly specializes locally caught seafood, mouthwatering steaks seared on an 1800 degree broiler, fresh sushi and artisan pizzas. Winner of Florida Trend's Golden Spoon Award, Urbanspoon.com's Top 250 High End Restaurant and Wine Spectator's Award of Excellence, quality of food and service is Firefly's mission. The atmosphere is more like New York City than Panama City. Firefly is the locals choice for a romantic night out, or a special occasion. Firefly has also played host to Country Music Stars, Heisman Trophy winners and the President of The United States. Chef Paul Stellato was one of eight Chefs selected to cook for the athletes and dignitaries in the USA House at the 2012 London Olympics. We want it to be much more than dinner, we want to treat you to a unique dining experience!
Atlanta, Georgia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“accomodating to gluten free requests”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

Everyone in our group enjoyed their meals, and they were extremely accomodating of my gluten free needs, changing out sides for the entree I wanted. The restaurant itself is lovely and has a great wine list.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

910 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    713
    116
    47
    19
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Panama City Beach, Florida
2 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“QUALITY OF SERVICE IS GOING DOWN!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

My husband and I have eaten here many times because we love the food and service but lately the service level has been going down. During our most recent visit, we made a reservation and were seated shortly after we arrived (which was good) however, once we were seated, we waited and waited for a server but they never came. 20 minutes after waiting, we stopped an employee and asked why no one had come to our table, he said he would have someone come over right way. Once the server made it our way, we asked what was up and she stated that the hostess never told her that we had been seated. Not sure how she could blame it on the hostess considering we were seated in the servers area and she had been making trips to and from her other tables conveniently located to the left and right of us (Helloooo!) Anyways, she took our drink and appetizer order and took forever to bring our drinks. Finally she decided to come back with our drinks and to take our dinner order. Once again she pulled another disappearing act. The phantom server showed up with appetizers and I guess she assumed we didn’t want the bread and dip that’s customary for every customer to get *sighing*. The water boy finally decided to bring his sorry butt over, he didn't speak, didn't look at us, just plain rude.
(Fast forward) The manager brings out our entrees and I made the comment "Wow, I ordered it so long ago, I don't remember what I ordered". He didn't respond, or acknowledge me at all. Why bother making things right with us, we only come here and spend hundreds of dollars at your restaurant (sometimes hundreds in one visit). Maybe they don’t care about customer service during “the off season” never mind the fact that the locals keep them above water winter during the wintertime.

Signing of,
VERY DISAPPOINTED

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Opposite experience of prior 2 reviews”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

The food was good, well prepared and good presentation. We ordered from the sunset menu and the selections were good. Ordered She Crab soup and the 4 oz filet. The wait staff was efficient and courteous. There were 6 in our party, all enjoyed their meal, All will return

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Charles, MO
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
“WOW! Excellent Dining Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

A fantastic evening meal came from FIREFLY. I was intrigued by a discription of the owner as a “Rock ‘n’ Roller turned Foodie”. Needless to say, I just knew this was my kind of place.
As it turned out, David Trepanier had worked with many of the ‘80’s rock groups that I had known while working in Music Radio. Bon Jovi, Motley Crue, Kiss and more to name a few. As expected, this lead to a lively discussion of the Good Old Days!
Dave, from San franciso, met his wife, an aspiring actress, at a NASCAR race and the rest was history. He was out of Rock “n” Roll and back to her home town of Panama City Beach.
Dave always wanted to own a restaurant and this was his chance to change the dining scene in Northwest Florida.
FIREFLY is located in the middle of the Shoppes at Edgewater shopping center. Don’t let the unassuming façade fool you, this is some mighty fine Fine Dining. Urban Spoon ranks FIREFLY as one of “America’s Most Popular High-end Restaurants”. Dave, and his staff, have earned Wine Spectator’s Award of Excellence for five years running for their 1800+ bottle wine cellar.They also have a private locker service where you can store your favorite vintage in ther cellar. FIREFLY has also earned Florida Trend Magazine’s Golden Spoon Award for three years in a row. I know there will be many more accolades in the years to come.
As you enter FIRELFY you find yourself in a very comfortable bar area. Dark hardwoods and mood lighting instantly make you feel right at home. As you head into the restaurant you will pass through a large room with a romantic fireplace, comfortable couches, overstuffed chairs and a large flat screen TV descreetlty placed amongst the hardwood bookcases. I felt like this was somewhere between a private country club and perhaps a European library. This is the perfect place to relax with a cocktail before your dinner.
The main dining room surrounds a large Oak tree enhanced with miniture LEDs that randomly blink to simulate fireflys. You will find yourself fascinated with this “natural” ambience as you dine. By this point in time I realized this would not just be a good dinner, but rather, a true dining experience.
Fresh seafood at FIREFLY is totally fresh and includes an excellent Sushi menu. Chef Paul Stellato was recently chosen to serve Team USA’s athletes, families and dignitaries at the the London Olympics through BP’s “Spirit of the Gulf” program.
Our dinner started with the She-Crab soup. This alone is worth a trip to Florida! It was served with a shot of Sherry at the table and was absolute perfection! We also had the Crab En croute, jumbo lump crab meat in a puff pastry shell and a sherry cream sauce. Once again, perfection. Others in our group had Sesame Tempura Shrimp, and Cracked Pepper Crusted Tuna. All were well presented and very tastey.
I chose Chef Stellato’s featured dish at the Olympics for my entrée. Sauteed Gulf Grouper, served with shallots, fresh corn, grape tomatoes,sherry cream and jumbo lump crab meat, all topped with a haystack of potaoes. This was an amazing combination of flavors, textures, and visual stimulation. This dish was ten out of ten on my rating scale.
Sue decided on a daily special of Grilled Filet Mignon with a red-wine demiglace sauce and seared Sea Scallops. This aged steak was precisely grilled to medium-rare and the scallops were very tender and moist, yet fully cooked. The presentation included seasonal vegetables of asparagus, carrots and garlic mashed potatoes. This was a griiled work of culinary art.
Our next visit to FIREFLY may well include Rosemay Crusted Rack of Lamb, Five Spiced Seared Duck or perhaps the Espresso & Tomato Braised Free-Range Texas Boar Shank!
Hand made pasta and artisan pizza along with a variety of salads offer something for every taste.
Sue had home-made strawberry sorbet for dessert. As you may have realized by now, I can’t pass-up a bread pudding so the seasonal warm bread pudding was a must. I have never had a German Chocolate bread pudding before, but needless to say, it was great. The home-made vanilla icecream was a perfect addition. Classic Crème Brulee, Triple Chocolate Bombe and more are the artisinal efforts of Pastry Chef Josh Rochill. Specialty coffees and a selection of Port, Dessert Wines, Scotch, Cordials and Cognacs will complete your dining experience.
It’s often said that a meal is “fit for a king”. A meal at FIREFLY is definitely fit for a President. When President Obama visited the Gulf region to promte the safety of Gulf Seafood after the infamous oil spill, he and his family chose to dine at FIREFLY. The Prez had a New York Strip Steak, but the First Lady did have lobster.
The President and family’s security was assured by being seated in one of FIREFLY’s private dining rooms.
Panama City’s FIREFLY Restaurant was decidely one of the best meals I’ve had. Great food, superb service and a classy, yet comfortable ambience. If you are anywhere in the Gulf area, it willl behoove you to make a trip to FIREFLY.
And who is Dave’s favorite rock band….KISS, ofcourse!
Information and reservations are available at www.fireflypcb.com or call 850-249-ffly (3359)






·
· Address:
535 Richard Jackson Blvd.
Panama City Beach, FL 32407
Neighborhood:
Panama City Beach - Bay Point

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Panama City Beach, Florida
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Disappointing experience”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

Unfortunately restaurants in this area do not need to compete for a place under the sun. Not enough establishments for the tourists and locals alike to come and experience the atmosphere of 'fancy' dining. Now that the early dining menu at Firefly has changed, you have to think hard what to order from the menu. You have your regular boring dishes like tuna or chicken with 'over mashed' potatoes. That is how you know that we are in a deep recession and there is no pretending. The dishes were poorly executed but well presented. Have to admit that martinis are good but you have to cash $10 out of your pocket. I hope whoever is in the kitchen can resurrect passion for food or else, this restaurant will be a place for the 'friends and family' only.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Firefly also viewed

Panama City Beach, Florida Panhandle
Panama City Beach, Florida Panhandle
 
Panama City Beach, Florida Panhandle
Panama City Beach, Florida Panhandle
 

Been to Firefly? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Firefly, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.