We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrible, click next hotel/condo” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Shores of Panama Resort

Save Saved
You added Shores of Panama Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Shores of Panama Resort
3.5 of 5 Condominium   |   9900 S. Thomas Drive, Panama City Beach, FL 32407   |  
Hotel amenities
1 review
“Terrible, click next hotel/condo”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Curve appeal is great! Not one positive past that.
The room we originally paid for "went under renovation" the week before check-in. Our room was no better than a Day Inns, so go there. You'll save money
The pool and beach ( which you have to pay additional money for) are mirror images... Cans, food, trash everywhere. Pool police (security) with a power trip... EVERYWHERE YOU GO. ghost costs at every corner.
Don't wasted your time. We had a broken coffee table, broken fridge and freezer, molded shower, broken disposal, stained carpet.. We had no doors on our closet. The doors say in the closet.
Oh, our car got towed. We paid for parking, the room we were moved in to didn't have reserved spots. Good info to know if you come (but you shouldn't come). Do your rea search, on other places, and just don't come here. The DJ is horrible. I love PCB, this place puts shame to the city.

Stayed September 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

206 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    33
    29
    38
    45
    61
See reviews for
107
14
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

We stayed at SOP 8/18-8/24. The condo we stayed in was nice and clean. Tile floors, tasteful decor, etc. the grounds, however, are a different story. This condo is not very old, but it looks 50 years old. All doors were rusty, the outside stucco had stains everywhere, the floor had stains, spills, dirt, old gum, etc. it looks they have never washed the floors & outside walls. The stairwell smelled of urine. Although we were only on the 2nd floor I wouldn't let my little girls take the stairs cause it was disgusting.
The pool itself is a nice pool, however, it was cloudy and had several pieces of trash floating. Not sand & leaves, but wrappers, tissues (yuck!) & bugs. At one point I had asked the security guard to get someone to clean the pool after a collection of trash was floating by the stairs. This us completely unacceptable, especially since we were charged over $29 PER DAY to use the pool.
A good pressure washing, new pool management, and some paint would do wonders for this place but as it is, you will feel dirty staying here. We will Not be back. The amenity fees are ridiculous considering the shape of the pool, and the fact that the bar and grill are only open thurs-Sunday.

Stayed August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alabama
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Stayed at the resort Friday, August 22 through Sunday, August 24. We arrived early. Check in was suppose to be at 4. When we got there, we signed all the papers to check in but was not given a room until 5pm. We had 5 adults in the room (30's girls work trip). 3 of us came together and the other 2 was on the way. We could not get their armbands nor parking pass until they got there. We did not receive enough washcloths and were told that we need to wash them. They only give enough for the people in the room. I said we have 5. There is only 4. When making the reservations I told how many was in the room.
The room was ok. Our room number was 414. It was located os you had a great view of the pool and amazing view of the ocean. The master bedroom had NO door to separate the bathroom from the bedroom. So you had to put the others out to have privacy when using the facilities. Maintenance responded quick when we realize the remote button was missing and we could not turn the TV off and on. There is no cell service in the room. We had to use the free wifi (FaceTime and Facebook) to call home and check on husbands and kids.
The parking deck is a nightmare. The spaces are extremely tiny. We were told to park where there was not a reserve sign. Which is about 4-5 places on each level. The resort has 23 levels. When you do finally find a park you have to go to the ground floor and give your drivers license and they will give you a luggage cart in return. I can't imagine being there at peak season we would be in trouble.
The people at the resort was very nice and so was the guest. We did not run into any negative people. The pool gate doors are extremely heavy. Makes it hard when caring a ton of stuff to and from the beach. The pool is awesome and and had a nice DJ out. The resort is in the middle of everything. Should you need something Walmart is right across the street.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Stayed in 203 July, 2014 very nice condo, beach front, no complaints at all about the room, Do not rent thru the condo office, you will be disspointed as we were last year. the room was dirty and poorly furnish, Rent thru VRBO or from the owner and you will have a happy vacation as we did, the pool fee was small for the use of the fine pool, the kids had a wonderful time in it, we will go back next year The elevators was slow but we did not wait no longer than 10 minutes ,we could have walk down but my wife has feet problems so we use it. As i said rent from a owner and you will not have any problems

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Benton IL
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We arrived at the Shores on a Saturday and stayed for 6 nights. We had a wonderful time. Our condo was booked through a private company, it was clean, roomy, and we had no issues. I was a little concerned about staying here after ready all of the reviews. I would love to stay at the Shores again.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Texas
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Me and my family went on the last summer vacation and wanted to try something different for once. We always rent beach house for the size of our family and the family reunions we have. This time it was just 7 of us so we decided to get a condo here at the SOP. The outside of the resort was nice and clean very tall, we got there and check in. Now when we were looking for parking we had to park all the way on the 11th floor which we could park any were that does not say reserved which was till all the way on the 7th floor. Horrible garage, to small and too busy. You get dizzy at the end. Once we got there we need it a Cart for our luggage and we need it to leave the ID for the usage of it, which was weird. Then to get up on the 12th floor of course you take the elevator, which it took over 30 minutes just to get an elevator to our floor and yes 30 minutes. I guess we landed on a busy weekend. Other than that the rooms were clean, the views are amazing! The pool has a dj on the weekend which i think is cool as well. Love the shower heads outside in the middle of the beach and the pool. No other problem really other than horrible garage and elevators. Also you can walk to Wal-mart, resaturants and clubs and atractions.

Room Tip: I would try to stay on the lowers floor, because you still have great views and do not have to deal...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berea, Kentucky
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

My husband and I booked and paid for our stay before reading reviews on TripAdvisor. As I read the reviews, I became more and more nervous about what we were in for. My husband eventually told me to just stop reading the reviews, and I did. We arrived on Thursday afternoon (Aug 7) and did the "offsite check-in" (Book That Condo) and, actually, were able to check in a few hours early. We then tackled the parking garage to find our reserved parking spot. It was in a perfect place on the 6th floor and just a few steps from the elevator! We went to the first floor to buy our wristbands for the pool, and the young lady working that area was really sweet and friendly. We then went to the 21st floor to find our condo. We were very pleased. The condo was clean, decorated nicely, fully stocked, etc. We expected long elevator waits but were pleasantly surprised there as well. The only times that we had a little bit of a wait was on Saturday. Longest wait was probably 10 minutes. Out of a 6 day stay, we left 5 of those nights to dine and shop and had no problem getting in and out of the parking garage. Again, pleasantly surprised. The pool was beautiful and the DJ was great. Great atmosphere. Saw a few people drinking alcohol but they did not cause any problems. Access to the beach was monitored by checking wristbands, and I actually witnessed some young people being turned away that were trying to enter the pool area from the beach (no wristband). The employees that we encountered were very nice and helpful. Pool area was cleaned daily. People did save chairs with towels, but, most days, there were plenty of chairs. My husband and I sat out on the deck nightly and experienced peace and quiet (very different from the reviews I had read). This was probably the best condo we have stayed in, and we do plan to come back to Shores of Panama on our next trip to the area. We were very thankful to see that the bad reviews were not true after all (at least, in our case). Very pleasantly surprised!

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Shores of Panama Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shores of Panama Resort

Address: 9900 S. Thomas Drive, Panama City Beach, FL 32407
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Panhandle > Panama City Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #70 of 77 Specialty lodging in Panama City Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Shores of Panama Resort 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This 23 story gulf front luxury resort is loaded with amenities including a full spa, kids club, 13,965 square foot gulf front pool & hot tub, heated indoor pool and hot tub, covered parking on-site, 24 hour front desk check in, health center with fitness equipment, steam room, 2 tiki bars serving food and cocktails, beach activities and rental services, high speed internet access and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, BookIt.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Shores of Panama Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shores Of Panama By Oaseas Hotel Panama City Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Shores of Panama Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.