We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Horrible” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Shores of Panama Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Shores of Panama Resort to your Saves list
Shores of Panama Resort
3.5 of 5 Condominium   |   9900 S. Thomas Drive, Panama City Beach, FL 32407   |  
Hotel amenities
Lexington, Tennessee
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Horrible”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

We stayed at the Shores of Panama in July. First of all after driving 9 hours to get there - they made us go to some old bank and be processed in through a bank deposit cylinder. We had to drive a couple of miles after we got out at the resort and reload and go to the "bank." Then we finally got to our room.---OMG NASTY We were in room 1509. The carpet was sickening - the walls had "stuff" on them - the fold out couch was nasty - there were only 2 glasses in the cabinet. There was NO can opener. The room was so nasty we did not even want to eat in the room. And OMG - the bracelet thing. I mean after you work all year and save your hard earned money----they want to charge you for using the pool at the resort you are paying already to stay at??????????????? And then you were literally harassed going into the pool and coming back from the beach. I witnessed a young mother who was dealing with all the beach stuff from her kids playing and all three of them --to the person checking bracelets saying that she could be charged if her kids did not have on their bracelets---needless to say he got an earful. And he deserved it. No one offered to help her all they were worried about was that stupid bracelet so the condo could make more money. It was horrible. Then the elevator situation-----OMG ---HORRIBLE---once again we and everyone else ---including young mothers standing with kids waiting up to 45 minutes for an elevator. DO NOT STAY HERE ----IT IS HORRIBLE ---ALL IT IS ABOUT IS MONEY. I have stayed here before and it was really nice back then. I have NEVER written a review before but I felt it is necessary.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tom D, VP of Operations Emerald View Resorts at Shores of Panama Resort, responded to this review, October 18, 2013
Thank you for providing us your feedback. We do strive to exceed our guest expectations from the time they arrive to their departure. If you would take a minute and give me a call to discuss your stay I’d truly appreciate it. Phone number 850-249-1244 then press two.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

240 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    44
    35
    43
    50
    68
See reviews for
121
19
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Indiana
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

We booked our condo through vrbo.com and had a great experience. The grounds are well kept and the pool is just as beautiful in person as it is in the pictures. Our unit 526 was perfect. It has a large master bedroom with king size bed and a bunk room as well as a queen size sleeper sofa. The view from our balcony at sunset is gorgeous. We did not participate in the activities that shores put on but they appeared to be fun. The weather was perfect, 70's and 80's everyday with sunshine. The only negative thing I can say is the pool was very chilly but the ocean was nice, so we just stayed at the beach. One of the nicest surprises was that shores had amenity free October. It really saved us on our vacation. We are already talking about a trip for next October if they do amenity free again and will absolutely book through Josie in unit 526!!!! Loved it!

Room Tip: Vrbo.com was a great resource, Josie owns 2 condos here, 526 & 527. They were high enough to hav...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tom D, VP of Operations Emerald View Resorts at Shores of Panama Resort, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Thank you for providing us your feedback. We are glad you enjoyed your stay at Shores of Panama and look forward to you return in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

We have stayed at the shores of panama several times now and have never been disappointed. Prices vary depending on the time of year you stay but amazing just the same!
Must through a shout out to Melissa who is the young lady at the check in counter!! She is friendly, knowledgeable and a great all around person with a smile to deal with during your check in
The pools are wonderful and every room has a view of the ocean!!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tom D, VP of Operations Emerald View Resorts at Shores of Panama Resort, responded to this review, October 10, 2013
Thank you for taking time to write this nice review. We know that you have a lot of resorts to choose from and appreciate that you chose Shores of Panama. We’re glad that you enjoyed your vacation and look forward to your return in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

Not only did our key not work, but we had no sheets or pillows for the fold out couch. The mattress on the couch was at least 15 years old and you could see the tears and coils coming through the material. We called the front office about this issue which we were told we could open he secured box in the closet however we could be risking a 400 dollar fee by doing so. We had dirty sheets on the bunk beds and the main bed. None of the lights inside any of the lamps worked. Not to mention that the resort fee was charged when we booked the room then they demanded another resort fee when we checked into the resort. Absolutely horrible night, we were up and out at 5 am since no one was sleeping well anyway. Never will stay at this nightmare again!!!

Room Tip: Stay somewhere in Destin, Fl
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tom D, P of Operations Emerald View Resorts at Shores of Panama Resort, responded to this review, October 4, 2013
Thank you for providing us your feedback. We do strive to exceed our guest expectations from the time they arrive to their departure. If you would take a minute and give me a call to let me know what unit you stayed in I’d truly appreciate it. Phone number 850-249-1244 then press two.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corinth, Mississippi, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

Do not rent condo 1407 as we were disappointed to find condo dirty & run down. Fridge was smellie & we cleaned. Worse we rented the end of Aug & have not received our deposit. The owner has made excuses saying his account was hacked. We are older & left the condo better than we found . Never had a problem as we rent every year & decided on Shore of Panama because of the pool. Everything on site was nice but still waiting for deposit. Have tryed calling & will let management know.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tom D, VP of Operations Emerald View Resorts Management at Shores of Panama Resort, responded to this review, October 4, 2013
Thank you for providing us your feedback. I have made contact with the owner of the unit and he assured me he will contact you and rectify the situation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

We stayed here for a week and it was fabulous. Great amenities, great access to the beach, and plenty to do for the family. The condos were beautiful, well decorated, and well equipped. We loved that we had a washer and dryer in the room for easy cleaning after being at the beach. The bed was so incredibly comfortable too. We can't wait to visit again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tom D, VP of Operations Emerald View Resorts at Shores of Panama Resort, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
Thank you for taking time to write this nice review. We know that you have a lot of resorts to choose from and appreciate that you chose Shores of Panama. We’re glad that you enjoyed your vacation and look forward to your return in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oneida, Tennessee
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

We spent 7 wonderful days at the Shores of Panama City Beach while on the Warrior Beach Retreat. This was the most amazing place, We will definitely be returning. Very clean. Wonderful staff. Awesome location. There is so much access to everything.We Loved it. Thanks for making our stay feel like home.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tom D, VP of Operations Emerald View Resorts at Shores of Panama Resort, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
Thank you for taking time to provide the nice review. We are glad that you enjoyed you stay at Shores of Panama and look forward to your return in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Shores of Panama Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shores of Panama Resort

Address: 9900 S. Thomas Drive, Panama City Beach, FL 32407
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Panhandle > Panama City Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #67 of 78 Specialty Lodging in Panama City Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Shores of Panama Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 220
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This 23 story gulf front luxury resort is loaded with amenities including a full spa, kids club, 13,965 square foot gulf front pool & hot tub, heated indoor pool and hot tub, covered parking on-site, 24 hour front desk check in, health center with fitness equipment, steam room, 2 tiki bars serving food and cocktails, beach activities and rental services, high speed internet access and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, BookIt.com, Expedia, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Shores of Panama Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shores Of Panama By Oaseas Hotel Panama City Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Shores of Panama Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.