We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not sure if it's really worth the $$!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Shores of Panama Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Shores of Panama Resort to your Saves list
Shores of Panama Resort
3.5 of 5 Condominium   |   9900 S. Thomas Drive, Panama City Beach, FL 32407   |  
Hotel amenities
Goodwater, Alabama
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Not sure if it's really worth the $$!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

This was my family's 2nd time staying at this resort. There are pros and cons as I guess there are anywhere but Im very undecided due to cost and the cons that we experienced if we will stay here again. First off, I will say that the Room Size, Cleanliness, View, & Pool are definitely the PROS. The rooms that we stayed in on both trips were super clean and very spacious for families with kids. The view is Awesome and the Pool is Unbelievable! My daughter loves the pool which is why we chose to stay here for the 2nd time & I must admit that I think its beautiful and relaxing as well. My husband and I both like the size and cleanliness of the room. 3 bathrooms really helps when you have a big family. Unfortunately, I am having trouble deciding if the Pros Truly outweigh the Cons! The cons for our family were as follows: First of all I don't mind paying for a nice place to stay however, the added fees at this resort are ridiculous! We had to pay 27 dollars a day for use of pool and beach access. I mean come on you would think considering we paid over a 1000 bucks to stay here that the pool would Actually be included. I think that charging extra to use their pool is ludicrous!!!! And that wasn't all we had to pay a damage fee and another 30 something dollar fee that to this moment Im still not sure (other than for the resort to get extra money) what it was for. So we had to pay over 300 at check in when we had already paid over 1000 when booking. That made me sick! This was not the case on our first visit here but apparently they have new management this year and that was one change they made. Also, I agree with everyone else when it comes to the elevators. The wait is insane and you would think with 20 something floors that it would have more than just a few elevators. You have to wait forever if you are on a higher floor which takes up way to much of your vacation time. Also, the check in at 4 pm and check out at 10 am is CRAZY! Our whole first day was shot because we didn't get in our room until after 5 because everyone was trying to check in at 4 at the same time and by this time of day you have lost a whole days stay and pay because the pool closes at 10 so by the time you check in and get settled the day is gone but by golly they sure got their whole days pay whether we got our whole days stay or not. This was also not the case on our first stay we checked in before lunch last time and they didn't allow that this time. So I was really ticked about paying for a full day that we practically lost!!!! Also, we had air and refrigerator issues this time. We went for a day and a half with a fridge that didn't work. So we couldn't keep our drinks or food cool even though we reported it 3 or 4 times before it Finally got fixed. The air came and went too. It would cool for a while and then all of a sudden it would be Hot again. It got pretty annoying having to call someone to fix something everytime we turned around! Especially, considering the price that we paid for this place. I guess that was my biggest turnoff. If you are gonna have to spend your hard earned money thinking that you are getting a really nice place you shouldn't have to go through all that we went through! I know things happen but we didn't get any discounts for all of our issues . We didn't even get Offered any apologies or anything! So, now you see why even though I like somethings about this place I just am not sure its worth it. Think about all of this before you spend you money and MAKE SURE you know about the extra fees before you check in. Sorry my review was so long but after 2 stays here I wanted to make sure I covered it all!!!!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tom D, VP of Operations at Shores of Panama Resort, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Thank you for taking time to provide us your feedback. I'd like discuss your stay with us if you will take a minute to give me a call, 850-329-0477. We do strive to provide a memorable vacation for our guest and would love another opportunity to exceed your expectations .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

240 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    44
    35
    43
    50
    68
See reviews for
121
19
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013 via mobile

Called condo directly to set up reservation. Husband is afraid of heights so I requested floor as low as possible. It was my birthday. So I asked if possible to have view of ocean and pool. I was told I had choice of 3rd or 5th floor. I asked for 5th floor so I would have clear view of ocean. Paid for all in. Advance. Decided to leave early because I was told room was being held and ready to go. Drove all night only to be put in average at best room on 7th floor. You could lean off balcony and see corner view of ocean. I went back to front desk to express my dissatisfaction only to be told hate it! Nothing else available! Only offer was refund which left us sitting at pier parking lot at 4:00am waiting on 10:00 am to come to try and find a room! It was a compete nightmare!!!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tom D, VP of Operation at Shores of Panama Resort, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Thank you for taking time to provide us your feedback. Please take a minute and give me a call to discuss your stay. 850-329-047. We do strive to ensure that our guest have a memorable vacation and I'd like another chance to exceed your expectations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Macon, Georgia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

I highly recommend Emerald View Resort Rentals. The staff at the Shores of Panama were most helpful, friendly, and were very concerned about putting my family in the best condos available. I kept going to the office to see each of them, and had to tell them bye when I left. I have tried to spread the word about the management. I feel as though I have gained friendship with the staff. Let me just say you have "the best" at the Shores of Panama. Our stay was 7/31 - 8/4.

  • Liked — Management, staff, cleanliness
  • Disliked — Cost of umbrella chairs on beach
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tom D, VP Operations at Shores of Panama Resort, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Thank you for taking time to write such a nice review. We know there are a lot of Resorts to choose from and are honored that you stayed with us and hope that you will return in he future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Shores of Panama Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shores of Panama Resort

Address: 9900 S. Thomas Drive, Panama City Beach, FL 32407
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Panhandle > Panama City Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #67 of 78 Specialty Lodging in Panama City Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Shores of Panama Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 220
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This 23 story gulf front luxury resort is loaded with amenities including a full spa, kids club, 13,965 square foot gulf front pool & hot tub, heated indoor pool and hot tub, covered parking on-site, 24 hour front desk check in, health center with fitness equipment, steam room, 2 tiki bars serving food and cocktails, beach activities and rental services, high speed internet access and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, BookIt.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Shores of Panama Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shores Of Panama By Oaseas Hotel Panama City Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Shores of Panama Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.