We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very disappointed” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Splash Resort Condominiums

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Splash Resort Condominiums to your Saves list
Splash Resort Condominiums
3.5 of 5 Condominium   |   17698 Front Beach Road, Panama City Beach, FL 32413 (Formerly Sterling Splash)   |  
Hotel amenities
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Very disappointed”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

We visited Splash with another family, who stayed in their own room / condo which a different owner / management company than ours. We stayed in 1104W and it was NOT as advertised- the description said the master bedroom had an oceanfront balcony (non existent) and the entire place smelled like an ash tray. We called the property management company twice and were told someone would call us back about the discrepancy in the description, etc but never heard from anyone. Our condo was very dirty and constantly covered with sand because there are no mats or and way to wipe your feet. The walls were all scuffed and badly in need of paint. The WiFi signal in our unit was spotty to non-existent, which was an issue in that my husband and U both needed to do some work. The condo our friends rented (1005 E) was completely different- beautifully decorated and their property owner called them several times to ensure all was well.

The Splash park was great for our 3 year old- it was a great place to take a break from the sand.

The food at the "grill" was terrible but the staff was extremely friendly.

We were also disappointed to discover the property no longer has a bowling alley, as was advertised.

Understanding this is PCB and not a five star resort, I try to manage my own expectations but I expect to get what we pay for and clean accommodation - unfortunately this failed on both fronts.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

429 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    147
    86
    64
    74
    58
See reviews for
329
10
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

It had been a long time since we had been to Panama City and we were looking for a 3 bedroom condo on the beach that was catered toward kids and this sure looked like the spot. When we first arrived we noticed that there was no luggage carts and we had to wait for one to be returned. Odd that there was a security guard sitting at a table with about 30 Drivers Licenses sitting on that table. Yes, you had to give your drivers license to get a luggage cart.

After waiting 30 minutes or so with 4 children under 8 we get a cart and get to the elevator line. Yes, you have to wait for one of the two elevators on a Saturday like a ride at an amusement park. After another long wait we finally get on an elevator that had a nice baby diaper tossed in the corner in this hot elevator. We get to our room....1401W and the cleaning lady is still in there and the first thing she told us is that "its going to be another hour or so, these folks trashed the place" so we knew that there could be an issue. After a few minutes she came back out and told us she had one room ready that we could put our stuff in and watch tv. (and get that cart back to get our drivers licenses back!) She comes out of the room to inform us that the Bed Comforter in the master bedroom was gone.......not only that, one in another room was also gone! 5 total beds, 2 with no cover. No spares anywhere to be found(or spare pillows for that matter).

The floor in the living room looked like a college frat party had gone on, stuff spilled and just flat out dirty looking to where we didnt want to walk barefoot on it, much less have our baby crawling around on it. The floor mess didnt get any better on the balconies either, stuff spilled out there all over as well as cigarette butts, pigeon poo and a chair that had been destroyed. When we called to complain about all of this, the company told us they would get us 2 comforters, have the carpets and balconies cleaned, and would send us a $100 gift card for the hassles. They did send a carpet cleaner who did a very good job getting that carpet to walk on barefoot level. The bathrooms were ok minus the $5 mildewed shower curtains.

The pools and lazy river were pretty neat and the kids really enjoyed the splash bucket etc. For the most part, the pool areas looked pretty clean. There isnt a ton of chairs out there so you have to get there early to get a chair. The security folks take their job very very serious about the bracelets being worn at the pool. Over and over checking Mothers with little babies and the like for their bracelets and harassing them. Grandparents got the same treatment. We wore ours but if your arm was in the water, they want to see it. The beach area was nice but very crowded and not a lot of room as they have a ton of pay to use chairs out there. $45 a day to get a rental chair! Those chairs took up much of the beach space that was already over crowded.

The $100 gift card that we were promised....they brought it to us....for $50. The bed comforters, never seen or delivered. They did do a good job on cleaning the carpet and one balcony, the other was never touched so we never went out on it.

I decided to read reviews on here(what we should have done before booking) and saw the complaints about the checkout fiasco. During the week the the security is not watching the carts and there are about 30 of them in the parking deck. I guess they are busting the Mom's and Grandma's at the pool that forgot their bracelets. Friday night we decided to get our luggage loaded and at 11pm on Friday night we were hauling luggage along with about half of the other renters. People were irate and it was interesting to see this going on this late at night. There were NO CARTS anywhere. Looks like the folks that have been here multiple times decide to take the carts during the week and stash them in their rooms so on Sat morning to check out. We made 5 trips hauling our luggage from the 14th floor, across the bridge, up two levels in the deck.

At $3200+ for a week?? Flat out unacceptable.


We got a bad room, plain and simple. But the staff didnt make up for it, and the issues with luggage, elevators, pool hassles, and beach space we wont be back.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

We just returned from a great trip to PCB and Splash. And much to our surprise, we had an excellent stay at Splash. We were a bit reluctant to stay here after reading the very mixed reviews of the resort. And we came to this conclusion - it is all about your expectations. We went hoping for a kid-friendly vacation, one where our kids had plenty of age-appropriate things to do, a place where there were a variety of water activities. And that's exactly what we found.

I don't think we have ever been more nervous walking into a condo than when we got to Splash. Those concerns immediately went away when we walked in our unit. It was very spacious (we had a 2BR unit with the bunk beds) and extremely clean. We were shocked at how much room we had in the unit. Master bedroom was far enough from the other bedroom and bunks that we had privacy, but still close enough for us to keep an eye on the kids. Living room was very comfortable. Our older kids LOVED the bunk beds and our youngest son slept in a pack-n-play in the 2nd bedroom. The washer and dryer was a life-saver. We ate several meals in our unit, both at the large table and on the deck. The kitchen was nicely stocked.

We checked in on a Monday, so it was a breeze. Walked right in, picked up our keys, and went straight to our unit. And since it was Monday, there were plenty of luggage carts available. Our kids absolutely loved the water park features, including the infant play area. And if one of the areas were crowded, it was easy to move to another area or head down to the beach. Sure it could be a little crowded, but what do you expect when you go during peak season. If we felt the crowds, we would just go to another area.

The play areas were kept clean, which is a task in itself considering it is a kid-focused resort. It was very impressive to see the staff cleaning in the mornings - skimming the pools, scrubbing the grills, hosing off the deck areas, even building sand up on the steps down to the beach. Security was always visible during the day and night.

We used the grills twice. it is a little annoying having to contact security to unlock/light the grills, but they were very prompt and responsive.

We really didn't have any major complaints during our stay. Yes, there were occasional waits on the elevators, but that's to be expected...we were there during peak season. One of the elevators was out of order, but was very quickly repaired and back online. We had no issues with security, but then again we were not trying to sneak a quick smoke break on our balcony (thankfully, it is a non-smoking resort).

Our biggest complaint was hearing SO many other guests complain - complain about the elevator wait times, the wait for a luggage cart, complain about the pools, complain about security, etc. I just don't get it. You saw the resort online - it looks just like the images online, what you see is what you get. You knew it was a kid-focused resort, there are going to be LOTS of kids around. It's July - it's going to be crowded. It's Saturday - most people check in/out on Saturday. It's all about expectations - if those things bother you, then choose another time to come or another resort. It just got very old hearing so many complaints. We had a great time - especially our kids. They loved splitting time between the beach and the water park/pools. It was a great way to break things up during the day. With small kids, we made multiple trips to/from the condo throughout the day - we never had a long wait on the elevator. Our only wait was Saturday morning during checkout hours, which is to be expected. We will definitely go back, although we may try later in the season.

We did book our trip directly through the resort, so we were unsure of our unit until check-in. We requested a lower floor since we have small children (we were on the 9th floor). We saw several units on VRBO, but opted for booking through the resort since it was our first visit and in case we had any issues with our unit.

If you are looking for a place to stay for the entire family, then definitely give Splash a consideration.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

Our room was right on the beach, lovely furniture and a great view from our three balconies. This is not a hotel, it's a set of condos, do not come expecting to be able to order room service, you'll be dissapointed. This place is great, however, if you want a home away from home, all appliances are included in rooms and it's a very private environment.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

Just got back from a weeks stay at Splash. We had a great time. The other reviews are spot on about the elevator wait times and lack of luggage carts. But after lugging all our bags and crazy wait time on elevator the room made up for it. We stayed in 307w. The condo was huge! The furniture was nice with minimal wear and tear. The condo was clean and well appointed kitchen. The pools were on the chilly side, but it didn't bother us. The beach was very nice. All tents and other big big things were taken down before dark. I personally didn't have much interaction with staff, but my mother-in-law said everyone was nice. Our blender didn't work and the resort had a new one for us the next day. I did notice that not very many people were wearing the arm bands that they give you. There were a lot of people in all of the pools, but I expected that during peak season. We had a huge balcony. We did have a hard time when we left because it took forever to find a luggage cart again. I know they can't add more elevators, but they sure could buy more carts. All and all we had a great time. I would go back again, but would check in on a weekday and not on a Saturday.

Room Tip: Request 307w if you can
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Point, Mississippi
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

We stayed 8 days in 1201 East. We rented from the VRBO website. It was a lovely, well-decorated condo. It was very clean and perfect for us. We had 5 adults, including a nanny, and 4 kids from 6 months to 6 years. We were very pleased. We had a slight issue with a sliding door being hard to open, and Paul and Julie had it fixed immediately. The beds here were so comfy! like a very expensive hotel. This condo is right on the beach, wonderful view. (Just a tip when traveling with baby, I tried on 2 occasions to rent a high chair from a local baby equipment rental place so we wouldn't have to bring one. They never responded, we went to Walmart and bought a baby booster seat that worked great and was much cheaper than the rental would have been.) The Splash Resort is great for our family. The beach chairs that came with this rental were fabulous. The Riptide Grill poolside/beachside has great food and cocktails. In all, we had a great time.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ringgold, GA
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

My husband, son, and I recently stayed at Splash resort in room 304W from July 15-20, 2013. We found it very clean and the condo had everything we needed. We didn't have to check in with the resort. We rented through VRBO.com and just walked right in and went to our room. We stayed for 5 nights and on the last night we were walking in our room while our neighbors came out. They had 5 smaller kids with them. We never would have known. The walls must be sound proofed fairly well, however the unit above, not so much. We could hear scraping across the floors and banging, but luckily they didn't keep us up. There are only 2 elevators for the entire building and they are clogged fast. We could use the stairs since we were so close. We were on the 3rd floor, however counting the ground and lobby floors we were actually on the 5th floor. We had a great view and didn't have to wait forever for the elevators. My son enjoyed the water park the first day, however became annoyed at how often the bucket splashed down. He just turned 4 a week before we went. Other kids were running around having a great time though. The water was the perfect temperature too. There are several pools and a lazy river. However, our primary reason for coming here was for the beach. The beach was amazingly clean! We are used to going to Myrle Beach every year and wow! I think we have a new vacation spot! We walked a few buildings down where less people were gathered and set up our beach tent right up towards the water. We were mostly surrounded by other families so we didn't have to listen to inappropriate music or conversations. Splash is also a non smoking resort! That was really nice. I was surprised to see no lifeguards. I'm not sure if this is common throughout Panama City Beach or just the area we were at. We didn't get in very far with a 4 year old anyway though. We ate dinner and a snack at the Rip Tide bar by the pools and it was good. We drove down to Pier Park one evening and ate at Pompano Joe's which was good and the atmosphere around the shops was wonderful! My son and I road a choo choo train down the road for $5.00 each and he played on the bouncy house structures for $8.00. We had ice cream at Kilwin's, which by the way is way worth the wait! I also recommend driving to Bayou Bill's. Probably the best food we ate all week! We ate a bucket full of crab, oysters, mussels, shrimp, corn, sausage, and potatoes. Yum! And their peanut butter pie was great, which my husband got free for his birthday. There's a souvenir shop across the street under the parking garage. The only complaint I had was that on check out day ( a Saturday) people must had horded the carts in their room the night before. We left at 7:30am and had trouble getting a cart, however on check in day (a Monday) we had no problem at all getting one. That was annoying, but we survived. Overall I must say we were very pleased with the resort. We didn't see any mold on the pools like a previous person who posted witnessed and the security guards were pleasant and didn't bother us. You have bracelets you have to wear at the pools and they do look for them, but as long as you wear them, no issue. I would recommend this resort and would consider returning.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the first few floors so you can use the stairs instead of waiting on the 2 elevato...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Splash Resort Condominiums? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Splash Resort Condominiums

Address: 17698 Front Beach Road, Panama City Beach, FL 32413 (Formerly Sterling Splash)
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Panhandle > Panama City Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 78 Specialty Lodging in Panama City Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Splash Resort Condominiums 3.5*
Number of rooms: 276
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beachfront condominium waterpark resort. Family oriented and no smoking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, BookIt.com, Booking.com, TRIPSHOCK.COM, Priceline, Orbitz, Odigeo, Hotwire, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Splash Resort Condominiums reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sterling Splash Hotel Panama City Beach
Splash Resort Panama City Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Splash Resort Condominiums, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.