We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Forget it. Drive right on by.” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Coconut Grove Motor Inn

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Panama City Beach
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Coconut Grove Motor Inn
9725 Front Beach Road, Panama City Beach, FL 32407   |  
Hotel amenities
Top Contributor
131 reviews 131 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Forget it. Drive right on by.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2011

This place, also not to bad looking from outside, is definately a "Dive". There are no curtains on windows, just blinds. The room is dingy and there is mold here and there. Shower took a little getting used to but at least hot water. Don't walk around in your socks or bare feet, don't know what all lurks in the carpet whose original color is a mystery. Although pobably more negatives than positives, it must be said that the linens were clean, plenty of towels, and the staff is very friendly and do their utmost to iron out your problems. Total damage for the night was $74, a litle steep for presented value. I feel this place has degraded itself to be a student hang-out and thus it can get somewhat noisy at times. Survived, but neveragain.

Room Tip: Go elsewhere.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

22 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1
    2
    3
    2
    14
See reviews for
3
3
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    1.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    1.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2011 via mobile

This place needs to be knocked down and shipped away. My buddy and I arrived the beginning of September to have the worst experience of my life. After walking in to the room the smell about knocked me down! It smelt wet and terrible. The smell follows you and to this day I swear it's stuck in my head. Dont leave anything valuable in the room- the locks just spin and don't work. The doors have a 2 inch gap that allows for roaches and anything small enough to enter. Found dead bugs and pubic hair in bathroom. Black mold on walls and black slim on the bathtub. Holes in the tub.. What bothered me the most is my friend had beds bugs in his bed. I had every belonging I brought serviced by a professional bug exterminating company to take precaution. So yes they have bed bugs. The place is owned by middle eastern people that you can't understand and honestly they didn't understand why I was upset. I was there two hours and was already demanding my money back. They would not refund me due to "company policy". Well I am still waiting on my one night refund. I had the room booked two weeks in advance and when mentioned to te woman that they need to physically check the rooms. She laughed. I can go on all day and yes they will and are being turned over to the better business bureau. Please save yourself the trouble and spend a little more cash and not make the mistake by funding this company.. Should I mention the prostitute the was hanging outside the motel?? Here are some photos! Shame on you coconut grove. Clean up your disgusting act.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Panama City Beach, Florida
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2010

Coconut Grove offered me the best price I could find for a 10 day stay and they couldn't have been nicer. Property is not on the beach so you can save and in October the beach is not tha exciting. Their employees were very nice and provided the level of service I asked for. Room was comfortable and had a nice TV.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
76 hotel reviews
Reviews in 72 cities Reviews in 72 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2010

We were on a road trip of the panhandle coast. It was time to find a hotel and the sign said $35. How bad could it be? Also the restaurant accross the street was Dirty Dick's Crab House - intriguing to say the least! Anyway, the first room we got (supposedly nonsmoking) reeked of smoke and none of the lights worked. So we went back down and asked for another room. The second room refused to open. The clueless clerk came down and tried it also. Apparently the battery or something was wrong with the lock. So she gave us a third room. When we opened this one we found it occupied!! The clerk was clueless and had no idea which rooms were occupied and what condition they were in. Finally the fourth room was OK, though there were muddyfootprints in the bathtub. (We skipped our shower that night). However we did sleep well and the place was remarkably quiet. Oh, and the Crab House was fantastic. Eat dinner there and skip the hotel.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alabama
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2008

Well, for starters, The room was ok, some mold was on the walls, the shower water came out very slow & there was a hole, which leaked above the sink. The staff was very friendly and always had fresh towels delievered everyday. Never had to ask for anything. The only problem I had was there were scooters going up & down the breezeway, some late at night. If you want a cheap & pretty clean place just to lie your head, I would choose here. Plus, it's not that far from the beach, a nice walk actually. I would stay here again.

  • Liked — Friendly staff
  • Disliked — mold on the walls
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2006

The sign in the lobby NO REFUNDS should have been a tip.
We walked in flipped the light switch and nothing happened, no lightbulb in the fixture.
We fumbled around and found a switch for the wall lamp over in the middle of the room and when we switched it on the walls were crawling with german roaches. They were crawling out of the television, they were in the bathtub, they were even under the rim in the toilet as my wife found out. After spraying some repellent I had all around the bed, I pulled the nasty spread off and brought my sleeping bags in to have a clean place to sleep.
If it wasn't so late and it took an hour to get anywhere because of road blockage due to a marathon going on, we would have just left.

  • Liked — convienient
  • Disliked — Roaches,Green pool
  • Tips/Secrets — give a wide berth
  • Stayed November 2006, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2006

Eight other friends and I stayed at this motel and didn't expect much for the price we were being charged, but expected a little bit more than what we were offered. This is a place for spring breakers which we were. They didn't care about what we did which was a plus because we were in Florida to party. We had to ask for towels everyday and our beds were never made. The staff brought their children to work with them. The staff was very nice though. It is pretty far from the beach which I didn't expect since I was told it was across the street. I would never have stayed there for anything else other than spring break. The rooms were dimly lit and dirty. There were also bugs. Don't expect much from the place except friendly staff and good place to party.

Stayed March 2006
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Coconut Grove Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coconut Grove Motor Inn

Also Known As:
Coconut Grove Motor Hotel
Coconut Grove Motor Hotel Panama City Beach
Coconut Grove Motel
Coconut Grove Hotel
Address: 9725 Front Beach Road, Panama City Beach, FL 32407
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Panhandle > Panama City Beach
Hotel Style:
#50 Top resorts Hotel in Panama City Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Coconut Grove Motor Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Coconut Grove Motor Inn to your Saves list