We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Food is great and ample but ...” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Billy's Oyster Bar and Restaurant

Billy's Oyster Bar and Restaurant
3000 Thomas Dr, Panama City Beach, FL 32408-6229
850-235-2349
Menu
Improve this listing
Cuisines: Seafood
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Food is great and ample but ...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2014

we had to wait a long time for it. Seems like the kitchen staff was minimal on a Sunday evening and from the order to actually tasting the entree' we waited about 45 minutes. the crazy thing was the restaurant and bar was not very full. But the wait was worth it. My wife had the steamed seafood combo which gave her two half dozen oysters broiled in two different ways, four large king crab legs - the blue claws were all gone - and eight large shrimps broiled cajun style. I had a stuffed crab - it was like a large crab cake - fried shrimp, fried scallops, and a fried fish with f/f, two hush puppies, and cole slaw. hers was 24 mine 23. well worth it and we were stuffed - like the crab. would recommend more highly but remember the waiting part...

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

185 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    65
    49
    26
    19
    26
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hamilton, Georgia
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“What I Expect at an Oyster Bar!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2013

My wife and I went to Billy's in 2011 for the first time. We've been back every time we go to Panama City Beach. The oysters are exceptional, the service very good, the drinks perfect and the atmosphere exactly what I'd expect from a top notch oyster bar. Of course man can't live on oysters alone - and neither can my wife by the way.. so yes, we've had other food too. The seafood gumbo is exceptional. It come complete with blue crab claws - only place I've ever had seafood gumbo with full crab claws. Speaking of blue crabs - if you're into them you won't be disappointed. They aren't my favorite as I kind of see them as the ocean's sunflower seeds - but Billy's have a great flavor. If the weather's good opt for the outdoor seating. It not a great view but it's part of the oyster bar flavor!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Little but Mighty!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

Great great food! It's a little place with a lot to offer. I had peel and eat shrimp and crab and I barely came up for air! Their beer specials are great too!

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Panama City Beach, Florida
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Please don't bother...”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

...because they won't, either. They don't bother to train their staff, make an effort to prepare the food properly, or make you feel welcome. None of the food even approached average, and the service was so bad I wanted to smack the waitress. The prices are mid-range for a tourist seafood restaurant, but nothing about this joint suggests they bother to consider giving you your money's worth. So why bother to go there?

  • Visited June 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Coral, Florida
Top Contributor
141 reviews 141 reviews
109 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
90 helpful votes 90 helpful votes
“Uninspired Food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

Based on reviews, Billy's was on my list of must try restaurants. I found the food to be average at best. The gumbo was just OK. I had been looking for some good fried oysters but didn't find them here.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Billy's Oyster Bar and Restaurant also viewed

Panama City Beach, Florida Panhandle
Panama City Beach, Florida Panhandle
 
Panama City Beach, Florida Panhandle
Panama City Beach, Florida Panhandle
 

Been to Billy's Oyster Bar and Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Billy's Oyster Bar and Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.